Day 19: Melt-in-your-mouth magic

“Good apple pies are a considerable part of our domestic happiness.”  Jane Austen

decorative line

Even though fall is still warmer here in the West than it is most everywhere else, there’s a new, refreshingly crisp quality to the air.  Some  leaves turn golden, others just crinkly and brown, but every so often they are showering down around us… like feather-dancers on the soft breeze.  And skittering across the road, like Gene Kelly on taps.

Jolly-faced pumpkins grin rakishly on neighboring porches and a fresh sense of…mystery…sets flame in my heart.  Like the joy and anticipation of starting a new   Nancy Drew!   It’s Autumn!

But to me, it’s not truly fall until the scent of apples and cinnamon…and Mom’s first dutch apple pie of the season…greet me at the door after school.  And… today’s the day!

“Mmmm…!!!” my sister and I cry, dashing our book bags to the side table and rushing into the kitchen.

Did you –” my sister starts breathlessly…

“– save us some dough?”  I finish, looking around at the baking dishes expectantly.

Mom points to the sideboard where strips of delectable pie dough wait, like colorless play doh dusted in flour… and I picture in my mind how she purposefully over-measured the recipe, lined the pie plate till it overflowed, carefully snipped off the extra to put aside… then took her thumb and finger to flute the shell to perfection…

I peek inside the oven, smack my lips at the bubbly brown goodness oozing out of cracks on top of the pie, mingling with the golden dutch crumble on top…  can almost taste it even as I breathe in the aroma…  Then I whirl around to beat my sister to our bedroom, change into comfy clothes and get started.  For…it’s time to make another favorite that always comes on the heels of a good homemade pie — cinnamon-sugar piecrust pinwheels!

Mom gets out two rolling pins… separates the dough so we can each roll some.   My sister takes the cinnamon, I the sugar, and together we mix them in a bowl to set between us.   Each of us dusts our hands in flour,  grabs a pin to begin rolling.  Like Mom, I remember to roll gently… pushing forward, then off to one side, then back towards me.

“Remember… don’t overwork the dough,” Mom cautions us.

I love the rhythm of it… and getting the dough to the right consistency… smooth and papery beneath my fingers.  Now… the cinnamon sugar.  I make sure not to get too close to the edges.  Then…oh so carefully take it from one end and roll tightly…

“Perfect!” Mom encourages me.  She pinches my sister’s just a little tighter… “Like so,” she shows her.  “Let me help you cut them,” she says, guiding our hands.

Picture of Pumpkin Pie Pinwheel Cookies RecipeSoftly, like handling baby chicks, I scoop each pinwheel, turn it on it’s flat side and line them on the baking sheet.  Slipping them into the oven, we watch through the glass as they gently puff up… cinnamon swirls of delight.  Ten minutes and they are done.  Melt-in-your-mouth magic.

My sister and I fidget, dancing on our toes, waiting to sample them.  They are best warm and fresh out of the oven… with just a split moment to cool…

Mom pours us each a glass of milk as we carry the cookies out of the oven to place atop the stove to cool.  A few leaves dance outside the kitchen window as we let the first piecrust pinwheel melt on our tongues…

Mmm…mmm…  

Now… it’s delectably, satisfyingly…fall.

©  Pam Depoyan

“But I, when I undress me
Each night, upon my knees

Will ask the Lord to bless me
With apple-pie and cheese.”

Eugene Field

decorative line

As I write these posts in celebration of fall, I’m linking up with Melissa Michaels at her beautiful inspired room.net where she has many warm and lovely ideas to make your home fall-cozy – see her  welcome page for31 inspired days,  along with the rest of the “31-dayers” who are also sharing various month-long inspirations! I’ll tag these stories under the category of “Autumn Leaves.”   Let us open this seasonal book together to find those “roses” tucked within their leaves…

 

Tag:  Good apple pies

Re-sharing this in another fall season

with:

DeepRootsatHome

About Pam@Writing...Apples of Gold

I love to hear your thoughts, even chat back and forth amongst comments.Won't you join the conversation? :) ..................................................................................................................... May my stories refresh you, like a whisper from our Father's Heart !
This entry was posted in Autumn Leaves and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Day 19: Melt-in-your-mouth magic

  1. Diane says:

    What wonderful memories you have! Thanks for sharing them with us.

  2. I’ve been thinking lately how even though my life has sometimes had more than a share of dysfunction and sorrow…even tragedy…I seem to always gravitate to the heartwarming when it comes to telling stories… Those are the moments I want to remember and uplift others to remember in their own lives too… especially during this “celebration” of fall. Life is not always as it seems…and with God’s help, even if we didn’t always have moments we hoped for in our own lives, we can create such moments for others…Thanks, Diane.

  3. I would certainly love to be in your place and your sister’s, Pam. I so love those pie baking and eating experiences that I have read a lot in books when I was little. I used to borrow those heavy American books and love the pictures so much…… those chubby rosy cheeked and beribboned girls wearing dresses in polka dots etc. They are such a happy family-cherished activities.

    In the Philippines, we have different family delicacies but those times were equally happy memories. But there is something about apple pies that make me wish I grew up in America (laugh).

  4. I love all those old-fashioned drawings you talk about too… I’m glad you have equally happy memories with your own family traditions. What types of dessert do you make there? I have had filipino food before (egg rolls and such) made by some friends I used to know a long time ago. But I don’t remember sweets. If you use cinnamon and sugar in your food there, that will give you a good idea what apple pie smells like when it is cooking! I have to stay away from sugars most of the time these days, but I do love apple pie!

  5. We mostly cook gelatinous rice in coconut milk and sugar, rice cakes, fruit jams and fruit jellies. Those are native delicacies.

Leave a Reply

