A Wink and A Smile

“We go together like a wink and a smile...” 

~ Harry Connick Jr.

Remember this endearing song from the film, Sleepless in Seattle?

Though written in recent years, it’s Harry Connick, mellow-Sinatrasound reminds me of a sweet standard from the 1940′s.  Music from the classic old movie era I love… especially for it’s tenderness that speaks to a time when people seemed more heart-connected.  A time of genuine courtships and gentility, walking arm in arm, thinking of the other person first.

It brings to mind friends of mine who have a lovely way of sending a wink that makes you feel…warmed.  I haven’t mastered that charming skill, but wish I could.

It might represent a sign of a moment shared…just between us.  Words conveyed only with the eyes.  A nod of encouragement… or a hug sent across the room.

Old fashioned?  Maybe.  But lovely in a way that just doesn’t go out of style.

A little sign between two that can make someone feel… in your circle of close friends.  I even had a supervisor once who used it to convey a silent, “Good job!”

A few years ago, I read a book of true stories relating life’s little extraordinary moments that the author – SQuire Rushnell – describes as God’s winks to us.  We often attribute these “winks” to chance or coincidence, he says, and he encourages readers to look for God’s personalized encouragement in them.

When God Winks at You: How God Speaks Directly to You Through the Power of Coincidence

Rushnell defines God-winks in this way:

“Think about when you were a kid and someone you loved gave you a little wink across the dining room table…Mom or Dad or Grandma. You didn’t say, ‘What do you mean by that?’ You knew. It meant: ‘Hey kid, I’m thinking about you right now.’  That’s what a God-wink is too: a message of reassurance from above, directly to you, out of six billion people on the planet, saying, ‘I’m thinking of you! Keep the faith! You’re never alone.’”

Some of his stories are about celebrities, others about ordinary people.  All in everyday moments.

It makes me think of days like the one I wrote about recently – Joy in the Mystery – when an unexpected, unexplained gift appeared at my doorstep, like an anonymous “I’m thinking of you” answer to my very thoughts.

Or the time a man that could only have been an angel came out of nowhere with perfect timing, then simply vanished, after speaking exactly the step-by-step directions my frightened high school friend needed in a moment of crisis. I wrote about that here:  Carol of the Belles.

It might be as simple as someone generously waving you ahead of them in a long line, not even aware how you’re under extreme time-crunch; or sunlight breaking through clouds to jete heart-lifting patterns across your wall.  Or as wondrous as an unexpected check in the mail for the exact amount needed to pay a bill,  or a bag of groceries left on your porch, when funds are low and you don’t know where you will get your next dollar.

I think of God-arranged moments when I’ve met someone I could never have met otherwise.  Or been in the right place at the right time.  One minute either way, and I would have missed something breathtaking.

God…reaching down and letting us know… you are NOT invisible to Me.  I love you.  I’m thinking about you.  I hear you. 

The other afternoon, as I stepped out from my temporary work office to lunch in the rain-washed sunshine, I was walking towards my car when I saw it.  A wet leaf flattened at my feet, beside my car door…in the perfect shape of a heart.  With it’s graceful stem curled above it, it looked just like a valentine fallen gently to the ground. I found myself grinning at how He’s written love even into a leaf, and how He blew one there…just for me. A wink and a smile from above.

Have you received a God-wink lately?  I want to share more of them here in days to come…and welcome hearing your stories too!  Too often we can find ourselves sinking into sadness…feeling alone… world-weary of pain…wondering if God even sees us.

I am ALWAYS thinking of you… He tells us in the Psalms.

And  I wonder… How often does He hand-write one special delivery note sent just to youjust to me… only to find them go unnoticed?  Or worse, blown off as coincidence.

Let us look for them expectantly from the Father who knows and cares about our every thought… intimately.  I have a feeling we just may find they are numerous as the stars.

Outline Happy Little Star

 

©  Pam Depoyan

.

     Linking with Emily Wierenga at Imperfect Prose with the prompt: Encourage.

 

 

About Pam@Writing...Apples of Gold

I love to hear your thoughts, even chat back and forth amongst comments.Won't you join the conversation? :) ..................................................................................................................... May my stories refresh you, like a whisper from our Father's Heart !
This entry was posted in God Do You See Me and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to A Wink and A Smile

  1. Pam-
    This brought a very special memory up for me-a man from our church whose wife passed suddenly-we knew each other by name and face, but no real friendship had formed. This place we call “Home” is located right behind our church, one hot day I glanced out my window, stunned to see this elderly man, ignoring the heat beating down on him and mowing the grass near the church. Everyone knew this-people complimented him for his work, but when his wife passed, it seemed as if people stepped away-feeling lost as to what words of comfort they might offer and left him with his grief.

    For whatever reason, I filled two glasses with cold Ice Tea, hopped on my old Golf Cart, and arrived to see him standing under a shade tree, exhaustion written all over him as he gave a gentle smile and tried to “wave me off” but I persisted. Perhaps it was the Ice Tea that looked so inviting to him-and slowly he walked toward me, as I invited him to “Sit a Spell, its okay to take a rest from mowing, Sure is Hot today, Isn’t it!”

    He remained silent as the Glass of Tea began to empty and I braved the “Valley Of Grief” to speak with him-“Marvin-how are you doing? I have No idea how much you must miss your precious Wife, but I want you to know how much I care and my heart aches for the Pain you are going through!” Tears flowed and nothing would stop them, I sat quietly, patting his shoulder and silently praying for his pain.

    We sat still, both glasses were empty and he slowly turned to me, giving me a Smile that I shall never forget- “Martha-you are the First person to not be Afraid to talk with me about my Wife! God Bless you-I miss her so bad, it feels like I will never get over it!”

    At that split second, our friendship was formed and it grew to be a Gift sent from Above. Each time He saw me in church, I got that SMILE-each time. Our family grew so close to him and he made sure to drop by on his Birthday, spending time with us-sharing himself and loving us with such a heart! He has passed on-but I can pause and “See” Marvin Smiling at Me!

    A beautiful friendship-started by a Glass of Ice Tea. Marvin will always be with me.

    Thank you Pam for letting me share this with you. Martha Herden

    • Thank you again for another beautiful story, Martha! I think this is another one you should write about on your blog, because lifting one another’s pain is such a blessing and a gift. I think you were God’s “wink and a smile” to this man…and he, back to you… not only on that day…but on all the rest of your days of friendship. (And even now, as nothing separates his face from your memory, in God…) It does seem like we can too often hold back in those situations… not knowing what to say. But God gave you the perfect words. So Beautiful. You make me teary-eyed…but in a good way, Martha! 🙂 Bless you for your compassionate heart.

    • Diane says:

      Martha, when my mother passed away when I was 19, her name nor her life was ever mentioned again by anyone – not family, family friends, church family. As if she had never existed. To this day that angers me.

      • Diane, I think that was one thing that touched me in your recent story about reuniting with your childhood friend… and how her mother thought about your mom as her close friend. Your mother’s name has never been forgotten by the one who loves her most, and I have a feeling that friend never forgot her either. And most of all, He has turned your life to shine from pain, and in a way that reflects on your mother’s “name” too.

  2. MaryLou says:

    Hi Pam, your story of the heart shaped leaf reminds me of when I have found heart shaped rocks on the beach. These are so amazing to me and I always seem to find them just when I need something special. To me each of these are treasures sent from above from God to let me know that He does love me and is thinking about me. Thank you again for all that you share. 🙂

  3. I love that, Marylou! I don’t think I’ve ever seen a heart shaped rock before. Except if it’s been cut that way for jewelry or something. Yes, that IS a treasure I think He left for you to find. Thanks for sharing that! You are so blessed to be by the sea.

  4. Pam, this is so lovely. And you know, I have had many God winks and I just can’t think of any specific one right now. But truly, I feel like they happen daily with a word of encouragement, an open door. I need to be better about documenting them. Someone gave me that book because they loved it so much. Thanks for making me think. Hope you had a nice weekend.

    • Thanks, Shelly. I read one of his books… though not the one pictured here. It wasn’t so much the stories that struck me about that book (I don’t recall any in particular), but the message of looking for God-winks stayed with me. Yes, I know what you mean… I want to be more aware and keep them documented too – at least in my memory. I agree, they must happen so many more times than I notice in day to day life! I keep trying to think if I’ve ever had one of those “Guideposts, His Mysterious Ways” type of incidents, and think surely I must have…been asking Him to bring it back to me if I have. 🙂 Not that I’m looking for extraordinary all the time, but remembering those moments helps lift us up when tough moments come, like “memorial stones” in the Old Testament, don’t they? Thanks, hope your weekend was nice too!

  5. lolitavalle says:

    Yes, I found some God winks a few months ago. They were in a box from my COF. Everytime I look at my “Thinking of You” carved willow tree angel, my heart goes and my thoughts goes to the sender and how she encourages me; a little book about friendship, I think of how our friendship has blossomed as though we’ve known each other for so long that we can share prayers across the oceans; then a crucifix would send me over to Texas to pray for my Texan courageous Gal.

    Then I would think of the beautiful thin-line Bible my brother brought me and many more He bestowed me over the years from the Land of Milk and Honey.

    In the early mornings too, when the world is asleep until the chirping is heard…. I can see and hear my Savior’s grace and the Father’s love.

    Thanks for this, Pam, by pushing us to reflect and find those stars, we might have ignored.

  6. lolitavalle says:

    Pam, I will come back. I posted a comment but it did not post. One of these day! A glitch with our connections, maybe.

  7. lolitavalle says:

    That is the one up there. Thank God, that it surfaced. I thought I lost it and I sometimes race to the speed of words pouring from my mind. I hit the post comment key because if I reread and rewrite……. it will no longer be the same. (Typos and all)

    Thank you.

  8. Hummingbirds. I’ve always thought of hummingbirds as love notes from my Father to me, a flash of whimsy sent just when I need to know He is with me. Now I’m thinking of maybe referring to them as winks. I like that. 🙂

    • Hummingbird winks 🙂 I don’t see them that often, but they are beauties. I saw one that looked dressed in a tuxedo to me, once. Another example of our Master Artist. Love that He makes them love notes for you. Thanks for sharing that Nancy.

  9. I’m visiting from Em’s place today. What a lovely image, of God our Father, encouraging us with a wink. Sometimes we wait for some big sign, but your perspective helps me look for the small nudges. Thank you for this today! So glad you shared!

    • I’m so glad it lifted you up, Brenna! I was just going through old posts to see which one might fit to link up there. I love that image too. There is just something so warm and tender about a lovely kind of wink… May you find some today!

  10. oh, Pam. this really touches my heart.
    i look up on moments like you’ve described, too, but had never thought about them as *winks* from God before. just beautiful. reminds me of my endearing mil who always winks at me when we connect in a special way. thank you for this. so well done.

Leave a Reply

