Need an Autumn Hug?

      I wonder if I have a world-weary look on my face whenever I’m sitting in the car dealer waiting room.  Usually resting head in palm, minimally watching the blaring TV, my mind whirling with numbers adding up unexpectedly, wheres and whats and not agains... wanting to let go of worries, tumble them up in the air like bundles of varied-colored leaves…   Do I look like I need a hug?

Because it happened there again this morning.  Just like it did in this moment Catching Joy… and in this one Blessed Are the Pure in Heart.   I felt her there beside me, more than saw.  A warm presence, like a sweet breath upon my face.  Her soft plaid vest close enough to my right cheek to reach out and run my hand through it’s comforting fleece.

I turned into her five-or six-year-old bright-eyed warmth, blue ones looking deeply into my brown.  “Hi!” she greeted me, as to a favorite aunt she hadn’t seen in awhile, waving tiny hand in a gesture of “let’s be friends!”

“C’mon kids, this way,” her mom was bustling her along with younger sis and little brother…

Like a butterfly hovering colors of joy and beauty for a moment longer, she smiled into my answering hi! — looking as if reading untold words in my eyes — waved and danced off…

Just another tiny, momentary messenger sent my way to kindle hope up a notch, light a smile on my face… and skip prayers across my heart for this child and her family and whatever they may need…

Reminding me of another such message I thought I’d re-post for you here today… just in case you, too, could use…an Autumn hug…  🙂

image photo : Autumn Leaf

Colorful Autumn

I pushed through the employee entrance that fall evening and... like Dorothy from Kansas…  stepped from a weary black and white world of office cubes into the almost dizzying color on parade along the wooded pathway to the car lot.  A yellow-brick road, just outside my day.

Breathing in the fresh crisp air like one who was parched for its beauty, I let my breath out slowly, relaxing.  Beside me, solemn faces hurried past…everyone scuttling to move ahead, get to their cars, go home to their lives.  Some talking a mile a minute on cell… making me think of Maxwell Smart and his shoe phone.

image photo : Autumn leaves

image photo : Autumn leaves       Three things happened simultaneously then. 

A door slammed from the parking lot curb ahead.

image photo : Autumn Leaf  

A breeze rustled above, sending a dazzling shower of leaves raining, dancing, glittering down as bits of golden sunlight.

image photo : Autumn leaves

image photo : Autumn maple leafA little girl burst forward from the parked car, her squeal of pure joyous awe ringing out like sweet bells… as if she had never witnessed such a magical, enchanted moment before in her ENTIRE five years… her saddle shoes echoing against the pavement as she ran…

Little Girl At Autumn Park

…racing , serpentining, punctuating her rapture with OOoooooohhhhhhh… OHH…  OOOOHHHHHHH!!!!!!  Arms opened wide, she ran in circles with abandoned glee – hair bouncing as she reached to catch the leaves like so many snowflakes…  her exuberance echoing and skipping up the path to cover all us weary workers like crayola watercolors with phosphorescent glow.

Eyes danced.  Smiles radiated.  Joy waltzed beneath the trees…did a little pirouette… and lit our hearts like a conductor to a symphony.

Her exhilaration matches mine! I thought.  Only…I had simply felt like reveling in all this glory around us…letting go of all the ways life can make us feel less than….rejoicing in the One who is more than enough.  But it took a child, oblivious to all around her, to run free…spreading her eager hands open to receive.  No worries.  No fears.  Nothing beyond this moment and her song of joy.

image photo : Autumn maple leaf Are you feeling a little weary-worn today? Pressures coming at you from all sides?              Let’s take a breath.  Stand beneath an autumn shower, open our hands as a child to receive, and let His blessings fill us with wonder…and music…and praise.  He will chase our storm clouds out to sea, carry us through…and if we listen we may just hear Him rejoicing over us with song… even as he paints this season gold.

© Pam Depoyan

.

Ever been transformed by a similar divine moment? I’d love to hear about it… Or if you need a bit of encouraging prayer this fall, leave a comment and we’ll lift you up…

Autumn Leaves


“The LORD your God is with you,  the Mighty Warrior who saves.
He will take great delight in you;
in his love… he will rejoice over you with singing.”                                                                         ~ Zephaniah 3:17 (NIV)

Sharing this post with:

Beholding Glory    Tell Me a Story

About Pam@Writing...Apples of Gold

I love to hear your thoughts, even chat back and forth amongst comments.Won't you join the conversation? :) ..................................................................................................................... May my stories refresh you, like a whisper from our Father's Heart !
This entry was posted in Autumn Leaves, God Do You See Me and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Need an Autumn Hug?

  1. Lynn Morrissey says:

    Oh Pam, this is exhilarating! I know I have been hugged and fully embraced by God, indeed, through your words. You have poetically, rapturously captured joy through the exuberance of a child, and I am whirled away like a gust of leaves in the breathtaking beauty of it all. I am in awe of your writing, your joy, your childlike wonder at life and the Creator!!!!!! Thank you for sharing the joy of your heart!

    • Thank you so much for letting me know it blessed you, Lynn! I originally posted the autumn girl story last year under a different title (Day 2…) and was blessed with some lovely comments there, so thought it might perk up readers today too… I think we can all use a little of that. 🙂

  2. No, but I guess a little similar looking, especially around the eyes… at least dark hair and eyes… similar hair… I don’t have any digital photos…

  3. Kel Rohlf says:

    Pam- I am well hugged by these encounters will wee girls…I have one who lives around the corner from me…my niece…she has filled me with great joy since they moved here last December…I have two grown sons…so I never had the joy of a little girl in our home…I had a similar encounter this summer with three girls on the beach in Michigan…we discussed art of all things…I should write a post about it and let it hug others like you did!

    • Yes, write a post! This keeps happening to me – particularly at the dealership, of all places — where children who don’t know me reach out as if we are long lost buddies! Nothing like a “wee one’s” smile to lift the heart! I don’t remember being so outgoing in that way to strangers when I was little, so it always amazes me…and comes like a gift. And then the child of this autumn day story… such uninhibited joy always delights. Glad this one blessed you… thanks for sharing your own stories…

  4. Kel Rohlf says:

    “with wee girls” I have to proof read my comments 🙂

  5. And a little child shall lead them… right into His arms.

  6. Children have a way of bringing us back to what is important, right back to the gaze of Jesus’ love. Lovely stories Pam. Hope you’ve had a good weekend.

  7. Oh it is such a joy to watch happy children frolic and run. They reach out and touch our hearts and we can feel that autumn hug you speak of. Thank you for sharing at Tell me a Story.!

  8. Vicky says:

    I am here to say I got my autumn hug last weekend and it made me feel like the child you wrote about. There is nothing like a shower of golden leaves to bring me joy? You wrote it beautifully.

Leave a Reply

