Words that Inspire Breathe Life

Free Teacher ClipartGo confidently in the direction of your dreams!  Live the life you’ve imagined. Henry David Thoreau

I felt my face flush under her gaze, the paper trembling in my hands.  Red ink slashed through nearly every word I’d grueled over in this essay.  Her bold handwriting loudly proclaimed my inability across the margins:  Too wordy.  Get rid of this.  And at the top of the page, like a crimson arrow, Rewrite!

“I – I thought this was what you wanted,” I stammered.  Like all my high school classmates, I adored her.  If she thought I was a terrible writer, then it must be so.

“Pam,” she said, “Do you think this is A work?”

“Well, I didn’t think it was this – bad,” I mumbled, embarrassed.  I’d so hoped she’d…what? Think I was the next Elizabeth Barrett Browning?  I wanted to run from the classroom and never come back.  Jump in a helium balloon and fly away with my crushed dream.

She smiled.  “It’s not bad at all.  Actually, it’s one of the best in the class.”

I looked up, confused.

“You have a gift,” she explained.  “I could give you an A as it is, but that wouldn’t help you grow as a writer.  Don’t think about grades.  Think about your words, how you can use them to paint pictures for your reader.”

Painting in the details…  I loved to create a story with my oils and watercolors.  Yes, words are like that, I thought.

She leaned over my shoulder, pointed to the page.  “See, here you chose a blah word that doesn’t make your reader see it.  But a word like – this – adds color and makes it come alive!”  The spark in her eyes, warmth in her voice, lit a new fire in my own.

Her living words set sail to my dream:  You have a gift.  You ARE a writer.  I want to help you grow.

Sharon Daley Barovsky… You  echo courage in my heart still.  And I think… Who can I inspire with my words today?

©  Pam Depoyan

About Pam@Writing...Apples of Gold

I love to hear your thoughts, even chat back and forth amongst comments.Won't you join the conversation? :) ..................................................................................................................... May my stories refresh you, like a whisper from our Father's Heart !
This entry was posted in Living Letters and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Words that Inspire Breathe Life

  1. Mr WordPress says:

    Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

  2. So I see, your gift of love for words and phrases, is inborn, then you honed it plus your teacher’s approval….. there goes your sail, towards your most coveted dream.

    I was reading this post (http://www.incourage.me/2012/03/let-him-dream-for-you.html), and the first name that came to mind was yours. Of course, I have dreams too, but not like of a gifted person’s, who went on to develop her craft, inspired by the Inventor of WORDS, and by a living ministry of sharing, to inspire and to prod to hope and fly to where she could catch those dreams.

    That dream was God-directed for the gift, instilled even while inside your mother’s womb. He gave you the genes of writes, artists, singers, musicians……. to spin words, intricate and alluring to the reader’s mind and stirring to the romantic-at-heart.

  3. Thank you, Lolita… you are always encouraging me to believe that this is a God dream. Your words stir my heart too… Yes, that post at InCourage was beautiful. 🙂 Funny you just happened to read this one when I re-posted it today…

Leave a Reply

