Counting down… and looking up!

…A prayer of blessing and a Word of Promise for the new year…

New Years ClockBefore the countdown begins… I ask you, Lord…   Go before us… behind us… all around us… into every moment of this new year. Sending your protection. Pouring out your Shalom in every way – peace, health, wisdom and wholeness to our hearts, souls, minds and bodies. May we take joy in knowing your promise is to bless and keep us. You turn your face to shine on us, you pour out your graciousness and set your Name upon us!    (Numbers 6)

.

.

Psalm 139

A David Psalm

1-6 God…
I’m an open book to you;
even from a distance, you know what I’m thinking.
You know when I leave and when I get back;
I’m never out of your sight.
You know everything I’m going to say
before I start the first sentence.
I look behind me and you’re there,
then up ahead and you’re there, too—
your reassuring presence, coming and going.
This is too much, too wonderful—
I can’t take it all in!

7-12 Is there anyplace I can go to avoid your Spirit?
to be out of your sight?
If I climb to the sky, you’re there!
If I go underground, you’re there!
If I flew on morning’s wings
to the far western horizon,
You’d find me in a minute—
you’re already there (in our new year)* waiting!
Then I said to myself, “Oh, he even sees me in the dark!
At night I’m immersed in the light!”
It’s a fact: darkness isn’t dark to you;
night and day, darkness and light, they’re all the same to you.

–  The Message * (parenthesis is mine)

…Here’s to an Ephesians 3:20 year for us all…

Now all glory to God, who is able, through his mighty power at work within us, to accomplish infinitely more than we might ask or think.

About Pam@Writing...Apples of Gold

I love to hear your thoughts, even chat back and forth amongst comments.Won't you join the conversation? :) ..................................................................................................................... May my stories refresh you, like a whisper from our Father's Heart !
This entry was posted in Carols of Christmas and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Counting down… and looking up!

  1. MaryLou says:

    Joyous New Year 2012 to you Pam. I am so very grateful that I can depend on God as I look ahead to a brand New Year 2012. I cannot even imagine living without Him in my life and knowing He is taking care of me as I sojourn through my days. See you next year… I love to say that to everyone as the old year ends! 🙂

  2. Joyous new year to you too! I think God has put it on my heart to begin praying that He goes ahead of us into each day… so many “battles” that may be avoided and victories won in Him. I love that too…

  3. Diane says:

    Happy New Year! Nothing like the Word of God to get us off on the right off. I receive the blessing. Thank you, Pam!

  4. Yes, the Lord’s bright blessing on us all this year!

    It may sound odd at our age, but one of my favorite old Christmas specials was Mr Magoo’s Christmas Carol… mmm… so many lovely songs in it. Three of my favorites are “The Lord’s Bright Blessing,” “A Hand for each Hand,” and “Winter was warm.” If you go to http://popdose.com/dw-dunphy-on-mr-magoos-christmas-carol/ and scroll down to find the songs by these names, it looks like you can listen to them there. 🙂

    • Diane says:

      OH, Mr. Magoo!!!! LOL – man, does that date us!!!!! Unfortunately errors showed when I clicked on the songs. But, thanks for sharing with us. Happy New Year, Pam!

      • Oh, too bad. Maybe if you google “Mr. Magoo’s Christmas Carol” you might find the songs online elsewhere… I’ve been getting a lot of hits for the post where I referenced it in the fall (Ringle, Ringle… ) and people looking for those songs. I bought the DVD just for that music… I remember it was a big deal for us when that special came on. Some friends of ours invited us to their house to watch it together…

  5. Thanks for your prayer, Pam. I lift you and your ministries to the Lord, that He may continue to shine His face upon you and give you His overflowing grace, joy, love and peace. Blessed to bless others.

  6. Thank you, Lolita! I welcome that blessing more than you know! 🙂 It is one of my prayers… and for you too.

Leave a Reply

