A little about me (and you)

coffee pot

Thanks for stopping in…

If I could, I’d offer you a cup of tea…or maybe hot chocolate… and we could talk a little about the things that inspire or encourage us.  Share the stories that make up our lives.

We could steal a breather from the daily grind and bustle of life and remember what it’s like to dream about where we’re going, or recall where we’ve been.  Maybe share an “Aha” or “I’ve felt that, too,” or lift each other up in prayer.  Like a tradition some college friends and I began once upon a time…

Back then, we often left each other silly, fun notes between classes… little bits of cheer in an overwhelming circle of tearing here and there across campus, late-night studying, and bone-weary exhaustion.

Maybe I’d come to the breakfast table and find a small bag of M&Ms sitting atop a quickly dashed, “Hi Goils!  Just something to give you brain power for the day… Ha!” punctuated with an oversized smiley face.  (Surefire corn to eliminate stress.)  Or trudging in after a test, an encouraging post-it-note on my desk…Praying inspiration for you today!

Often, we’d brew a pot of tea over talk from the heart….sometimes late into the night.

During a recent reunion with four of these dear friends, we hunted long and hard for the perfect tea mug to remind us of our cabana beach time together when we went back to our different homes and states.  Some were too flowery.  Others too nutsy.  We’d nearly given up until – there it was.  A breezy drawing of flip flops with two words across the cup that said it all: Forever Friends.  Holding this simple treasure in both hands, we promised to lift up a prayer for each other whenever we use them.

Today… busy lives and many states separate us.  But every now and then we call, pull out our mugs and share a little tea and encouragement…even if it is over the miles.

So I’d like to invite you to do the same… Grab a cup of something warm   and delicious, pull up your computer chair and enjoy a little wordglow for your pitcher with cupday.  Snapshot stories that may bring back some of your own childhood memories or make you think of people in your life who have challenged and encouraged you… like I wrote in my first post about the best High School English teacher ever.   (I know my old classmates would agree!)  Or everyday moments that speak of God’s beauty and artistry around us…such as I describe in my post entitled, Splendor.   I plan to include book reviews, author interviews and other writerly thoughts for my writer friends… maybe just an occasional talk about other interests I love, like writing for children or even home decorating.  And I ask for inspiration from all of you too!

Please click the link below to leave a comment for any or all posts and start the conversation going. I look forward to reading your comments (kind ones are always welcome), and hearing about some of your own memories, writing dreams or life hopes.   Let’s talk about times when you’ve felt God close or maybe even far away…and encourage each other to look for those apples of gold we all have to share.

Because words make all the difference… in writing and in life.

* clip art provided by http://www.designedtoat.com

About Pam@Writing...Apples of Gold

I love to hear your thoughts, even chat back and forth amongst comments.Won't you join the conversation? :) ..................................................................................................................... May my stories refresh you, like a whisper from our Father's Heart !
This entry was posted in Personal Experience Pieces. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A little about me (and you)

  1. Cari says:

    I love this visual of your friends. . . and remembering. Thanks for “the cup of tea.” 🙂

  2. Thanks, Cari! I’ll try to keep the “cups” coming! 🙂

  3. MaryLou A. Pettaway says:

    Hi Pam, I really enjoyed reading this. Sure made me wish I had some memories like that. Thank you for sharing. God bless….

  4. lolitavalle says:

    I have been enjoying my cup. Thank you, Pam…. for welcoming me to your home with wordglow for dessert.

Leave a Reply

