One Bella Day

White sailboat  - csp3175963

The first time I heard him play… snow-puff clouds studded the skyline, mirroring the distant sails out skimming the small neighborhood lake that late spring afternoon.  Quickly I scanned the shore.  Students lounging with their books.  Laughter from a young couple and two toddlers having a blanket picnic on the lawn.  A curly-headed child chirping delight as she warily edged closer to some ducks, timidly holding out her bread offering, looking to her mom for approval.

It’s okay, honey, go ahead,” her mom coaxed, meeting my smile.

Ah, there…a vacant bench, under some trees bending gracefully over the water’s edge.  Perfect.

Keywords: jaflong, saikat, barnali, sylhet, bangladesh, sunset, hilly area, indian borderSitting, I closed my eyes for a moment, inhaling the breezes.  Enjoying the soft lapping of the water at my feet…and, mmm…half a day’s respite away from the confines of my job. A good place to relax…read…pray

Then…almost magically, with a swoop out of nowhere… came the sudden lilting sounds of an accordion, joyous as a carillon, rising up and around me and out over the water… Transforming the feel of the scene as if I’d suddenly been transported into a live impressionist painting – somewhere along the waters of Southern France…or maybe to a gondola in Italy…

On and on it came, each piece rolling into another… Moon RiverBella NotteStrangers in the Night…Spanish EyesO Sole Mio      La vie en roseWindmills of Your Mind… One classic love theme after another – all with that French-Italian flavor so uniquely accordion, and somehow…so perfect for this day.  I watched in awe as romance took a whirl all ’round….

Free Umbrella ClipartAn older gent and his lady, suddenly walking arm-in-arm along the circle path, stopping to do a little waltz… and laughing at themselves with child-like glee.

Free Umbrella ClipartAnother elderly man, power-walking by in Tee and shorts, bony knees and legs perfectly in step to the lively tunes.

Free Umbrella ClipartThe young mother lifting and holding her curly-headed daughter close, twirl-dancing to her giggles, out on the lawn.


Free Umbrella ClipartEven the sweet breezes – moving like a paintbrush making broad-stroked ripples across the blue, blue waters, gently bobbing the distant sails, rocking the moored boats at the pier beside me and riding the closer ducks atop the waves, two by two…

Accordion player on a bridge - A street musician playing...Then…as the music strains began to fade away… a clapping erupted, with sounds of people clamoring for their own personal favorites.  “Can you play...?”  “Oh, how about…?” and the older couple softly murmuring, “Mmm…You take us back to our courting days…

Looking around, I finally spotted him – behind me and up on the side-walked hill overlooking the park.  A middle-aged man, smiling broadly over his fold-out instrument and doing his best to keep up with requests.  Taking a break, he delighted almost as much in conversing, explaining how he had retired early, just enjoyed giving of his music – especially on glorious days like this one… No, no –  not for money, he said – just for the love of it.

He had stepped away a moment as I made my way back, and I talked with his wife, telling her how much I was enjoying his music.

“Oh, that one –” she laughed, “he’s in his element!  It’s in the winter, when he wants to play incessantly indoors, that I go a little crazy!”    I thought, “Hmm…yes, I can imagine that.  Still…”  The twinkle in her eye told me that days like this one made up for the others.

I returned to my bench, willing him to continue…  And on and on he played… two hours of a free concert by the lake… making my half-day off feel more of a holiday getaway than I’d ever imagined.  Like a soundtrack blessing.  Divine appointment?  Mmmm… YesI think so

Smiles of thankful joy shone all around…for the man who gave and received a gift by writing refreshing glory on the hearts of strangers… and uniting us…as only music can do.

No telling when he’d be there next…but I hoped I would be too.  And I thought – somehow, this man understands living letters

Decorate Your Desktop

Have you “come upon” such an unexpected gift lately?                                                                       Sometimes…like angels unaware…they’re all around us.  🙂

© Pam Depoyan

                            I’m linking this with Michelle today for Graceful Summer…                                                      for this spring into summer day of days.

About Pam@Writing...Apples of Gold

I love to hear your thoughts, even chat back and forth amongst comments.Won't you join the conversation? :) ..................................................................................................................... May my stories refresh you, like a whisper from our Father's Heart !
This entry was posted in Living Letters and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to One Bella Day

  1. Diane says:

    Your writing was so illustrative that I felt like I was there. I love your line: ” by writing refreshing glory on the hearts of strangers… as only music can do.” My heart is sighing!

  2. Thanks, Diane! There’s nothing so wonderful as music, is there?

    This day actually happened a couple of years ago, but it is still fresh in my mind. I can still see that older man power-walking along in time… 🙂 Blessed to have a pretty little lake nearby…I need to get over there again soon.

  3. Pam, what a beautiful, sweet story – I am smiling big here tonight!

  4. Sharon O says:

    This was absolutely wonderful… I just could see the whole thing and almost feel the fresh air on my face…so good I think I will have to subscribe to your blog. Can’t miss another one.

  5. lolitavalle says:

    Ah, this is why I did not see you in those links, Pam. I made a link with Shelly and choose another to go to and comment….. and voila, I clicked this beautiful placid water with the boat….. it sailed me over here. Was that a coincidence or God-sailed?

    I haven’t been up here yet. I am still stuck down in April 2011, some in June….. and needed time yet to get back. Ha ha ha…. here I am.

    What a gift for a concerto of beautiful old melodies, accompanied by an accordion.

    • You make me smile, Lolita. I’m glad you “sailed on over here!” No coincidences in Him… 🙂 Yes… every time I go to that lake I think about this day. My friend who was just married had some of their bridal pictures taken there. Some really fun and beautiful ones, for it was a bright sunshiny day. Your words are always a “concerto” to me! 🙂

  6. Sylvia R says:

    Oh yes! I remember this! I was here before, enjoying that whole bella day with you! It delighted me then, as it delights me now. Is that why I took an afternoon at a lake that felt like a vacation myself? Blessings to you!

  7. Pingback: Day 5: Scarlet Ribbons… | Writing… Apples of Gold

  8. Pingback: In a Little Communiqué Spot: A Gentle Time Still for Today | Picture it in Pen and Ink! ©

Leave a Reply

