Day 2: With hearts full and arms abandoned…embracing joy in fall

Colorful Autumn

I pushed through the employee entrance that fall evening and... like Dorothy from Kansas…  stepped from a weary black and white world of office cubes into the almost dizzying color on parade along the wooded pathway to the car lot.  A yellow-brick road, just outside my day.

Breathing in the fresh crisp air like one who was parched for its beauty, I let my breath out slowly, relaxing.  Beside me, solemn faces hurried past…everyone scuttling to move ahead, get to their cars, go home to their lives.  Some talking a mile a minute on cell… making me think of Maxwell Smart and his shoe phone.

Image result for clipart of falling autumn leaf

Three things happened simultaneously then.

.

.

.

Image result for clipart of falling autumn leafA door slammed from the parking lot curb ahead.

 

Image result for clipart of falling autumn leafA breeze rustled above, sending a dazzling shower of leaves raining, dancing, glittering down as bits of golden sunlight.

Image result for clipart of falling autumn leaf    A little girl burst forward from the parked car, her squeal of pure joyous awe ringing out like sweet bells… as if she had never witnessed such a magical, enchanted moment before in her ENTIRE five years… her saddle shoes echoing against the pavement as she ran…

Little Girl At Autumn Park

…racing , serpentining, punctuating her rapture with OOoooooohhhhhhh… OHH…  OOOOHHHHHHH!!!!!!  Arms opened wide, she ran in circles with abandoned glee – hair bouncing as she reached to catch the leaves like so many snowflakes…  her exuberance echoing and skipping up the path to cover all us weary workers like crayola watercolors with phosphorescent glow.

Eyes danced.  Smiles radiated.  Joy waltzed beneath the trees…did a little pirouette… and lit our hearts like a conductor to a symphony.

Her exhilaration matches mine! I thought.  Only…I had simply felt like reveling in all this glory around us…letting go of all the ways life can make us feel less than….rejoicing in the One who is more than enough.  But it took a child, oblivious to all around her, to run free…spreading her eager hands open to receive.  No worries.  No fears.  Nothing beyond this moment and her song of joy.

Image result for clipart of falling autumn leafAre you feeling a little weary-worn today?              Pressures coming at you from all sides?  Let’s take a breath.  Stand beneath an autumn shower, open our hands as a child to receive, and let His blessings fill us with wonder…and music…and praise.  He will chase our storm clouds out to sea, carry us through…and if we listen we may just hear Him rejoicing over us with song… even as he paints this season copper and gold.

© Pam Depoyan

.

Ever been transformed by a similar magical moment? I’d love to hear about it… Or if you need a bit of encouraging prayer this fall, leave a comment and we’ll lift you up…


“The LORD your God is with you,
the Mighty Warrior who saves.
He will take great delight in you;
in his love… he will rejoice over you with singing.” – Zephaniah 3:17 (NIV)

Image result for clipart of falling autumn leafI’m linking up again with Holley Gerth’s blog today… Check out her beautiful words…Today she will bless you in how and why God wants you to know  You Are Enough!

Image result for clipart of falling autumn leafAnd also with Melissa Michaels at inspiredroom.net (for all my  posts listed under “autumn leaves” – to read them all, see categories to the right) .  Discover Melissa’s beautifully simple ideas for bringing fall inside your home at her welcome page for31 inspired days, along with the rest of the “31-dayers” who are also sharing various month-long inspirations! 

.

Linking this again…

on the brink of a new fall, 2012…

with Faith Barista, on her jam topic,

spiritual whitespace

About Pam@Writing...Apples of Gold

I love to hear your thoughts, even chat back and forth amongst comments.Won't you join the conversation? :) ..................................................................................................................... May my stories refresh you, like a whisper from our Father's Heart !
This entry was posted in Autumn Leaves, Inspirational, Reflections and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

35 Responses to Day 2: With hearts full and arms abandoned…embracing joy in fall

  1. Diane says:

    Ahh…the joys of fall. I love the crisp air with the aroma of fireplaces blazing. When I was a child, on Long Island, we were allowed to burn the leaves in the fall. I’d be outside raking, stopping to twirl and catch leaves as they fell from the trees. We’d rake them into the street and then play in the pile for hours. My dad always gave us that time of pure enjoyment before he would come out and light them on fire. The whole neighborhood smelled of burning leaves. Unfortunately, the law doesn’t allow Long Island to burn them anymore. No more piles on the streets for kids to play in…what a shame… Thanks for the memory!

    • I envy that memory… growing up in the land of palm trees, I never experienced that as a child. Now of course, I feel too grownup to jump into a pile of leaves… ha. I always dreamed of hayrides too…but nowadays those too seem to have lost a little luster. I love the scent of chimneys this time of year too…love to walk in the older neighborhoods (still lined with piles of leaves at the curb, but waiting for trucks to remove) and soak it all in… I think burning leaves is outlawed here too…although I’ve seen it occasionally in the “country” parts of town… Norman Rockwell delights do seem to become less and less…but around here it’s still great to stop in at local apple orchards, drink in the sights and scents of fall… Thanks for sharing!

  2. MaryLou says:

    Hi Pam, thank you again for sharing your beautiful words. I decorate with leaves, pumpkins and other autumn things…. I start in September because I enjoy the warm feeling they bring into my little sanctuary. I can remember as a child and even as an adult looking for leaves to crunch through. I love this time of the year and I am glad that some of the trees around here do change color. I thank our God for the beauty of each season that He does give us but I am certainly partial to autumn. 🙂

    • Yes, I love to decorate my mantel with leaves and pumpkins too… the silk ones you sent me one year are perfect. There is something very warm and rich about autumn colors in the home this time of year too… Thanks for sharing, MaryLou!

  3. Holley says:

    I could totally see the lovely picture you painted with your words, Pam!

  4. Thank you, Holley! That means a lot from a beautiful wordsmith like you… 🙂

  5. Oh, to be like that little girl–to express our joy with abandon. I think that the older I get,the less I worry about what people will think–that’s what holds us back. Loved your post.

  6. The colors save us in this season. What a beautiful reminder to enjoy it!

  7. His gifts are there – that change the day – just like you describe! I might not twirl in abandon like the little girl – but I do in my soul when I see it! Beautiful message!

  8. Janet says:

    Rejoicing in the One Who is more than enough . . . oh, yes!

  9. You use such beautiful, vivid imagery. I’m glad I found you on the Missional Women linkup.

  10. Cathy says:

    Beautiful post! Just yesterday I was admiring the Autumn leaves blowing in the wind!

    I remember driving through the Rockies in Alberta and just being in awe of the beauty God had created. Those mountains are just majestic and the lakes are gorgeous. It reminded me of how much more awesome He is.

    God bless!

  11. KellyRBaker says:

    There was a time I despised the fall season. To me it was a thief who had stolen summer away, my favorite season. But the bitter days of heat for a very pregnant woman to endure is enough to send one into thankfulness when fall arrived. That was me a year ago. As I reflect on why fall became my new favorite season, it was because I intentionally looked for the good in it. Cooler, more colorful, cute fashion, and most of all — less bugs! 🙂 Visiting from Thankful Thursday’s.

    • Wow, despise is a strong word! 🙂 I guess I can understand your reasoning though. I grew up whee it was hot almost all year, and fall was never gorgeous. I did like the feel of fall and going back to school though for some reason, even though I wished summer to continue. But I always longed for the beauty of the colors changing and now that I live where they do, this is my absolute favorite time of year. And yes, less bugs too! 🙂 Thanks for sharing, Kelly!

  12. Pam, I’m so glad I found you through Live Free Thursday. I love your writing style and your lovely artwork. Would you be interested in an interview for my blog?

  13. Being Woven says:

    I was once that little girl! Been way…way…too long!! I do get such joy in watching a child be a child. Thank you for sharing that sweet and magical moment. I can hear the golden leaves and her delight. Praising God for His gift through the beauty of the season and through a child.

    • I’ve always been so moved by leaves falling… I really can’t describe how it makes me feel. I agree… love seeing children be so free. This happened a few years back, but I can still hear her in my mind! I praise Him for that gift too… Thanks, Linda!

  14. OH! Me too! Standing beneath a shower of leaves, hearing the wind rattle bare branches, scuffing my feet to accentuate the sound! All such delicious fall images and a gift right from the hand of a creative and colorful God!

  15. I take a breath every time I visit here Pam! You add so much richness to this community friend!

  16. Lori @ Frog's Lilypad says:

    Pam, I needed this today. I need to just pause and take a breather. Thank you for sharing with Thankful Thursdays.

  17. I have experienced that joy before, but right now I’m taking a break from volley after volley of stressful trials, things I cannot keep from happening but that I must take care of. The Lord is reminding me that He is in control and that I can rejoice in Him even in the midst of trials. But yes, I appreciate any and all prayers on my behalf and that of the situations in which I find myself plunged, ready or not, here I come! (Remember that phrase from hide and seek? 🙂 )

    • I can relate. I will declare his provision, healing, restoration, etc in your life, His glory rising over each and every situation, bringing you beauty for ashes and strength, renewing your hope and joy! I find declaring His promises specific to the situations is like using His sword against the enemy… No weapon formed against you shall prosper is one of my favorites! ANd the Name above all Names, Jesus conquer each of those “volleys!”

Leave a Reply

