Ring in 2011 With a Fresh Start

Christmas Clipart - White and Gold Vintage Christmas Bells

“Tomorrow is always fresh, with no mistakes in it…yet!”                                                                          — L.M. Montgomery, Anne of Green Gables

 

A new year.  A fresh start. Somehow January 1st  always lifts the heart to new hopes.  This year, I have a greater sense of anticipation after the storm… That THIS is the time for a grand new chapter in life.  Time to move from hopes deferred to dreams fulfilled.  No more somedays.   NOW.  

Have you felt pushed out of something this past year?  Found yourself suddenly, unexpectedly having to look for new and hopefully lucrative ideas to pursue?  What about the dream that’s always been there… waiting for — what?  Could it be that last year’s overwhelming (even unjust) loss may open this year’s wonderful new door in your life?

I’ve always loved the line Julie Andrews says in The Sound of Music…even more beautiful  in her ever lovely accent:  “If God closes a door, SOMEWHERE he opens a window!”

As I write this, I remember a conversation I had with someone a few years ago.  Someone who’s talent has been called a National Treasure, but who still found himself at a crossroads – in a crucial time of deciding to take a huge risk on the next part of his life’s dream.   And the fresh creative joy he’s discovered these past twenty years because he TOOK that leap of faith.   Soon I will share excerpts from that celebrity interview over a few posts.  A little inspiration on how it’s never too late to follow our creative ideas!

I think of a young friend who shares a love of reading and writing… and how I’d like to interview her here at “Writing Apples of Gold” about her dreams…  Maybe remind you of your own at her age and spur you on to fulfilling them today!

And how maybe I’ll tell you some of my adventures too as I pursue new avenues in freelance writing over 2011.

What are the dreams in your heart? Are you living them?  I’d love to hear about them as well.  Maybe invite you to write a guest post yourself, or to allow me to share a few of your ideas here.  Together, let’s look to taking new steps  ahead this year… and to lift our hearts to the One who put those dreams in us…for just such a time as this!

 

Even now, I’m waiting to hear the final final from an editor who has already encouraged me so much with her words, saying “I love the premise of this and your writing is very entertaining.” Those words lift me up as I continue writing and sending out manuscripts.

Here’s to a year of new and unexpected blessings for us all!  And faith to keep on believing…  🙂

Hope deferred makes the heart sick,
but a longing fulfilled is a tree of life. — Proverbs 13:12 (NIV)

About Pam@Writing...Apples of Gold

I love to hear your thoughts, even chat back and forth amongst comments.Won't you join the conversation? :) ..................................................................................................................... May my stories refresh you, like a whisper from our Father's Heart !
This entry was posted in Carols of Christmas. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Ring in 2011 With a Fresh Start

  1. Sweet Vanilla Angel says:

    Hi Pam, again I thoroughly enjoyed all that you shared. I love that quote from Anne and I actually have the book mark that you gave to me long ago with that very quote hanging at work. I had someone ask me if they could have it! That surprised me! No, I didn’t want to part with it. 🙂

  2. Yes, that is one of my most favorite quotes from Anne… I just watched the first Anne movie again recently and it leapt out at me as perfect for the new year too. I love the way she says things so dramatically… Makes me smile. I’d forgotten about the bookmark 🙂 Thanks for sharing your thoughts!

Leave a Reply

