Bells of Ireland and Smilin’ Irish Eyes

Top o’ the Mornin’ to Ye!

Mmmm... how this photo taken in the Emerald Isle  fills me up with the glory of God’s creative beauty!  A bit o’ heaven on this earth!

It makes me want to jump into it like Mary Poppins on a jolly holiday, roam those roads, drink in the color and charm, find a rainbow, set up my easel and try to capture it with oils…

Like England, Ireland has long held loveliness for me… quaint stone cottages, rolling hills a shade of green deeper than deep, sheep dotting the landscape, pathways leading to mysterious places of beauty…  This is a land I’d love to visit, drink long cuppas of tea with fresh baked scones and clouds of clotted cream, take to heart the stories of the people, sit on a low stone wall and dream… sing of cockles and sweet Molly Malone…

And stroll in fields of waving shamrocks…lifting their heads to the blue and cloud-swirled  sky…

On this day of wearin’ and eatin’ the green, let us think of the joy of this unique flower… and the loveliness it symbolizes…

This national symbol of Ireland is most often associated with St. Patrick. It is said he used the three-leaf clover to explain the Holy Trinity (the Father, the Son and the Holy Spirit) to new believers.

The three heart-shaped leaves may also whisper to us of the triune keys described in         1 Corinthians 13:13…

  • Faith
  • Hope
  • Love

Stock Image - Bells of Ireland Plant or Molucca balmis Shellflower. Fotosearch - Search Stock Photography, Poster Photos, Pictures, and Photo Clip Art

So today… no matter where you live, or what your heritage… why not take time to:

Hear the bells of Ireland ringing!

Catch the twinkle of Irish eyes smilin’!

And let us greet each other with hope in our hearts, a bit of Irish in our souls, and glory in the day!

About Pam@Writing...Apples of Gold

I love to hear your thoughts, even chat back and forth amongst comments.Won't you join the conversation? :) ..................................................................................................................... May my stories refresh you, like a whisper from our Father's Heart !
This entry was posted in Bells of Ireland and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Bells of Ireland and Smilin’ Irish Eyes

  1. Lolita Valle says:

    Pam,

    You are now gleefully taking in the beautiful and amazing colors God has poured over Earth. You’ve been having fantastic analogies of cornflower blue-in the skies, the fuchsia – in children’s crayons and dresses.

    And now, shamrocks. When you find a way to go to this quaint village, please take me too, Pam.
    I could drink in the peace evoked by the photo. The smell of the place is almost a sniff away…..so fresh and green and clean.

    Beautiful……

  2. So true, Lolita! Right now, I guess we can only go there in our hearts and minds… But when I think of where you live, I imagine it just as green and beautiful by the sea (as I’ve seen in Hawaii)… May the colors of His glory fill your day!

  3. MaryLou says:

    Hi Pam, when I think of Ireland I think of not only the beauty of the land but also the beauty of the music that has come from there. I love the style of their music and the instruments they play. There is something so special in their music. I love listening to hymns sung and played in the Irish style. 🙂

  4. Me too! I was listening to some on PBS last night. So fun and lilting. I also heard someone singing “When Irish Eyes Are Smiling” yesterday in a really slow version… it made me listen to the sweet words even more. Beautiful. A few years ago I saw a violinist downtown playing a lot of Irish music… loved it. One of my favorite hymns is one that sounds Irish, too. Thanks for reminding me of that, MaryLou! 🙂

  5. Betty Draper says:

    Pam I love the picture in your post. My dream to visit Ireland was intensified a couple years ago when a church from there who support a New Tribes missionary in Papua New Country, the country we served in for years. They came and did our yearly regional conference, they brought that Irish charm with them and charmed us all with their music, their love for the Lord. It matters now what country or culture one is from, God super ceeds all of that with His sweet spirit.

  6. Yes, isn’t it gorgeous? I just googled images of Ireland, and this one stood out to me. That must have been a lovely addition to your conference… I can just picture their charm in music and love for the Lord. (Sometimes I think that our Southern fiddling has a bit of Irish sound to it.) You are right…There is a sweetness in sharing hearts in Him that goes beyond our heritage… Thanks for sharing that here, Betty… 🙂 Maybe we’ll both get to the Emerald Isle someday…

  7. Sylvia R says:

    Mmm, thanks for takin’ me wi’ ye on yer sweet mind trip!

Leave a Reply

