Here’s To “Words Matter” Week 2012

It’s time to celebrate the joy, beauty and power of our words, and once again I’m joining in on the week-long discussion over at Words Matter 2012

.

stock photo : Wedding Luxury Diamond ring casting a heart on Book Using for "Love never ends" Concept in Valentine Holiday Today’s blogging question:  Writers craft words into memorable phrases, stories, poems and plays. Who are the writers who make your heart sing? Why?

 “To me, the greatest pleasure of writing is not what it’s about, but the inner music the words make.

~ Truman Capote

Like ice cream, written words come in many flavors.  Each one laced with their own particular art.

Lyrical.  Charming.  Elucidating.

Fun, mysterious, or simply technical.

Like Mr. Capote…it’s the lyrical that soars my heart most.  Words that sing off the page, lifting images and emotions before me, so real I can nearly see, touch, hear…and sometimes… even smell them.  This is the style I aspire to write most…and the first I look for in a great read.  When I was a teen, Charles Dickens and Taylor Caldwell were two authors who did that for me. These days,  modern day novelists capture me with their poetic pen…  Elizabeth Musser, Lynn Austin, to name a few (I’ve written about their beautiful wordcrafting in my posts,  Simply Put – A Must Read… and  Looking for a good read?).

Other times, I crave the cozy writer’s charm.  Warm as a cup of cocoa. Mystery authors like Mary Stewart, Enid Blyton and Veronica Heley (such as I described in An American Review of an “English Cosy,” a.k.a — A Delightful Read!and Adventure is… Romance )  Or romantic charmers like Rosamunde Pilcher.

When I want to read to discover something new or solve a problem or uncover inspirational truths, it’s the writer with a teaching bent who captures my attention – the one who writes clearly and weaves personal stories to illustrate the points they are describing.  It isn’t poetry I’m looking for here…though it can add to the treasure if done appropriately…but words that ring with clarity and truth.  Stories that inspire me to take a chance.

And as a copywriter, I’ve often felt – surprising as it may sound – that even technical writing takes an art of it’s own.  For there’s nothing like finding the right word with the right rhythm…

No matter the flavor… the joy IS in making (or reading!) music with words.

©  Pam Depoyan

About Pam@Writing...Apples of Gold

I love to hear your thoughts, even chat back and forth amongst comments.Won't you join the conversation? :) ..................................................................................................................... May my stories refresh you, like a whisper from our Father's Heart !
This entry was posted in Words Matter and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Here’s To “Words Matter” Week 2012

  1. Diane says:

    Your words sure do sing, Pam! Beautiful!

  2. Thanks, Diane. I love how you fall into the teaching category with a gift for clarity of word and heart. There IS art and beauty in every style… 🙂

  3. …… and yes, why? That’s exactly what I hear and feel….. a philharmonic orchestra….. that’s playing in between your writing, Pam.

    Beautiful, like taking wings to sail up the clouds.

  4. Lovely, Pam. I enjoyed your beautifully crafted post, and perhaps I’ve discovered a new author– I am a fan of Mary Stewart, but have never read Veronica Heley. I look forward to getting familiar with her!

  5. Thanks, Janice! Yes, I became hooked on Veronica’s books from the first one – just as I did with Mary Stewart years ago. Strange to call a murder mystery fun or charming, but somehow she finds the perfect mix. My favorite of her series is the Ellie Quicke books. Hope you enjoy her too!

Leave a Reply

