Song of Morning Light

The way of the righteous is like the first gleam of dawn,
      which shines ever brighter until the full light of day.

Proverbs 4:18

Early morning light has music in it.  A softness, spreading peace like watercolors, across cities and towns, heralded by birdsong and rising to a crescendo of deepening hues…

I came across this lovely image in Proverbs 4:18 last night as I opened the Book to look for some treasure farther into that chapter, words someone gave to encourage me earlier in the day.  “These are for you,” she said, and I’d forgotten until bed to read them.   I stopped on verse 18, lingered over that thought first, loving it.  It reminded me of another favorite... Daniel 12:3.   Shine like the stars… on through the day… 

Turning the page, I found the gift she’d meant me to read…

...turn your ear to my words.
21 Do not let them out of your sight,
keep them within your heart;
22 for they are life to those who find them
and health to one’s whole body.

Light.  Life.  Healing. 

And the thought…  It’s time to let My words take root… concentrate on worship and praise…

I flipped through to Psalms, opened randomly to 89, read these hope-surging words that came as confirmation to His whisper:

15 Blessed are those who have learned to acclaim you,
who walk in the light of your presence, LORD.
16 They rejoice in your name all day long;
they celebrate your righteousness.
17 For you are their glory and strength,
and by your favor you exalt our horn.

Then, I slept… majesty in my mind…

Sunshine bid me outside this morning, and as I looped around my neighborhood – in this unbelievably two month-early spring weather we’re having – thankfulness rose in me like the light.   Thankfulness for this moment, free to be here, unencumbered, drinking in the way the sunlight paints tree shadows on the homes, lights and darks outline porch rails, birds…so many birds… burst with songs from the treetops.

And I thought of reminiscing about my Grandma’s house here the other day…

I have a memory of each of the neighborhoods my grandparents lived in during my growing up years that is hard to put into words.

A softness in the air that seemed just to linger there and nowhere else.

A peace in the way the light flowed over those neighborhoods and in and among Grandma’s rainbows of flowers.

The nearly magical sound of music on the wing.

I might think it was imagination or just nostalgic wistfulness…except…

I’ve seen it captured in old black and white movies at times.

One series of fun films I recall is a slapstick-y one based on the old Blondie comic strip characters.  Mostly silly fare, each one had some charm and heartwarming moments, and always opened upon an idyllic scene of their quaint, sundappled neighborhood.  And in that scene, and others where light was reflecting on walls inside the family’s home, it was there.  The same indescribable feeling.

Today, walking in the near-quiet of my neighborhood – for it is set like a circle rimmed by traveled roads on one side and train track on the other – I could hear a bit more of the outside sounds encroaching than I remember in the slower days in Grandma’s time.  Yet… tuning those out… that same peace suddenly washed over me.

No one else was about.  Just me…the breeze lifting my hair… the music of so many giddy birds floating down from the treetops… and morning light.  Flooding me with songs of praise.

Words like those I’d read in Psalm 89 last night…

1 I will sing of the LORD’s great love forever;
with my mouth I will make your faithfulness known
through all generations.
2 I will declare that your love stands firm forever,
that you have established your faithfulness in heaven itself.
3 You said, “I have made a covenant with my chosen one,
I have sworn to David my servant,
4 ‘I will establish your line forever
and make your throne firm through all generations.’”

 5 The heavens praise your wonders, LORD,
your faithfulness too, in the assembly of the holy ones.
6 For who in the skies above can compare with the LORD?
Who is like the LORD among the heavenly beings?
7 In the council of the holy ones God is greatly feared;
he is more awesome than all who surround him.
8 Who is like you, LORD God Almighty?
You, LORD, are mighty, and your faithfulness surrounds you.

      And memory merged once again with the true present.

  Here, in a quiet moment of morning light.

©  Pam Depoyan

I encourage you…

Steal a moment in the sunshine and birdsong today

And let it wash over you, too…

Light to make us shine ever brighter in the full light of day.

🙂

(And if you feel like talking about it, I’d love to hear  your own stories… 🙂 )

.

.

.

Linked this post with Laura at “The Wellspring”…

and Imperfect Prose  at Emily Wierenga’s place

About Pam@Writing...Apples of Gold

I love to hear your thoughts, even chat back and forth amongst comments.Won't you join the conversation? :) ..................................................................................................................... May my stories refresh you, like a whisper from our Father's Heart !
This entry was posted in Reflections. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Song of Morning Light

  1. Diane says:

    A thick fog has settled over the north coast of Long Island for two days now. The heavy, humid air is motionless – just hovering. To read your post brought fresh air, light and sunshine to my soul. Thank you, Pam.

    Oh, how timely this post is. Did God have you write this just for me? I’m sure not, but I take it as such!

  2. I’m glad if He did, for what’s better than that? 🙂

    I guess since you are near the water, fog is hanging about a bit. Hopefully some of this sun will blow your way soon! It’s so incredible. In all the 28 years I’ve lived here, spring has NEVER started sooner than late April. And here we are on the very first day of spring, with tulip trees and forsythia and daffodils… even the tiny new pear trees in my neighborhood are budding. Hopefully it won’t freeze again and ruin this beauty. It’s warm…but I am loving the breezes and sunshine…and freedom!

  3. Yes, I love it so much, Pam. You are declaring the faithfulness of our Mighty God, so aptly and so timely. There is always romance and beauty when we drink in the God’s faithfulness, even in the first rays of the early morning, underscored with birdsong and in flip-plopping of their wings. The colors of the sky and the foliage, all declare the glory of God.

    This is beautifully written, Pam. I love how you phrased this post, as always.

    Blessings from warm Philippines.

  4. And thanks, as always, Lolita! 🙂 Yes…romance and beauty in His creation…

  5. MaryLou says:

    Hi Pam, I too like to go walking in the early morning. It is hard to really describe but there is definitely something more special in my early morning walks as opposed to my afternoon or evening walks. The lighting, the air, the feel how much I enjoy my early morning walks before I go to work. As I walk and talk with God it is such a wonderful way to start my day giving Him my first fruits of the hours of my day. I can truly tell the difference in my day if I am unable to take my early morning walks. 🙂

  6. That’s wonderful, Marylou! Not always easy to find that time before work. There’s something beautiful in afternoon light too, but morning light has it’s own loveliness. That does sound like a great way to start your day. Thanks for sharing that.

  7. ljbmom says:

    Oh, this is just beauty. I love when the word takes me soft places as you describe here. So lovely.

  8. Thanks, Laura! Your words about His word do the same for me… 🙂 I just linked up on your site to another of my posts I thought you’d like… about the rain… since you wrote something similar for your birthday 🙂

  9. you describe that elusive feeling of those “thin places” so well, Pam. words never quite wrap around it completely, do they? and yet, i know just what you mean.
    lovely post, friend. thanks for sharing at IP. 🙂

Leave a Reply

