When stars are breaking through…

…how wide and long and high and deep is the love of Christ! 

~ Ephesians 3:18 (Exclamation, mine)

So wide and deep…that He is ALWAYS speaking to our hearts, no matter where we are, whatever we are doing… and by whatever means He chooses.

I love His unlimited sources.  Even those that may not officially bear His stamp, but always do in artistry…sublime Beauty and Truth… and impeccable timing.

    Pulling into the crowded parking lot by the post office the other afternoon, my mind a swirl with seeking His direction on my life…where I’m going from this moment in time…what He wants me to do…what is happening right now — the lush strains of Phantom of the Opera‘s “All I Ask of You” from my radio seemed to sing His heart-encouraging to me, through Barbara Streisand, in wrenching symphonic beauty…

No more talk of darkness,
Forget these wide-eyed fears
I’m here, nothing can harm you
my words will warm and calm you
Let me be your freedom,
let daylight dry your tears.
I’m here with you, beside you,
to guard you and to guide you…

Let me be your shelter
let me be your light
You’re safe, No one will find you
your fears are far behind you…

In her response to this one of LOVE, not so different from my own…

All I want is freedom,
a world with no more night
and you, always beside me, to hold me and to hide me…

And in His…so tenderly…

Then say you’ll share with me
one love, one lifetime
let me lead you from your solitude
Say you need me with you here, beside you…
anywhere you go, let me go too

  Through teary landscape then, I debated quickly – turn left…turn right, which parking space looks best — and decided.  Right.  Pulled in, looked up and read the couldn’t-be-missed license plate on the fire engine red truck parked just ahead of my bumper.

V.I.C.T.O.R.Y.  spelled out, bold as you please.

I let my breath out in one long contented sigh.  Smiled at that one-word gift coming like a silver-tinged star falling out of the sky and at my feet.

Two beautifully sent messages of His wide, wide love… love so broad and high and deep that it isn’t limited by the messenger (a secular lyric), or the odds of putting me           right… in… front… of… the…word of trust He wanted to script-write into my moment.

One minute earlier or later into my car, on that errand, and I’d have missed it.

There was more as I left there… a young destitute woman on a street corner, nudges of His Holy Spirit, understanding ways He is leading and taking care of me when life seems a bit more than unsure.  In words He put in my mind for a stranger…as well as for me…

God wants you to know, He hasn’t forgotten you.  

.

©  Pam Depoyan

Out of my dreams and into his arms I long to fly
I will come as evening comes into a waiting sky
Then out of my dreams and into the hush
Of falling shadows
When the mist is low
And stars are breaking through…

Then out of my dreams I’ll go
Into a dream with you

~ Oscar Hammerstein, Oklahoma

.

Oh, how He speaks to me in music… You, too? 🙂

sharing with:

 

photos:

About Pam@Writing...Apples of Gold

I love to hear your thoughts, even chat back and forth amongst comments.Won't you join the conversation? :) ..................................................................................................................... May my stories refresh you, like a whisper from our Father's Heart !
This entry was posted in God Do You See Me and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to When stars are breaking through…

  1. Hey, did you know that Lisa-Jo’s word for yesterday was “wide?” Look up Lisa Jo Baker, 5 Minute Fridays. How cool is that??

    And Pam, I had a very similar moment this week. One minute earlier or later and I would have missed it. A word for a stranger. Wow! I’m blown away!

    • Yes, I looked at her blog yesterday but then my mind was a blank! This just seemed to fit together today…probably as I mused about that word… I know what you mean. As simple as those whole few minutes were, they blew me away with how He speaks to us. That song has always spoken that to me, but to hear it in that moment was like His timely whisper. Yes, don’t you love those moments?! Thanks, Cheryl!

  2. Pam-
    That is a major word~~ V I C T O R Y~~~ and yet all we have to do is reach out-just a bit and we can grab hold of “everything behind the word”~~ for me its the assurance of God’s unfailing Love!
    Lately it seems I go from one day to the next-Pain upon Pain-dragging Me along with it~ and all I can think is “This Chronic Pain Gig is Vicious” as days blend into night and Pain starts pulling, tugging at me to get my attention.

    I know without question that my Pain is nothing in comparison to what others suffer with. God gave me Two Reminders yesterday–a very dear friend of mine is in charge of the Local Food Pantry and a recent facelift was given to the facility. She urged me to ride with her so I could take a peek at how pretty the New Look is~ I didn’t want to do it-but grudgingly agreed and stepped through the doors. God seemed to be in each room-“Look Martha-see how neatly the clothes are arranged, and look at the gently used Thanksgiving items-somebody could put that on their Table” I paused and spoke briefly to one of the workers-but something was Still tugging at me.

    Suddenly I heard another proud worker tell me “Why don’t you take a look at the Pantry area” and so here I went. It was like stepping into a mini grocery store-canned items neatly displayed, ample room for people to browse through, walls lined with freezers full of meats, bread, cheese. I paused for a moment, taking everything in and it felt like the bottom of my heart had dropped to the floor.

    I was thinking about all the items that might be found on my Thanksgiving table, how easy it is to
    run to our local grocery, not worried about purchasing too much- and no real fear of there not being enough money. My heart Ached—as I realized “This is the limits of a Thanksgiving meal for so many people.” All I could do was stand in silence-as God’s message was loud and clear to me
    “Martha-Count your Blessings on this Day.”

    Yes, VICTORY can show up where you least expect it to… Martha

    • Yes, everyone has something… it’s true. It really can’t be compared, just walking a bit in another’s shoes. And but for God and those who are there for me, I could be there too. You are right… it’s so good to try to find the blessings. There are always roses.

      I love how you put that: Victory shows up when you least expect it. I continue praying His word of healing deliverance over all that pain, Martha. Sounds like this moment for you was a bit of His light giving a lift to your heart… another assurance of His love. Thanks for sharing that. 🙂

  3. JoDee Luna says:

    Pam,
    I could barely finish your post because my eyes welled up with tears. I’m online quite a lot, and so I find it difficult to read through post after post; however, you had me at the Phantom of the Opera song. Both of my daughters and I are artists and have a special connection with this play. In fact, we’ve seen it multiple times, and we even make our own masquerade masks.

    I’ve always thought the song captured the Lord’s feelings about us artistic types. I’ve also viewed the Phantom as the artist’s inner battle with the perplexing personality we possess: highly intuitive and imaginative yet prone to dark seasons of the soul.

    The Phantom, in my mind, embodies unrestrained creative passion. Void of connection with “The Creator,” this artistic allure can, at times, possesses a dark side, a downward spiral of depression from which the artist finds it difficult to reemerge.

    I’d love to feature some excerpts from your post on my creativity website if that is ok with you.

    • JoDee,
      Maybe it IS the artist in me that has always given me connection with this beautiful song – both music and words. I used to paint and draw all the time, but not so much these days due to more time on writing. I agree with all you shared here… and this story does put that longing for the character’s redemption in me too. I don’t know the play except for excerpts I’ve seen on TV, but I do know the story from an old classic film…

      Thank you for asking about featuring some excerpts from this post on your blog…(I always want to discuss that before anyone does.) 🙂 Looking at your blog, I’d be happy for you to do that as long as you link back here.

      Your words touched me too – both here and on your blog. Thanks!

  4. Ann Cocktale says:

    God does speak to me through music and just this morning when I prayed for focus, He sent the words of a song as my prayer. Now Victory In Jesus is rolling around in my head (thank you!) and I feel renewed. All things (words, His people) do work together for good.

    • Thanks for sharing that, Ann. When I was ending this post, asking God for something to close it, I kept thinking of a tune but couldn’t place the words. I looked up Hammerstein lyrics and found it…and it’s so perfect, even giving me the post title. I love how God does that. So many times in prayer a tune comes to me (like a praise song or Christmas song) and as soon as I place the words, they are often an answer to just what I was praying. (Of course, those are based on the Word, most times.) Love it. So glad He spoke that song of victory to you today 🙂

  5. Kel Rohlf says:

    Pam-What a great posting of God’s personal touches on your day…yes…I hear him through songs…like “you’re so beautiful to me” and “don’t go changing…I love you just the way you are” and I get messages from license plates too…sometimes I look at the numbers…like 236 or 347 and then go to the Psalms or Proverbs to see what Ps 23:6 has to say or Psalm 34:7…if we have ears to hear, and eyes to see, and hearts to comprehend…we will perceive his love notes everywhere! In MO, some plates have KEL then the three numbers…that’s how I got the idea that God wanted me to look up a psalm…I wish I could remember which reference it was…but it was directed to my heart. Kel

    • Thank you, Kel, and for all you shared! I’m glad this touched you. I think that is definitely the Holy Spirit putting that in your mind… Yes, when our hearts and spirits are attuned to His, we find him speaking in so many beautiful ways! I wrote another post on Easter this year (you could find it in my archives, on the right of the blog, by going to April 2012 and under “Love Song”) talking about how I sometimes even change the words of secular songs like that by tweaking a word here or there, and they become a prayer… I love that He could direct you to a psalm that way. 🙂

Leave a Reply

