Candlelight Carols… “First Stanza”

 

loria, Gloria in excelsis deo! Angels are singing; the Christ Child is born… Candlelight, angel light, firelight and starglow shine on his cradle till breaking of dawn…                                       – Candlelight Carol lyric,  John Rutter

 

I’ve always loved the idea of placing a candle  in the window, lighting the way home for one held dear… welcoming cheer to friend and passerby.  Perhaps this is how we began decorating our homes with lights!

In a lovely Irish tradition, candles are set in the window to remember Mary and Joseph as they looked for shelter that long ago Bethlehem night, and to welcome the Lord to home in their hearts now.  That thought sings inside me this evening as I light my Christmas tree before the front window, watch the home lights of my neighbors coming on…

 

Christmas: Holiday Memories by Jessie Wilcox Smith (Image1)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Twilight tiptoes over us now                                                                                                            …Softly…

As on ballet shoes…

Tripping blithely along the rose-cloud sky

And folding us into our winter evening coats.

Point by point,

Starry lights appear                                                                                                                        Sparkling, shimmering and twining

Their colors in and out of trees…and up over roof lines…

Inviting me to inside fires

And unshuttered rooms aglow With Christmas wonder                                                            Across the way…

I place a candle beside each windowpane

And let their flickering shadows play over me,                                                                         Lighting my heart… hoping to light others who see them as well…                                        With carols of Gloria in Excelsis Deo

And thankfulness…

For all the gleaming gifts of the season…

The whisper of Noel in every one

The splendor of Heaven’s promise before me… before you…                                                         Emmanuel.

 

©  Pam Depoyan

About Pam@Writing...Apples of Gold

I love to hear your thoughts, even chat back and forth amongst comments.Won't you join the conversation? :) ..................................................................................................................... May my stories refresh you, like a whisper from our Father's Heart !
This entry was posted in Carols of Christmas. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Candlelight Carols… “First Stanza”

  1. “The splendor of Heaven’s promise before me… before you… Emmanuel.”

    So beautiful……. singing in your heart and in mine. God is with us!
    I love the thought of lighting our windows to guide people passing by or to welcome our own folks coming home for the holidays. So poignant.

    Thanks for the melodies you make, Pam…. they are playing in my heart and in my mind. May your holidays be merry and may your home be lighted with warm family love and cheer. God bless you.

  2. Thank you, Lolita! Yes, I love His name…He is with us!

    I pray the same blessings for you!

    P.S. Hoping you always go to my blog to read these posts as I cringe at how they sometimes appear all a jumble on the email notifications! 🙂 – this one was particularly odd, due to trying to line up the wording as I did… )
    Pam

  3. MaryLou says:

    Hi Pam, as I read all that you shared I thought of how I have had electric candles lit in my windows for many years. I do like to see them especially when I arrive home after dark they are welcoming me home. I had a neighbor lady comment that she likes them too. Thank you for sharing. I really liked the picture that you did choose so sweet and old fashioned. There is something so special about real candlelight so relaxing. 🙂

    • Hi Marylou,
      Yes, mine are battery-operated, but they have a flicker option that makes them look very real. I’d love to leave them in all year, but I’m not sure what my neighbors would think… I love that picture too (another jessie W. Smith). It is actually only a portion of it… I have the whole picture on a keepsake box… shows a little boy in his nightclothes, leaning across an old-fashioned window seat. Love it. I love real candles too, but not safe in the windows…I’ve been wanting to buy some votives to set around real candlelight this year but haven’t gotten around to it…

      Did you notice the fancy letter “G” even has a candle in it? I LOVE these decorative letters I’ve been finding… this is the first one I found and have been waiting for the perfect post to use it… Reminds me of something we would have drawn. 🙂

  4. Diane says:

    Eammanuel, God With Us….so comforting. As comforting as a candle in a window. Love this post, Pam!

  5. Thanks, Diane! I love how even one candle dispels darkness… like the loveliness of candlelight service at Christmas, and singing in His presence…

Leave a Reply

