Prayer Corner

I will give them a heart to know me, that I am the Lord.  

They will be my people, and I will be their God, for they will return to me with all their heart.  

~ Jeremiah 24:7

.

Royalty-Free Vector Clip Art Illustration of a Border Of Two Blue Butterflies And Black Lines by elena

.

stock photo : three horses grazing on a meadow in high noon sunlight, wide-angle view with lens flareSeveral years ago, I was deeply struck by the Mel Gibson film, “The Man Without A Face,” the story of a severely-burned and disfigured professor (Gibson) hiding away in a coastal town — and the tender mentorship that grows into a surrogate dad/son bond between Gibson and a lonely boy, beautifully…perceptively… played by a new young actor named Nick Stahl.  I’ve seen Stahl’s name appear on credits in ensuing years, though I’ve never followed his career.  Just always remembered him from “Without A Face”…  And how I also remember praying for him back then, so larger-than-life on the big screen, but recognizing a vulnerable young man, still but a boy in a man’s world.  That God would keep and lead him

That’s something I’ve found myself doing since childhood… praying for the actors while I’m watching their performances.  Especially child actors, because I know it’s often a tough road for them.  Somehow always having a heart for those in Hollywood…

That’s why an Internet news headline leapt out at me a few weeks ago…catching me.

Actor Nick Stahl, missing, foul play feared.

I clicked and read the back story.  Estranged from his wife and retaining supervised visits with his baby daughter, Mr. Stahl…now in his thirties… had been missing for a few days.  His wife had reported it…fearing for his safety… knowing his ongoing struggle with addictions.

Oohhh….  I breathed, sorrowfully.  In my mind I saw his expressive young face in Gibson’s film.  And the face of another young man personally close to my heart who was lost to that drug world years ago.   Lord, keep Nick safe, I instinctively began praying.  You know where he is.

He tends to hang out sometimes in skid row… his wife said, imploring police to check there.  But the numbers there are too vast…

Lead him to You and to help, Lord…

Then… days later… the news reported he had contacted his wife by e-mail, apologized for worrying those who love him, confided that he has placed himself in rehab for thirty days without contact. 

Knowing the changing heart struggle in these situations, I pray that is true.

And I thought of this little corner of prayer.  Will you join me in praying for the following today?

 

 

  • Father, be with Nick Stahl, wherever he is right now.  So much brokenness.  So much keeping him bound.  Thank you that he is reaching for help.  Hold him close and snap those chains off of him forever now, O Lord, setting him free from each and every addiction, from depression.  Completely deliver him from whatever sorrow or self loathing or abuse or deep insecurities may have led him to this path and pour the light of your love over him and his family.  I pray the promise of Jeremiah 24:7 and Ephesians 3:14-20… that he will know You… and the depth, height, breadth of your Love for him.  Restore his marriage, his family, and the life You created him to know.  Tenderize his heart with love overflowing for You beyond his imagination, and a knowing that You will never let him go.  Keep him and protect him, and send Your ministering holy angels to stand guard around him and his family.  Send friends to him who will support and strengthen him in You…
  • Lord, I also want to lift M. to You…  Another young man who needs Your wisdom, Your discernment in his life, especially as he forms his core friendships.  His mom confided her deeply felt prayers for his safety in You, protection from making alliances that could lead him away from You.  Her concerns are Yours Lord, I know.  They are justified and led by You.  And I stand with her in prayer… drawing a circle of Your light, Your life, Your blood protection all around him.  Deepen his heart in You, O Lord… with Jeremiah 24:7 as Your shield around him…in every choice and path he takes.  Surround him with those who know and love You, establishing his closest friends in a bond of Your love.  And give his mom peace to know… he is in the circle of Your care…and You will lead his heart along Your paths.

No evil shall befall you, nor shall any plague come near your dwelling; for He shall give His angels charge over you, to keep you in all your ways.

Psalm 91:10–11

Do you have someone or something you are praying for today?  Leave a comment so we may join with you too!

.

About Pam@Writing...Apples of Gold

I love to hear your thoughts, even chat back and forth amongst comments.Won't you join the conversation? :) ..................................................................................................................... May my stories refresh you, like a whisper from our Father's Heart !
This entry was posted in Prayer Corner. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Prayer Corner

  1. Martha Herden says:

    Pam-
    A beautiful prayer for two young men-probably MANY young men lost to a world they thought held such promise for them-but the world can be hard and cruel and obviously here are two men caught in the midst of sadly realizing they have lost hope and think the only comfort can be found by numbing their hurt. Your prayer says it all and goes beyond these two men-all we need do is join in briefly and ask the Lord “Here these words of Prayer for all who are lost-help them find the courage to stretch their hand out and realize, YOU are there-waiting to take them and hold them in the sweetest embrace one could ever dream of!

    A moving post Pam-I know the Lord is listening as we all say our own words of Prayer. Thank you for sharing this with us.

    Martha

    • Thank you, Martha… Your words are moving as well. Yes… may they know the “sweetest embrace one could ever dream of!” And may the Lord establish their friendships and lives in Him, with His love as their guard around their hearts.

  2. Diane says:

    Standing with you in faith, Pam! I just read a story over on Tell Me a Story and someone asked for prayer for a loved one. I replied for them to come here!

  3. Mary says:

    I love your tender heart and powerful gift of prayer, Pam. I join you in these because I know God can do above and beyond what we can imagine or think. My request is for my SIL, Bonnie, on an anniversary trip in Vegas when she was rushed to surgery for a ruptured brain aneurysm. Her CAT Scan came back normal. My brother Denny and their kids await change as they stand near her in the hospital. Praying for a miracle. The whole family needs the healing and wholeness that Jesus provides in His gift of salvation to us.

    • Thank you, Mary… for your kind words and for your request. I will lift up your sister in law and I know other commenters here will as well! Yes, God can do above and beyond what we imagine 🙂 Praise God her CAT Scan is normal.

      Lord, pour out your healing on Bonnie, repairing all damage and restoring her to total health. Give her doctors wisdom, guide their hands and decisions. And enfold Denny and the kids…everyone concerned… in your peace that surpasses all understanding. We lift Bonnie up in your promises that you are risen with healing in your wings for her, she is healed by your wounds… You are her Jehovah Rapha. Thank you for Mary’s intercessory heart of prayer. And the promise that you yourself send your word of healing to her (Psalm 107:20) Thank you that nothing is impossible with You! May she walk away from that hospital, whole in You, with no residual problems whatsoever, in Your holy Name, Jesus.

  4. lolitavalle says:

    I’ll be going back to offer my prayer up to the heavens for these people lifted up here, Pam and the other intercessors.

    I promise to bring them up….. at noon today.

  5. ljbmom says:

    What a lovely heart you have, Pam. I will join you in praying for this young man. Oh, that he might come to know the owner that can save–if he doesnt already. Praying for your M too.

  6. Thank you for joining in the prayer, Laura! I couldn’t get him off my mind and I know the Lord will use prayer. Mary left a request above too, if you’d like to join in on that too …

    The same compliment to you 🙂

  7. Pam, you have such a tender, lovely heart. It’s really a privilege to know you. I am hoping my comment goes through. It looks as though your problem is corrected. I got your email. Thank you for helping us think about people for the souls they are, not just a pretty face on a screen.

  8. Yes! Your comment got through! 🙂

    Thank you, Shelly… I feel the same about you. Your words at your site show how He makes you a tree rooted by His stream of life. Beauty that shines…

Leave a Reply

