A Wedding Album: Photo in Words (1)

.

Once beautiful music has filled a room, it never leaves.

~ Dorothy Cooper

Neither do gossamer memories of beaded-white pearl, once they fill your mind.  The eye, your camera; the heart, an album where love resides.

~ Me

Though out of order, I think I will share a reception “photo” with you first…

Glass slipper - Illustration of an original glass slipper...  …For one of the loveliest came as though on glass-slipper-tiptoe that Cinderella night, rich elegance into the velvety band music… almost reluctantly… though secretly planned with joyful anticipation for weeks…

A bit intimidated by the professionals all round, then, a brave intake of breath…and —

Fourteen year-old Cait* stepped lightly in her white sandal slippers and satiny bridesmaid gown, hints of blue in its soft yellowy-green folds…across the gleaming wood dance floor…to the forefront of the musician ensemble.  Casting her eyes down to the instrument in her hands, entering heart into music, she bestowed her gift to her cousin bride… and all of us…

Saxophone-mellow tones of My Funny Valentine floated out from her fingers, her breath…

Like champagne bubbles… into the very air around us…circling, shimmering, mesmerizing, melting… gold!… to catch hearts…

Anne Marie, I willed in thought… you and Neil should be dancing

Then…A whisper from the bride’s mom, Anne Marie moving towards her new groom, hand-in-hand gliding to the floor…  Her eyes and smile upturned to his, mirroring the rapture waltzing on air all around them… starring my own…

Cait, putting her whole body into the song, eyes still closed… pouring forth a gift of enchantment on diaphanous wings…

To embrace the bride and groom, twirl a moment like a sweet breeze through the ballroom…

And waltz warm…tender…and I think…take its place forever, there in that loveliest of many-windowed rooms…

Where romance and stars tingled over us all…

And spoke to me like a sweet foreshadow

of one-Starry-Night-and-Wedding-Feast-dance yet to come

to each of us, whom He’s calling (just waiting for our personal      I do)to be His Beloved Bride

And how…maybe, on that night… we will each take a turn in entering our hearts into music glory, bestowing our own gifts of glimmering song joy… when He places the crown of His Love on us…forever.

.

.

The last notes melting away… Cait lifted her sax once more to The Way You Look Tonight…

…More musical champagne…

And my eyes snapped a gossamer memory photo… encompassing

A ballroom of white-clothed round tables and crystal spilling over their tall bouquets of  delphinium tanzanite,  Irish bell emerald, and fern lace…

A dark-haired beauty and her handsome prince…

And lovely Cait, titian-red hair pulled back in sweet chignon-style curl —  an oh-so-unique-and-tender part of setting His seal on this night of celebration love, with her gift beyond measure.

Like a signet ring.   Given and marked, especially for two…yet spilling over to many…this starry, starry night.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~.

©  Pam Depoyan

…and I will make you like my signet ring, for I have chosen you,’ declares the LORD Almighty.”  ~  Haggai 2:23

Wedding first dance

As another blogger reminded me recently, God’s romance is all around us… even in leaves shimmering in the sunlight.  Weddings always make me see that side of His heart.  What speaks of His romance to you?

Image result for free saxophone image

* And for those of you who may be wondering,

Yes, this is Cait, with a C  😉

(See interviews, under categories, on the right – to read more of her story.)

Linking with Lisa-Jo for Five Minute Friday with the one word prompt: Dance.  Because even though I can’t quite say I followed her prompt, it comes as a confirmation to His prompting me on this same theme…  🙂

About Pam@Writing...Apples of Gold

I love to hear your thoughts, even chat back and forth amongst comments.Won't you join the conversation? :) ..................................................................................................................... May my stories refresh you, like a whisper from our Father's Heart !
This entry was posted in Wonder Moments and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

40 Responses to A Wedding Album: Photo in Words (1)

  1. Diane says:

    Wow…romance at its best….whisking me away…

    What speaks His romance to me? Hhmmm….

    Everything and anything in Nature; and our quiet times together, listening for His intimate Voice to whisper my name; and worship – “Romance Me, Oh Lover of my soul to the Song of all songs…”

  2. lolitavalle says:

    Pam, I had to go back to the interviews and stories about Cait before coming back here.

    She is such a beautiful person, even for one so young. Such a versatile lovely thing, she is…. and has a strong foundation of values too.

    And she plays the Sax? That is amazing! It has been said that Saxophone is the most romantic instrument. I think, I would agree…… it sends us echelons higher….. towards the heavens, when played with love and sentiments.

    Yes, towards that wedding day in the clouds, at the Banquet. This leads us to imagine what is going to come. The Bride, meeting the Bridegroom, in all His grandeur the Bride….. in all radiance and finery.

    You really know how to send me to the highest, Pam. And I am confident they are God-breathed.

    • Thank you, Lolita… Cait, her siblings and cousins are all talented and beautiful in values and in Him. Yes, there is a mellow sound to the sax that just exudes warmth and romance. Nothing like music to carry us higher 🙂 Cait’s sister plays the oboe just as beautifully… Stories for another day 🙂

      • lolitavalle says:

        Yes, Pam….. stories for another day. I would await them with great anticipation. Blessed to know them (Cait, her siblings and cousins).

        I thank you for the connections/links to previous posts, I had not gone through as of yet.

  3. Bonjour, Pam! I just reread your email to me from last February, am praying for you and taking a lunch break from writing to read your blog. As always, you use words like poetry. Excited to follow your blog. Let me know if you would like to do a ‘giveaway’ of one of my novels on your blog. It would be my pleasure =)

    And yes, a dance with Jesus! At the wedding feast. Bliss.

    Blessings and keep writing, Elizabeth Musser

    • Bonjour, Elizabeth! What a delight to find you here! Thank you for your lovely words. They mean so much coming from one who writes with such poetry herself and encourage me more than you know… 🙂 I just finished reading your “Two Crosses” and “Two Testaments” and can’t WAIT to read the third. Little Ophelie especially gripped my heart and I plan to write a review soon.

      I’d love to do a giveaway… I’ll write you more on e-mail about that. You are in my prayers too… your update e-mail sounded like you have so much underway this year. His blessings on everything you put your hand to! Thank you for your prayers!

  4. Becky Daye says:

    Ah, I love the idea of presenting a photo in words. This was just lovely!!!

  5. Thanks for stopping by my 5 Minute Friday. I wanted to be sure to visit you back. How lovely! And to play the sax…I can’t imagine being there. I’m sure you were blown away! What a star you have. LOVE!

    • Thanks for stopping here, too, Kelly! Loved your special dance memory.
      Yes, it was a beautiful night made more beautiful by music and the gift of it from her heart. She is one of several lovely “stars” in her family 🙂

  6. Hi Pam,

    “Snapped a gossamer memory photo” — nice! Sounds like it was a special day too.

    Regarding your comments on my site, ahhh, someone else who likes to soak in the beauty of trees, leaves, and God’s world. Yes, it sinks deep into my spirit, that. 🙂 Thanks for stopping by, and seeing His beauty too.

    How are you? How is your week going?

    Jennifer Dougan
    http://www.jenniferdougan.com

    • Thanks, Jen!

      Yes, a beautiful day… and yes, I never get enough of soaking in the beauty He has created. Even the way sunlight comes inside at certain times a day and plays on the walls… 🙂 Deep into spirit, that’s a good description.

      Thanks for asking how I’m doing. Looking to the Lord for wisdom and direction in a lot of ways this week… How is your week going?

  7. Sharon says:

    So grateful to get to share a special moment of that beautiful wedding. Made me feel like I was there with all of you….so precious how God unites us. Love you, Sharon

    • Hi Sharon! I want to write more about the wedding… this was just the first word “photo.” I wish you could have been! 🙂 It was beautiful for so many reasons, but of course most of all for His light in and over it all. Thanks for leaving your words here…I’ll write you more on e-mail.

  8. Wow what beautiful imagery. Thanks for the reminder that God is romancing us in His beautiful creation.

  9. My daughter and I spent all day yesterday visiting with caterers to choose one for her wedding this fall. So this was an appropriate post for me to read today about wedding receptions. 🙂 Thanks for sharing!

    • Enjoy the planning with your daughter! Blessings to you all. Thanks for letting me know you enjoyed this one, Lisa! I just kept thinking yesterday that I should re-share this post (one of my favorites) for those who may not have seen it before. 🙂

  10. Lori @ Frog's Lilypad says:

    Pam, this was beautiful, I love knowing God wants to romance us. Thank you for linking up with Thankful Thursdays.

  11. Michelle says:

    I read twice! The beaus in this captures my heart.

  12. Michelle says:

    I’m going to try again…I read twice. The beauty in this captures my heart.

  13. Lux G. says:

    Timely as June as wedding month. 🙂
    God is the ultimate Author of romance.

  14. Pam – beautifully written and such poetic verse. I love how God wants to romance us and we often do not think about it in such a way. I always wanted to play the saxophone in school, but never did, yet I have always been drawn to the beautiful sounds it makes. your neighbor at #LetUsGrow

    • Thank you, Debbie. It is a lovely thought about God, isn’t it?

      I’ve never played any instruments but wish I’d learned piano. The young girl in this piece is proficient at both sax and piano… Yes, such beauty in it!

  15. Laura Thomas says:

    So beautiful… thanks for sharing your poetic musings and reminding us who created all the loveliness in life. My son plays the sax, and I know how incredibly moving that instrument can be. Sigh. God’s gift of music (and maybe sunsets and beaches and His Word) speak to me of His romance… 🙂 I’m your neighbour at Word of God Speak. Blessings!

  16. What a beautiful gift for the bride and groom. My love language is nature. He woos me softly by the cooing of the morning dove, the rustle of the cottonwood, the flutter of the red bird’s wings. Have a wonder-filled week, Pam!

  17. The beautiful world around us is a constant reminder, but I also try to remember that those of us who are married need to be aware that our marriages are to reflect His relationship with us.

    Blessings!

  18. Carol Cook says:

    Thanks for sharing with SYC.

  19. Thanks for sharing this at Booknificent Thursday on Mommynificent.com!
    Tina

  20. What a beautiful picture you painted of the wedding and of God’s heart for romance! And you’ve got me thinking of what speaks of romance to me…the fact that I have to think about this…hmmm, there might be a message there for me.

Leave a Reply

