Let the trumpets sing!

 

“Our God… we have no power to face this vast army that is attacking us. We do not know what to do, but our eyes are on you. ”

 Then the Spirit of the Lord… said: “Listen, King Jehoshaphat and all who live in Judah and Jerusalem! This is what the Lord says to you: ‘Do not be afraid or discouraged because of this vast army. For the battle is not yours, but God’s…. You will not have to fight this battle. Take up your positions; stand firm and see the deliverance the Lord will give you…

 Early in the morning… Jehoshaphat stood and said, “Listen to me, Judah and people of Jerusalem! Have faith in the Lord your God and you will be upheld… Jehoshaphat appointed men to sing to the Lord and to praise him for the splendor of his holiness… as they went out at the head of the army…saying:

“Give thanks to the Lord,
for his love endures forever.”

 As they began to sing and praise, the Lord set ambushes against the men..who were invading Judah, and they were defeated.

~ 2 Chronicles 20: 12 – 22

(bold, italics and ellipsis, mine)

O Lord, like Jehoshaphat, my eyes are on YOU…

His Sunday whisper to me… and maybe to you…

  Take up your instrument, your words, to sing of My majesty!  See what healing, deliverance and restoring redemption I will bring to defeat what comes against you…conquered there… in the midst of praise.

Linking with:

About Pam@Writing...Apples of Gold

I love to hear your thoughts, even chat back and forth amongst comments.Won't you join the conversation? :) ..................................................................................................................... May my stories refresh you, like a whisper from our Father's Heart !
This entry was posted in Sunday Community Devotions and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Let the trumpets sing!

  1. Oh yes, Pam. He is the one fighting the battle! I have had to focus on that so many times in these past few weeks. I should have had that at the forefront of my thoughts for the past year! I would have survived much better! What popped out at me as I read this Scripture again was that we are to approach the battle with praises for our Mighty God. Tucking that away in my heart.
    Your photo is great! Not only does it fit the Scripture perfectly but the quality is sharp and detailed!
    Hope to see you around again, friend.
    Blessings,
    Janis

    • Thanks, Janis! Actually, it isn’t my photo… just one I found that seemed to fit. I love it too. 🙂

      Yes, over and over again, God is reminding me to spend more time praising, because He tells us He is living in the midst of our praises, ready to do battle on our behalf. And that praise is actually one of the best “spiritual weapons” He gives us. I have had to keep re-focusing myself on that for this last year too, and again these last weeks… I have loved this passage ever since I came across it when interceding for someone else, and I saw God answer that prayer mightily. I love that He had Jehoshaphat put the singers right out front… and it wasn’t up to them, but to God in the midst of their singing.

      Please stop by again… I’ll check out your site some more, too. 🙂

  2. Diane says:

    Oh, Amen and Amen!

  3. Heather says:

    Awesome batch of Scripture with power and might and certainly the deliverance of God, HIS MUSCLE.

  4. lolitavalle says:

    Yes, so many battles, even in today’s subtle ones, are conquered by Praises and trumpets’ singing. Let the heavenly host fight our battles and lead them with singing and adoration to the one who fights our battles.

    All Glory belongs to Him, all power and might is His, and the victory ours!

    Thanks, Pam.

  5. This OT story is one of my favorites. He turned the right direction under pressure. I would like to be faithful doing the same. Worshiping, trusting, obeying HIM, instead of keeping my brain buzzing for positive warfare results. YES… TRUST HIM!

    • Trusting His word… yes, that’s what I want to do. I love the song Jamie Owens Collins sings based on this (I think she wrote it? She usually writes all the songs on her music) — “When the enemy comes in like a flood, my battle belongs to You!”

  6. Betty Draper says:

    They say the battle is the bloodest at the front…and our Lord fought that for us on the cross…so we can praise Him at our battle front knowing the victory is ours. Great post.

  7. Good morning, Pam! I like how the worship leaders are put at the front of the army battles. isn’t that true of any of our battles? Wow, if I lead my charge into the fray with worship…. hmmm.

    Thanks for your comment on my site. The book giveaway I had –It’s not just for parents either, this book, but for caregivers of all types. You mentioned your love for children and for writing for them. Is your writing mostly for a youth and children audience then? What do you like to write?

    Jennifer Dougan
    http://www.jenniferdougan.com

    • Hi Jen! Yes, I love that He says He inhabits our praise!

      Well, I’ve had mostly children’s writing published, but now with what I’m writing on the blog, I feel like I’m finding my niche in writing these inspirational stories and sending them out to editors too… I have ideas for encouraging children rolling around in my mind too. I love kids and want to write uplifting stories…

      Hope you are all feeling better! Love your writing too… Do you have other writing that you like to do?

  8. Pamela says:

    I’ve used this war tactic over and over. When the battle seems overwhelming, I send praises ahead. It is amazing what happens when we praise. Such an encouraging post!

  9. I don’t know how I’ve missed you in the link ups. This is a lovely reflection. Just wanted you to know I’m thinking of you and still praying.

    • Thank you so much, Shelly! I feel them.

      Sometimes it links with my first name, and then mostly with post titles… and since I don’t have my photo online, I guess you wouldn’t see them as easily as I do yours 🙂 But I’ve been linking up a lot lately…

      I was thinking this link up is mostly for writer-photographers, but thought I’d join in anyway… I love photography but don’t have a great camera and should take lessons on the finer points sometime.

  10. Pam, Thank you for the reminder that God is the same today as He was long ago. The same promises ring true for us that did for them.

    He is our true deliverer & protector. His Words speak life into us, that we may speak life into others.

Leave a Reply

