Some early Easter words to ponder…

             Not a single one of all the good promises the LORD had given to the          family of Israel was left unfulfilled; everything he had spoken came true.                                                            – Joshua 21:45

…Like the promise of winter,  blossoming  into spring…
.
.

A few days ago, I was listening to someone sharing about coming before God with a thankful heart.

“Have you seen miracles in your own life or in others?”  he asked.  “Spend some time thanking God for them today.”

Then he added something I’d never thought of before.

“‘What if I’ve never seen a miracle,’ you wonder?  Well, then… thank the Lord for how he healed blind Bartimaeus in the gospels.  Thank him for the water turned into wine.  For the paralytic who – at one word – picked up his mat and walked.”

Wow, I thought, eyes suddenly shining.

Praise flowed from my heart like His living water.

Thank you for healing the woman with issue of blood, for giving her courage to step through a crowd and touch the hem of your garment.  Thank you for the way you looked at her with love overflowing – as you look at each of us, right now – blessing her faith.

Thank you for multiplying loaves and fishes to nourish thousands.  Again and again. 

Thank you for restoring health to many lepers, with extra gratefulness in place of the one who took that miracle without a glance back…

Thank you for miracles I do not even know you are doing in my life…this moment… those I’ve asked for, and those I don’t know to ask for…

Then, I remembered some other beautiful truths I’ve heard recently.  That the word tells us God’s ministering angels are ever waiting to perform God’s powerful promises and blessings in our lives… waiting for us to speak them out in faith, so they can bring them to pass.  How so much of the time, however, we are tying their hands with our self-negative talk.  Nothing ever goes right for me.  I’ll never make it.    And they are waiting with bated breath for us to confess His truth.  I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.  Because of Jesus, I am crowned with the Lord’s favor and songs of victory. 

And how the original Greek word for God’s power, such as the power he wants to bring into our lives as Paul prays here in Ephesians, is dunamis – meaning, mighty as dynamite:

17 I keep asking that the God of our Lord Jesus Christ, the glorious Father, may give you the Spirit of wisdom and revelation, so that you may know him better. 18 I pray that the eyes of your heart may be enlightened in order that you may know the hope to which he has called you, the riches of his glorious inheritance in his holy people, 19 and his incomparably great power for us who believe. That power is the same as the mighty strength 20 he exerted when he raised Christ from the dead and seated him at his right hand in the heavenly realms… 21

Mm…  A Holy Spirit – inspired prayer to move mountains…

And I encourage… let us think about every word we say, and give the angels God’s words from our lips to bless today…  for it is written:

    The tongue has the power of life and death,                                                                     and those who love it  will eat its fruit.                                                                                 – Proverbs 18:20-22

.

                                         Isn’t this photo glorious?
.
.
.

©  Pam Depoyan

About Pam@Writing...Apples of Gold

I love to hear your thoughts, even chat back and forth amongst comments.Won't you join the conversation? :) ..................................................................................................................... May my stories refresh you, like a whisper from our Father's Heart !
This entry was posted in Inspirational. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Some early Easter words to ponder…

  1. Sandee says:

    Pam,

    I loved your message today. You quoted my favorite verses from Ephesians about the “eyes of the heart” and reinforced the importance of the power of gratitude and positive words which God has really been stressing to me more than ever. It is so easy to fall into a trap of negativity and ingratitude and forget about all the untold and abundant blessings we are showered with each day. I hope your day is blessed. 🙂

  2. Thank you, Sandee! Yes, isn’t that a beautiful passage? It always amazes me (but shouldn’t) how God is speaking similar words to us each at the same times in our lives… And how once you hear something, it keeps coming up wherever you turn… That he has been speaking that into you confirms it to my heart today too. I’ve been reading a couple of books lately that have opened my eyes to greater understanding of that passage in Ephesians. Blessings on your day too! 🙂

  3. And I encourage… let us think about every word we say, and give the angels God’s words from our lips to bless today… for it is written:

    The tongue has the power of life and death, and those who love it will eat its fruit.
    – Proverbs 18:20-22

    Thank you for this, Pam. Our lips should be dedicated to praise His Holy Name, and not to utter bad report about another. For if you wish and open your mouth to send blessing for others, God’s host of angels, will be in attendance with our well wishes.

    We need to use a language that angels understand….. only for the Praise of God and to bless others.

    I love this message, Pam. GBU!

  4. I would like to stand by your side too, gazing at those blossoming trees. The colors of God’s love for us in His creations.

  5. Diane says:

    The photo is absolutely gorgeous! God’s display of His creativity!

    This post is beautiful! From the Scriptures, to the angels, to the grateful heart for the Bible stories. Hallelujah! I praise His Name!

  6. Thanks, Lolita and Diane… yes, purposing to turn our words from negative to what God says about us, especially in those things we say about our own lives or others. It’s so easy to pronounce things on ourselves like saying… I feel so (less than or whatever), I am never going to be any good at such and such, that person is so impossible… etc. And I often have to stop myself and turn those words around to what God says…

    I know… that photo is like one of those Calgon moments you referred to recently, Diane 🙂

  7. Diane says:

    LOL. Yes!

  8. MaryLou says:

    Hi Pam, that picture is absolutely gorgeous and it seems so unreal. If such beauty is here in our fallen world I cannot even imagine those things that we will be seeing when we leave this world behind. Thank you for all that you did share. My husband and I try to always have a time of thanksgiving when we share with one another the many things that we are grateful to God for. I never thought of thanking Him for the miracles that He did perform while He was here. As far as thinking of God’s power right now we are having quite a storm the wind and the rain coming off of the ocean and that is nothing compared to God’s power. 🙂

  9. I had never thought of that either, but it made such sense when I heard him say to do that! Yes, that photo does seem unreal… but I have seen something similar here with the blossom trees. I love to watch the blossoms falling… just like the leaves in the fall, it lifts my spirit indescribably. Like the “way of shining light” in Anne of Green Gables… I agree, if there is so much beauty here, what must heaven be like?

  10. MaryLou says:

    Hi Pam, wow I did actually also think of Anne of Green Gables when I did look at the picture of the trees in blossom. This Good Friday afternoon as I walked by the seashore and up to the lighthouse and looked up into the beautiful blue sky with a few puffy clouds I thought all of this beauty cannot touch what we will see in Heaven. Eye has not seen nor has ear heard… that is so very amazing to think about! 🙂

    • Yes, it truly is! We had a beautiful sunny Good Friday here too… blue skies and white clouds… and I was remembering how many times growing up, it seemed overcast on this day, almost like in remembrance of the Lord on the cross… But the beauty in the day speaks of Heaven…

      Yes, Anne of Green Gables and the “white way to light…” I think that’s what she called that grove of blossom trees! 🙂 How beautiful for you to walk by the sea and lighthouse … He is our lighthouse!

Leave a Reply

