Emerald Legacy

As I’ve been writing this series of posts this week, I’ve been thinking of another incredible movie scene that has long stayed in my mind.

Child actress, Patty Duke, as the young Helen Keller… wildly fighting, fighting, fighting against the tyranny that seems all around her as teacher Annie Sullivan (played by Anne Bancroft) forces flying fingers once more into her palm.  And the sudden stillness…       prison door-opening awareness…that flashes like a sun ray bursting through, setting her face aglow…as she finally understands Annie’s code message.  Love…placed there as star of wonder in her hand… it’s radiance illuminating so many no longer-pent-up words expressed over and into her soul!

“More, more, more!” her enlightened spirit groans with oh so exuberant joy then!  Living water and words gushing into her life…and forevermore out of her heart…for all who will  hear…

And how I’ve often thought about looking up her books in the library (and still  need to!), because I know she had luminescent insights in her emerald heart.  Utterly shut out from the world’s sunlight and music, she knew the light and symphony of the Holy Spirit so fine-tuned in her spirit.  And His majesty and Heart burst forth from her words to us – much as that water revelation flowed over her hands and unlocked her need and ability to share.

Once I knew only darkness and stillness… my life was without past or future… but a little word from the fingers of another fell into my hand that clutched at emptiness, and my heart leaped to the rapture of living.

~ Helen Keller

Googling her name for quotes, I found some royal beauties that bloom and spill from her fingers like petals gently falling…for you…for me… A garden of emerald*  (If you are new to this series, please click here – Emerald 🙂 – to read the background connotation to this word),  and hope-giving legacy from her heart.  I can only imagine her gasp of joy, the humble wonder in her spirit, the first time she beheld the radiant gardens of heaven and He said to her, “Well done good and faithful servant…”

As you meander by below, take time to breathe in the fragrance of each one of her cultivated blooms here…  a little Helen Keller emerald for this Saturday in June…

It’s wonderful to climb the liquid mountains of the sky. Behind me and before me is God and I have no fears.

  Keep your face to the sunshine and you cannot see a shadow.

   Faith is the strength by which a shattered world shall emerge into the light.

    Knowledge is love and light and vision.

I can see, and that is why I can be happy, in what you call the dark, but which to me is golden. I can see a God-made world, not a man-made world.

  I long to accomplish a great and noble task, but it is my chief duty to accomplish small tasks as if they were great and noble.

Literature is my Utopia. Here I am not disenfranchised. No barrier of the senses shuts me out from the sweet, gracious discourses of my book friends. They talk to me without embarrassment or awkwardness.

  Love is like a beautiful flower which I may not touch, but whose fragrance makes the garden a place of delight just the same.

No pessimist ever discovered the secret of the stars, or sailed to an uncharted land, or opened a new doorway for the human spirit.

  Many people know so little about what is beyond their short range of experience. They look within themselves – and find nothing! Therefore they conclude that there is nothing outside themselves either.

It is wonderful how much time good people spend fighting the devil. If they would only expend the same amount of energy loving their fellow men, the devil would die in his own tracks of ennui. (I know the pronunciation, but was unsure of the meaning: Ennui… the feeling of weariness and dissatisfaction)

  One can never consent to creep when one feels an impulse to soar.

Smell is a potent wizard that transports you across thousands of miles and all the years you have lived.

   So long as the memory of certain beloved friends lives in my heart, I shall say that life is good.

  The best and most beautiful things in the world cannot be seen or even touched – they must be felt with the heart.

    Unless we form the habit of going to the Bible in bright moments as well as in trouble, we cannot fully respond to its consolations because we lack equilibrium between light and darkness.

  Walking with a friend in the dark is better than walking alone in the light.

   What we have once enjoyed we can never lose. All that we love deeply becomes a part of us.

When we do the best that we can, we never know what miracle is wrought in our life, or in the life of another.

~ Helen Keller

.

decorative line

“Every lap we run with integrity [in life] makes a difference, matters to God…and opens a door to the next generation.” 

~ Phil Munsey

Today, I’m grateful for Helen’s legacy of words and thought …                         emerald, to my heart.

She reminds me we have all come out of a world of dark, when taking His ever-outstretched Hand and stepping into His light…

Does one or more of her words speak something lovely or timely to you?

© Pam Depoyan

I’d like to link this post today to The Other Side Of The Mountain at Claire’s Tea Party.  For her lovely thoughts seem interwoven with this idea of an emerald legacy… Go over and sip of her spirit-warming tea!  🙂

.

.*********

shooting happy star pinkYOUR COMMENTS BLESS ME!  🙂                                                                                            Having difficulty logging in to make a comment? 

tiny gold starWordPress is updating their commenting system and  sent me the following information to help:

tiny gold starNow, if someone tries to comment with an email address attached to a WordPress.com account, they’ll need to sign into WordPress.com before they can comment.

tiny gold starIf a commenter can’t remember their WordPress.com credentials, they can reset their password by entering their email address here:

http://wordpress.com/wp-login.php?action=lostpassword

…THANK YOU…

About Pam@Writing...Apples of Gold

I love to hear your thoughts, even chat back and forth amongst comments.Won't you join the conversation? :) ..................................................................................................................... May my stories refresh you, like a whisper from our Father's Heart !
This entry was posted in Inspirational, Reflections, Wonder Moments, Words Matter and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Emerald Legacy

  1. Claire left me an email comment. I’ve copied it here:

    ‘I can see, and that is why I can be happy, in what you call the dark, but which to me is golden. I can see a God-made world, not a man-made world.’

    Pam, everything finds its beauty here to me. Whatever we experience in this life, only when it is transformed, God-made, can it become meaningful and good.

    ‘And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose.’ Romans 8v28, NIV

    Love to you my writer friend!

    Claire Vorster
    Freelance Writer

    • Yes, there is so much beauty in Helen Keller’s words. I’m amazed at how she was able to create such imagery. Truth and light in her heart, for sure. Thank you, Claire for your beautiful words here and on your blog too. 🙂 Love to you, too!

  2. lolitavalle says:

    ……. gasp, and to mine too, Pam. Emerald whispered by the flowers beside them.

    Thank you, Pam, blessings and all….. my heart is full to the brim….. emeralds, sunshine and fresh breath of air. Huhuhummmmm…….Praise you, dear Lord, for all of those.

  3. So glad, Lolita! Yes it is so amazing that someone who was blind and deaf could “see” and “hear” so much and somehow express it so beautifully. Her words are like a breath of fresh air. It touches me how deeply the Lord spoke into her and through her. From what I remember, she wasn’t born deaf and blind, but some illness or accident caused it when she was quite young.

    • lolitavalle says:

      One thing else, Pam. It is just amazing that my little post for the weekend was about how a flower can whisper beauty even in its time to bloom, to wilt and to fall. I know this an emerald thought. So I made a little picture editing about it. I just added the quote in a flower picture and posted it with a link to Ms. Laura’s Wellspring blog “The Flower Remembers” and to your Emerald post.

      Your emeralds has inspired me so.

      P.S.
      I remember now that I opened a WordPress account even without a blog to publish that
      picture beside my replies. It has then made my comments on the fast lane.

Leave a Reply

