To Auld Lang Syne and Remembering…

My Christmas Mantel, taken by Cari Weber, Freelance Photographer

Should auld acquaintance be forgot,
and never brought to mind?
Should auld acquaintance be forgot
and days of auld lang syne?

For auld lang syne, my dear,
For auld lang syne,
We’ll take a cup o’ kindness yet
For auld lang syne

And here’s a hand, my trusty friend,
And gie’s a hand o’ thine;
We’ll take a cup o’ kindness yet
For auld lang syne

For auld lang syne, my dear,
For auld lang syne,
We’ll take a cup o’ kindness yet
For auld lang syne

— Robert Burns (1700’s)

From childhood, I’ve always felt a lump in my throat at the first notes of this tender song… just as I do with nostalgic ballads like “Sunrise, Sunset” or “Danny Boy.”  Literally translated from the old Scottish, it means “Old Long Ago” – about love and friendship in times past.  Maybe – as St Pat’s brings out the Irish in so many of us – we all become a little bit Scottish this time of year… :)

As 2010 comes to a close, I find myself thinking of “auld” acquaintances from my auld lang syne who played a huge part in my love for finding just the right word.  My favorite             high school English teacher.  A dramatic writer friend from those classes who used to send me letters over the summer with her own versions of T.S. Eliot.  A boy in our creative writing class who wrote eloquently beyond his years – leaving me open-mouthed in awe – and sang and performed with equally wondrous talent in our senior year production of Music Man. Each one stirred creativity in me, a longing to write with music in my words.

Where are they now and what have they done with their lives? I always thought they would go far… I have found a few clues through googling, and as this warm song plays in my heart today, I am struck once again with a thought:  Does anyone become part of our lives by chance?  I don’t think so.  For every cup of kindness we shared once upon a time,  I think of each one, pray blessings on their lives…until we may meet again.

As we sing out the old year and welcome the new one – it’s a good time to remember those who left us a little better for having known them.   I also think of those who are no longer here… and how I’d like to talk with them now.

Is there anyone you’d love to share a cup of conversation with once more?

Happy New Year’s Eve!


About Pam@Writing...Apples of Gold

I love to hear your thoughts, even chat back and forth amongst comments.Won't you join the conversation? :) ..................................................................................................................... May my stories refresh you, like a whisper from our Father's Heart !
This entry was posted in Christmas Memories. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to To Auld Lang Syne and Remembering…

  1. Sweet Vanilla Angel says:

    Hi Pam, thank you once again for sharing your thoughts as we leave the old year 2010 & start a brand new year 2011. I have always liked this song but didn’t know that it had many verses past the ones that are most familiar. I went out with a friend of mine for lunch and we spoke about how different lives around us would be if we hadn’t been born. We spoke of “It’s a Wonderful Life” and how George thought his life wasn’t worth it and then he was given the opportunity to see his world without him in it. Would be quite interesting to see our world if we hadn’t been born. We each touch each other’s lives each and every day and we may not ever know how that touching changed that person’s life. Thank you for touching my life these many years. God bless… Joyous New Year 2011! 🙂

  2. Yes, I didn’t know there were so many verses until I googled it today… I didn’t include all of them, so there are even more! Some friends and I were talking about the same thing tonight… how each life touches another… Thanks for sharing! Joyous new year to you too!

Leave a Reply

