Day 6: A Psalm of Autumn Praise

Note to my fellow 31 dayers:   I know I am a little behind…since I jumped into this month of inspiring words a few days late. But I do promise you 31 posts.  You don’t mind if they spill over into November…do you? 🙂

And sometimes… if I wait a day between… maybe it’s just to give a bit more time to savor what I hope are some  “scarlet ribbons” for you…  🙂  like the ones I shared in Day 5…

decorative line

A Psalm of Autumn Praise

You speak  to me, O Lord, in Autumn’s royal raiment;

You whisper softly in the treetops                       With the soothing, breathless sound of the sea in your voice.

 

                  “I have beauty for ashes in your life…

                                     I am rising my glory over you

                                                 You hold my heart… for I make you a vessel… 

                                                     and inscribe ‘holy to the Lord’ on yours.” +

You show me a season within seasons, O Lord;                                                                     Trees that burst into flame and fizzle,                                                                                         like firework splashes against the sky                                                                                        that quickly…too quickly…burn out and die.

Others that take their time to glow…                                                                                   Brighter and brighter…                                                                                                                   As if time- releasing their beautiful bounty

Leaf by leaf

                  Blessing by blessing  

                              Dancing, sparkling, pirouetting to carpet the ground gold.

I ask…but…when is my time, Lord?                                                                                                 I am but a vapor on this earth…                                                                                                  Will I ever see my dreams come forth?

You answer…                                                                                                                                  “Do not listen to the lies…

                    I must be forgotten…

                            My hopes will never be…

                                     Dreams have passed me by

“Listen as I confide                                                                                                                      Cana wedding truths;                                                                                                         Sometimes the best is held for last…                                                                                            See how I save radiant glory                                                                                                             To burst forth as a final hurrah of joy;                                                                                 Spectacular beauty                                                                                                                     Reserved as afterglow sparkle showers that Shimmer                                                                                                                                           Deeper… stronger…                                                                                                                         And linger long upon the heart.

“Trust to my dreams for you                                                                                                      Dreams to give you a future and a hope.++

Yes! My glory…is rising on you…                                                                                                     And joy for every sorrow,                                                                                                          Every moment that has seemed too long to wait.

Sometimes My best is held for last…”

Autumn Leaves

© Pam Depoyan

+ Isaiah 61:3,  Isaiah 60:1, Zechariah 14:20                                                                              ++  Jeremiah 29:11

What song of praise is on your heart today?

Tags:  Autumn, Psalm, Glory

decorative line

As I write these posts in celebration of fall, I’m linking up with Melissa Michaels at her beautiful inspired room.net where she has many warm and lovely ideas to make your home fall-cozy  – see her  welcome page for31 inspired days,  along with the rest of the “31-dayers” who are also sharing various month-long inspirations!

I’ll tag these stories under the category of “Autumn Leaves.”   Let us open this seasonal book together to find those “roses” tucked within their leaves…

About Pam@Writing...Apples of Gold

I love to hear your thoughts, even chat back and forth amongst comments.Won't you join the conversation? :) ..................................................................................................................... May my stories refresh you, like a whisper from our Father's Heart !
This entry was posted in Autumn Leaves, Inspirational, Psalm Seasons and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Day 6: A Psalm of Autumn Praise

  1. Melissa says:

    This was a beautiful way to start my morning! Thank you! 🙂

    • Thanks, Melissa! I asked God to put some lovely words in my mind quickly this morning – something that would speak to and uplift everyone – because I don’t have much time to post today… it’s a theme he’s shown me before, but I had never thought of writing it this way. I love how God can do that! 🙂

  2. As the days are earlier this year, as you said Spring has come 2 months ahead, then soon it would be summer and after that Autumn.

    This beautiful post of the days of falling leaves, I have obviously missed. Anyway, I am gonna retrace to the time I have started to come to your blog. I haven’t have the change to retrace the older posts since our circle has expanded. Anyway, it helps us when you redirect us to them, as you continue along with the new ones.

    Thank you for this beautiful analogy of life, dreams and even death. It reminds me of dreams I have woven in the dream-filled-days of youth, most of them died a lonely death, to no fruition…. Well anyway, I am here with God’s own dreams and plans for me. Hoping that what comes would be better and far greater than youthful aspirations.

    • Glad you are enjoying going back to older posts… If you go to the archives section on the right side of the blog, you can start by clicking on each month (starting at October 2010) and then going through the posts I did for each month. That would take you through them all… Or you can just pick categories to look at (although I have put some under more than one category, since they can apply to more than one…)

  3. Pam, my box is here, amazingly surprising and equally awe-inspiring. I can see God’s hand in your tokens, both yours and Diane’s. Thanks for you penned your dedication on the first page of my new Joan Walsh Anglund treasure. It is a celebration of our very own friendship.

    A page in the book, says:

    “The wind can be a friend too. It sings soft songs to you at night when you are sleepy and feeling lonely. Sometimes it calls to you to play. It pushes you from behind as you walk and makes the leaves dance for you. It is always with you wherever you go, and that’s how you know it likes you.”

    The very same wind that sends the golden leaves in its flight to the ground. Fluttering and skittering, floating and dancing tune of the breeze.

    Thank you for your friendship, Pam.

    • You are so welcome, Lolita! Ms. Anglund’s words are so beautiful… Yes, the same wind that blows the leaves from the trees, dances spring blossoms to float down, and sends whispers of the Holy Spirit to our hearts! Glad you treasure the book… just wanted to share it with you since you commented on that post about JWA, how you wished you could see her work. Thanks for your friendship too!

Leave a Reply

