Love Song

                       See, I have engraved you on the palms of my hands…                           – Isaiah 49:16

Have you ever found yourself singing along to a popular love song on radio and finding… with just a tiny tweak… it becomes a song of praise to the One who created romance?

Today, as I joined in Easter worship at church…something about the alleluia joy reminded me… God is there in all that is lovely, beautiful…and yes, even in the romantic. Most especially in music.

And the Spirit brushed a memory across my heart.  Times when I’ve been tooling down the road in my car, singing everyday love songs as though to Him.  And how He loves that. 

Songs like Rodgers and Hammerstein’s…

Some Enchanted Evening
when You Find Your True Love,
when You Feel Him Call You
across A Crowded Room,
then Fly To His Side,
and Make Him Your Own…

once You Have Found Him,
never Let Him Go.

Or one of the most exuberant oldies I love, that always makes me sing along with joy in my heart, especially when I add a simple change:

It’s my happy heart you hear
Singing loud and singing clear

Feeling more and more like I’ve never felt before
You have changed my life so completely
Music fills my soul now, I’ve lost all control now
I’m not half, I’m whole now with your love

It’s my happy heart you hear
Singing loud and singing clear
And it’s all because you’re near me, my Lord
Never take my happy heart away
Let me love you night and day
In your arms I wanna stay, oh my Love…

Happy Heart

Today, as you celebrate…let’s think of how we are engraved not only on His hands, but in His heart.   Listen, can you hear Him singing? 🙂  He may just be sending you a love song in the music of your life!

Alleluia!  He is risen!

Happy Easter!

©  Pam Depoyan

.

Do you have a favorite popular song… old or new…that makes your heart sing along with praise?

About Pam@Writing...Apples of Gold

I love to hear your thoughts, even chat back and forth amongst comments.Won't you join the conversation? :) ..................................................................................................................... May my stories refresh you, like a whisper from our Father's Heart !
This entry was posted in Reflections. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Love Song

  1. Lolita Valle says:

    Yes, Pam.

    I do have songs I tweak to replace His Name on them, and they become songs of Praise.

    Happy Easter and may His songs to you make you joyful as you listen to the words He dedicate to you, His beloved…….. melodious harmony ……. and gay.

  2. The same to you, too, Lolita! Thanks for sharing that…

  3. Diane says:

    Pam, I always “tweak” songs! I love Zephaniah 3:17 that The LORD rejoices over us! Just love it. There are many songs that I picture my Beloved Jesus singing to me, like Bridge Over Troubled Waters.

    (deep sigh)

    My friend and prayer partner, Elaine, says, “We are an Easter people and Alleluia is our song.”
    Amen to that!

    • Yes, that is one of my most favorite scriptures and I almost added it to this post. 🙂 I’ve often thought that “Bridge” is a perfect picture of the Lord, too. Glad to know I’m not alone in “tweaking these songs.” I’ve often felt the Lord strongly in everyday concerts…there in the music…moving in the ones doing the singing… Wonderful to know He is not limited to just “Christian” music… :)but the creator of all that is lovely.

  4. cathy says:

    This is beautiful Pam. The Easter Lilies are truly amazing. I can smell their sweet scent. God is the one true love who will never let us down.

  5. Thanks, Cathy. So true!

    Yes, I love this photo of the lillies too…so pretty against the blue of the sky…

  6. Like a Bridge Over Troubled Water…….There are three of us….. I love this song and I dedicate it to the Lord. I picture the cross of Jesus laid down across a river, we cross over it to salvation. A bridge to heaven.

    Yes, Pam and Diane. Thanks for reminding me.

    The Easter Lilies and the other kinds of Lilies are my favorite flowers…… They are rare here in the Philippines… because it grows only in colder parts…. like in the mountains. Therefore, it is expensive. I like to look at how its petals look up to the sun, as in Praise to the Lord.

    • Lolita, I love how the petals curl up, and how they look like trumpets! 🙂

      Have you ever heard the popular song, “Have I told you lately?” It’s played on radio a lot… It’s usually recorded as a love song, but the other day I heard the DJ explain that it was originally written as a prayer. I think the writer (Morrison) has celtic background… not sure of his faith, but I found that interesting, because this song is another that has always made me feel that way too…

      Have I told you lately that I love you
      Have I told you there’s no one above you
      Fill my heart with gladness
      Take away my sadness
      Ease my troubles, that’s what you do

      Oh the morning sun in all its glory
      Greets the day with hope and comfort too
      And you fill my life with laughter…

      There’s a love that’s divine
      And it’s yours and it’s mine
      Like the sun
      At the end of the day
      We should give thanks and pray to the One…

  7. Lynn Morrissey says:

    Lolita, I can’t believe you mentioned Bridge Over Troubled Waters! I LOVE that song. Once I was asked to sing it (of all things!) at a wedding, which, admittedly, I found to be most peculiar! But I have often sung it here at home and sing, “Like a bridge over troubled water, Jesus laid Himself down.” The song takes on a whole new meaning. Interestingly, we are friends with Art Garfunkel’s former wife, and we just love her. So this is another reason the song is especially meaningful to me. God has so many ways of speaking to us, if we’ll but open our ears and eyes! I wrote different lyrics for My Funny Valentine, and these are written for the Lord. (I changed the word “funny” to “faithful.”) Of course, I understand copyright. So this is simply just for me to sing here at home. But it was very meaningful to me. I always love seeing your beautiful smiling faces with your posts!
    Love
    Lynni

  8. Lynn Morrissey says:

    Pam, yet another beautiful post of yours! However do you think of them all?! You and I have spoken before of song lyrics. It is so serendipitous that you should write about this subject today. Literally minutes ago, I sent you an email directing you to the blog Sing a New Song. On the post right before the blogger’s latest, I wrote for her the words of Alladin’s “A Whole New World,” as a means of encouragement. God has used those lyrics to speak to me of the adventure He has in store for me. Yes, they are secular, and they were not intended by the lyricist to be used in this way, but God often uses lyrics, poetry, etc. to speak to us. They are not revelatory like His Word or inerrant (!) or meant to replace His Word, but still He uses them. Anyway, I loved your post and am glad you shared this!

    • Yes, I love how God inspires us this way – in all kinds of music. One of the stories I love is how the writer of the Christmas song from Meet Me In St. Louis later became a believer and changed the wording from “If the fates allow” to “faith allows,” and other similar changes. No, it is not His inerrant word, but if it agrees with it then we can know it is His voice. 🙂 Thank you, Lynn. I’m glad this blessed you today! And I love that you adapted words to My Funny Valentine – one of my most favorite pieces of music!!

      • Lynn Morrissey says:

        Pam, I love your response and simply couldn’t believe it when you referenced Hugh Martin, composer and lyricist for “Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas,” the nostalgic song from the movie, “Meet Me in St. Louis”!!! This is one of my all-time favorite songs! I often sing it at Christmas time at my women’s Christmas luncheon–or we all join in together. Yes, Hugh Martin did become a Christian after the Hollywood scene had left him addicted to drugs and alcohol. I believe he met the Lord in a hospital chapel when he was drying out. From that time forward, in great thanksgiving to God, he tried to redeem his songs for the Savior. One was “Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas,” whose words and lyrics he changed to “Have Yourself a Blessed Little Christmas.” When I learned of Mr. Martin’s conversion, I emailed him and was stunned to receive a beautiful email from him, which I include here for you and your readers. Among other things, I said that I had heard that Hollywood directors made him write “If the fates allow,” and I thought that he had originally written it to read, “If the Lord allows.” I presumed that they had made him change it. You will see, however, from his response, that I didn’t have the line quite right., and apparently they didn’t *make* him write it. It’s what he had written orginally before he was saved. I also told him that I was looking high and low for the new lyrics and couldn’t find the newly published music anywhere. He asked for my address, and within days, I had a copy of “Blessed,” personally autographed by Mr. Martin hiimself, along with his writing out the first line of the music by hand on the cover! It is one of my dearest treasures. He passed away not long afterward at age 96. He was an incredible man and a perfect example of one miraculously redeemed by Christ, who was determined to live his remaining days in abandon to Him. I rejoice that we will one day meet and sing not only of blessed little Christmases, but blessed Easters, and blessed eternity!! Here is what he wrote to me, followed by his accompanying soloist, Del Delker, singing the newly redeemed song. Enjoy!
        Love
        Lynn
        Thursday, 2/5/09
        Dear Lynn Morrissey,
        At 94, I’m not able to answer my mail anymore, but I had to make an exception for yours, because it was so dear!
        I was thrilled that you think I’m a good witness for the Lord, but judging from your beautiful letter, it sounds to me as if you are a much better one.
        You say, “I took the liberty of changing the line……’ if the fates allow.'” You’ll be happy to hear that I did the same thing. When I wrote the song in 1944, I was not a Christian, hence the offending lyric. After I was born again, I changed it differently than you did so that it would rhyme with the last line: “have yourself a merry little Christmas now.” So my line reads, “Should the Lord allow,” as I have indicated in the sheet music which I will mail to you if you will tell me your address.
        Thank you again for your terrific letter and for all the fabulous things you are doing for the Lord.
        Yours in Christ,
        Hugh Martin

        http://www.youtube.com/WzIJjaW5F4

      • What a beautiful treasure, Lynn. You are blessed to have received such a message from him. I changed the youtube to just the address, because I don’t know how much room that takes up on here. But it is truly lovely. I love how he changed the song into a true praise. God really does make our world a small one, doesn’t he? And yes, one day, you will meet at the river… Thanks for sharing this. I have a special love for stories like this one!

  9. Beth says:

    “God is there in all that is lovely, beautiful…and yes, even in the romantic. Most especially in music.” Lovely!
    Your post warmed my heart today.

  10. Lynn Morrissey says:

    Perfect Pam about the link. I thought that is all that I was including, and the whole thing popped up. Sorry about that. Hope you enjoy hearing Mr. Martin, himself, playing!

  11. Pingback: More than just another song… | Writing… Apples of Gold

Leave a Reply

