Life changing words… Day 2, “Words Matter” Week 2012

Kind Word

Words Matter 2012-Day 2 Blog Challenge:

What word, said or unsaid, has or could change your life?  How?


This year, one word has been coming up again and again.

Blessings.

As it has for others I know, it comes on the heel of so many discouraging difficulties these past several seasons.  And I’m ready… oh so ready… for blessings.

Ready to receive, and ready to give.

The promised blessings of the Lord – given to Abraham – and now, through His sacrifice, to us.  (Deuteronomy 28)

The wonder of blessing poured out as He makes His face to shine upon us, writes His Name on our hearts… and tells us to bless others with His light-filled words of GRACE.          (Numbers 6)

Recently, I came across a challenge in a book… the author suggesting we never leave home without purposing to bless someone else.  At the grocery store.  In the library.  On the job.

He told the extraordinary story of an unexpected chance to help a needy stranger financially.  Not everyone can do that, he wrote, but you can start simple. Buy someone lunch.  Smile at a stranger.  Pray blessings on the sales clerk.

Yesterday, I was reading passages in the Gospel of Mark describing people the Lord healed.  Something struck me as I read these particular accounts… in each case, they hadn’t come on their own.  It was a friend, a parent, a relative who brought their loved one to the Lord for blessing.

Later in the day,  I happened to be meeting with a friend with the purpose of prayer together.  “Lord, I lift Pam up to receive your blessing…” she began.   And as we bowed hearts and words together, I was reminded of a beautiful verse from Ecclesiastes:

 9 Two are better than one,
because they have a good return for their labor:
10 If either of them falls down,
one can help the other up.
But pity anyone who falls
and has no one to help them up…

12 Though one may be overpowered,
two can defend themselves.
A cord of three strands is not quickly broken.

Mmm…  Me + you + The Lord.  A cord of three strands. 

           Spoken or unspoken.  Action or gift. Blessings is  a more-than-life-changing word.

©  Pam Depoyan

.

In the words of a beautiful hymn, let us praise God from whom all blessings flow!

About Pam@Writing...Apples of Gold

I love to hear your thoughts, even chat back and forth amongst comments.Won't you join the conversation? :) ..................................................................................................................... May my stories refresh you, like a whisper from our Father's Heart !
This entry was posted in Words Matter and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Life changing words… Day 2, “Words Matter” Week 2012

  1. Pam, this is a very life-changing message, and a timely one. There are so many aspects of a given idea, like a diamond multi-faceted. One sees something at a different perspective while another from the other angle and so on and so forth. This one is an eye opener. I love the beginner of your friends prayer. “Lord, I lift Pam up to receive your blessing…” My prayers would always be like this, “Lord, pour out your blessings upon Pam today.” Isn’t if always asking or perhaps, am I dictating God, in the way I pray? My, I’d like to develop this kind of prayer on myself.

    Yes, too, about people bringing people before Jesus for healing or blessings. It’s like someone came out healed by Jesus and found another or told the news to others. One interceding or pleading for the other, a desire to help the other. Yes, I believe Jesus likes that…… care for one another, pray for one another, encourage one another, lift each other up, edify, build for strength.

    This is lovely, Pam. So glad you shared this one.

  2. Thanks, Lolita. I pray His blessings for you! Yes… you are right. One interceding or pleading for another is a beautiful reflection of His heart for us. Thanks for sharing your thoughts too. I believe that when we are praying as the Word shows us, this is God’s heart. In that way, no, we are not dictating… we are following His lead in prayer… 🙂

  3. Diane says:

    Hallelujah! I don’t think our American minds can even tap into the truth of the word BLESSING in Scripture. I think I’m going to do a study on it…thanks for that idea! “A three-fold chord is NOT easily broken.” One of my favorite portions of Scripture. All it takes is two plus The Holy Spirit…isn’t that awesome?!

    And as ones who intercede, we are doing just that – bringing that person (family member, friend, etc.) to Jesus’ feet. Hallelujah!

    I thank God, from Whom all blessings flow! May we all be blessings to others today!

  4. Good idea, Diane… yes, there is so much richness even in one word of the Bible.

Leave a Reply

