Day 4: Oh-so-easy-and-scrumptious homemade wild rice soup!

When leaves are falling and setting your heart to soar, the Canadian geese are honking their squadron-flight way south, the air is exhilaratingly crisp or even deliciously drizzly-cold —what’s better than a scrumptious, creamy bowl of soup to warm you inside through?

I thought I’d post the recipe for that no-words-can-tell-you-how-delectable soup my friend Cathy served us on my first official day here (to read that story, click here:  Day 3: The Keepsake of An Autumn Welcome Home…)   I have to warn you though… this one is addicting!

And…with half and half, bacon and so much cheese, it’s sadly anything but healthy and slimming — but oh such a delightful splurge at least once this season!

I’ve tried many substitutions to try and make it lighter fare, such as whole or 2% milk, turkey bacon, healthier versions of potato soup, but nothing has tasted right to me.  If anyone can suggest how to lighten this – or even a different, lighter cheese that would melt just as easy, I’d love to hear your thoughts!  But for now…when you feel like a hearty and savory splurge for the fall… I encourage you to try this one:

Oh-So-Scrumptious Wild Rice Soup

9 slices of bacon

one medium onion, finely diced

1 1/2 cups of cooked wild rice (just plain, not seasoned)                                                                 – the brand we find here comes in a tiny box, by Reese

2 cans Campbells cream of potato soup (I’d love to find a brand with less salt, less fat, no preservatives)

2 cups shredded American cheese (recipe says, “no substitutions,” but if anyone knows anything healthier that melts the same way, let me know)  🙂

Cut up and saute the bacon and onion.  Drain.  Combine the cooked rice (note: 1 1/2 cups cooked rice = 1/2 cup uncooked) with two pints of half and half, and add in the bacon and onion.  Mix in the potato soup. Slowly add the shredded cheese a little at a time, stirring until each addition melts.  Mix until all of the cheese melts.  Then simmer low.

May be made ahead and warmed in a crock pot.

Serve with a fresh salad, such as spinach, with a little fruit.

Mmmm…Enjoy!

I can never get enough of good soup.   What’s your favorite fall dish? Do you have a special tradition of when you serve or eat it?

© Pam Depoyan

Autumn Leaves

As I write these posts in celebration of fall, I’m linking up with Melissa Michaels at her beautiful inspired room.net where she has many warm and lovely ideas to make your home fall-cozy  – see her  welcome page for31 inspired days, 
along with the rest of the “31-dayers” who are also sharing various month-long inspirations!

I’ll tag these stories under the category of “Autumn Leaves.”   Let us open this seasonal book together to find those “roses” tucked within their leaves…

About Pam@Writing...Apples of Gold

I love to hear your thoughts, even chat back and forth amongst comments.Won't you join the conversation? :) ..................................................................................................................... May my stories refresh you, like a whisper from our Father's Heart !
This entry was posted in Autumn Leaves, Scrumptious Recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Day 4: Oh-so-easy-and-scrumptious homemade wild rice soup!

  1. MaryLou says:

    Whenever I think of soup I think of my Mom. She loved soup! Sometimes I remember her mixing up different kinds to make a unique soup. I also remember one year when for Thanksgiving my sister-in-law made turkey potato soup for our dinner. It was very yummy! When I think of soup I think of cozy & old-fashioned days. Thank you for sharing your friend’s soup recipe… certainly does sound very yummy! 🙂

  2. I know… my mom made a lot of wonderful soups too. Something so satisfying comforting about them… I’ll be sharing another recipe sometime soon for a soup I can’t seem to get enough of lately. This wild rice soup is so good (wish it were more healthy so I could have it more often) – the rice makes it kind of chewy and nutty too. Maybe you’ll make it some time… 🙂

Leave a Reply

