It’s A SnowGlobe World!

Decorative Letter O

 

h! the snow, the beautiful snow,                                                      Filling the sky and earth below,                                                         Over the housetops, over the street,                                                  Over the heads of the people you meet.                                   Dancing,                                                                                                     Flirting,                                                                                                         Skimming along…
– J.W. (Joseph Warren) Watson

 … And reminding us there are carols yet to sing o’er these,                                                            the next Twelve Days of Christmas…                                                                                              – Me

.

White Christmas is here… two days late!   Full, fat, fluffy flakes of snow softly falling, whispering awe across my quiet neighborhood.

Pulling up the shades on all nine windows in my living and dining room to reveal this silent splendor, I know…brrrrr.... it will be even colder in here because of it.  But wonder is dancing in white tulle all around me… how can I not let it all in?  I’m Heidi, receiving her first snow globe from Herr Sesseman, and not even Frau Rottenmeier can break this one!

So far this season, we’ve only been teased with a few powder-sugar dustings… and this too may melt by tomorrow.  But for this moment, I hear and know

Though many have begun boxing up Christmas, putting it away… it is good to savor and enjoy this time of lights just a bit longer.   To let it linger in your heart, like the glowing embers of a fire.  To take time to read through Christmas cards and messages of hope…  enjoy moments of quiet with tea and cookies… sit by the tree and play those carols.  To read My Word and pray… Listen to My Heart.  Into the twelve days of Christmas, on to the Epiphany and into the new year…  I am with you…

Yes, like savoring the catch of a snowflake on your tongue… (like the little girl I saw doing just that the other day, racing around in delighted circles, and bringing a grin to my soul) — I have carols still to sing over these coming days… until at least the New Year.   For I cannot put the season away with the closing of one day.

Let the next week be like a coming sunset… glowing bright it’s colors, deepening them across our souls…

And as we do, whether or not you have actual snow where you are,  His blessings are falling all around you… Here are some white roses and scarlet poinsettias to enjoy and remember:

Did you know there is a “secret code” in the sometimes quirky-sounding carol of Twelve Days?  Here are the first two, in honor of yesterday and today (the first two days), with more to come over the next few days…

Partridge in a Pear Tree ClipartOn the first day of Christmas, my true Love gave to me…A partridge in a pear tree  –  (hidden meaning = Jesus, Our Savior)

Christmas Doves ClipartOn the second day of Christmas, my true Love gave to me…Two turtle doves – (Stands for the Old and New Testaments)

And… one more “rose” that comes to mind today as I watch the snow falling.   One of His most beautiful promises…reminding me that He “waters” the words He puts in our hearts to encourage and hearten… to go forth, bud and flourish…

 As the rain and the snow
come down from heaven,
and do not return to it
without watering the earth
and making it bud and flourish,
so that it yields seed for the sower and bread for the eater,
so is my word that goes out from my mouth:
It will not return to me empty,
but will accomplish what I desire
and achieve the purpose for which I sent it.
You will go out in joy
and be led forth in peace;
the mountains and hills
will burst into song before you,
and all the trees of the field
will clap their hands.
Instead of the thornbush will grow the juniper,
and instead of briers the myrtle will grow.
This will be for the LORD’s renown,
for an everlasting sign,
that will endure forever.”  – Isaiah 55 – 10-15

.

What bit of Christmas is lingering in your soul and “on your tongue” today?  It is still all around us...

©  Pam Depoyan

Tag:  Oh! the snow!

About Pam@Writing...Apples of Gold

I love to hear your thoughts, even chat back and forth amongst comments.Won't you join the conversation? :) ..................................................................................................................... May my stories refresh you, like a whisper from our Father's Heart !
This entry was posted in Carols of Christmas and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to It’s A SnowGlobe World!

  1. Diane says:

    A beautiful post for a snowy day as well as two days after Christmas…before we box it up for another year. Sigh.

  2. Thanks, Diane! The saddest thing to me used to be seeing a bedraggled old Christmas tree thrown out to the curbside only minutes after Dec 25. Don’t see that too much anymore since so many have fake trees… still I’ve been reading some blogs where people are discussing how they’ve already packed away the creche, the lights… And once again I say… slow down… 🙂

    Are you having snow there today too? It’s already stopped here…so not certain to last. But I am enjoying these snow bursts and time without it too…so unusual around here.

    • Diane says:

      No snow yet. It was 50 degrees we I went to bed last night. Way too warm. I know what you mean about seeing the trees along the curb. Just discarded…

  3. “And as we do, whether or not you have actual snow where you are, His blessings are falling all around you… Here are some white roses and scarlet poinsettias to enjoy and remember:”

    Yes, Pam….. I can imagine the beautiful December wedding from your windows. I used wedding because you beautifully used “white tulle.” For me tulle is usually used for wedding veil. But mostly, I love those lines above which I quoted….. simply because they sang a carol to me…… my White Christmas dream has been answered right at this moment…….. because I love how you put it…….. instead of snow in the Philippines (O heavens forbid, we could not suffer that, we are not ready)……. blessings are snow-flaking, falling, dazzling and I could taste it like the child you pictured.

    Thanks for one more rose, Pam. GBU!

    Note: In the Philippines, we pack away middle of January….. because most Roman Catholics have yet another Holy Day for it. But me…. we want to linger for a bit longer before boxing up.

  4. I am excited to learn all the secrets of the “Twelve Days of Christmas!”

  5. I hadn’t thought about tulle with wedding, but you are right. Actually, I was thinking about ballerina dresses… 🙂 But I like the wedding image too. I grew up in a non-snow area, so I can relate to having only “white Christmas in my dreams” – so I’ve seen both sides now. Thanks as always for letting me know how you are touched! Glad you enjoy lingering a bit longer too… 🙂 Something about snowflakes falling in the winter, blossoms drifting down from the trees in the spring and leaves swirling in the fall – they all remind me of His blessings falling all around us…

  6. Diane says:

    Lolita, your hearts sees such beauty and that touches me. And for you to see such beauty through words…something tells me there is a writer inside you waiting to blossom!

  7. P and D…… you two are so sweet……. Perhaps, I could write, I know it in my heart…. but only in response to what I read from writers like you, Pam…. and a blogger like you, Diane. I was encouraged to blog by one of my best friends in our Church…….. but I gave up….. my eloquence fails me…. I only produce GAB … it is like a child’s chatter (laugh). I can blame it my memory. That’s why I so admire Pam with how she could still bring back the emotions of what she wants to write….. make it felt by her readers. One thing more, I know if one wants to be a journalist, a writer or a poet….. there has to be some technical training added to the natural flair in writing.

    Thank you both still because it makes my heart sing.

    And P….. yes picturing skinny ballerinas twirling, dashing, dancing in white tulle flowing all around them, paints a lovely picture of the snow falling.

  8. Twirling… dashing… dancing. I like that! 🙂 Thank you, L. It means a lot to know that you can read what I write and feel the emotions I’m trying to evoke!

  9. MaryLou says:

    Hi Pam, speaking of snow globes I found one in an antique shop here called “Sylvia’s Attic” and I really think that I have seen it before when I have visited… but this time I bought it. What is really neat is it is from the year 2000 and that is the first year my Mom & Pop were here with me at Christmas time. I love snow globes and I wonder about the history behind them… when was the first one made? No snow here but we are finally having rain. Thank you for sharing! 🙂

  10. I LOVE snow globes too… ever since I saw the one in Heidi. Just something magical about them, for lack of a better word. That one you found sounds special. What is the scene inside it? I have a few small ones that I enjoy at Christmas…but I didn’t take them out this year. When it is snowing big flakes, and I am inside looking out all the windows, it really does feel like I am inside a snow globe…:)

    The snow melted right away…but I’ve been enjoying just seeing it here and there and being able to get out and walk etc this year.

  11. MaryLou says:

    Inside of my snow globe is a Christmas Tree with a golden star on top with children circled around it holding hands they look like they could be dancing. There are toys and presents also surrounding it, there is a puppy dog jumping excitedly and two children are holding a banner that says Welcome 2000. The base is white with holly and berries and ribbon decorating it. It is also a music box and plays Deck the Halls. What was really interesting was the lady who sold it to me said that she didn’t even know that she had a snow globe for sale because many people come in asking for them. I believe that it was waiting for me. 🙂

  12. Sounds beautiful. I love when things are just waiting for us like that! I have three small globes designed by a woman who plays piano. So they all play a carol that is her playing it… One is a darling old-fashioned Santa with a lantern that lights up, one is a church with lighted windows and one is a Christmas tree.

Leave a Reply

