Jeweled Autumn Moments

The world is charged with the grandeur of God.

~ Gerard Manley Hopkins

 

Sometimes…

Life collects like dustbunny clouds under the bed.

Skies open, rain pours, street lights pool romantically on wet pavement.

Even then…Autumn dazzles,

Capturing imagination

With jeweled moments…

Like once-buried seashells washed up in lace-edged waters…

Like hidden gifts from the Artist’s hand

– His initials, as love notes carved on a tree, secretly painted on canvas –

Just waiting for me to uncover them.

  

There, between the sumac and the maple…

Here, among sky-high branches fluttering leaves that hang like bells, tinkling on the breeze…

Today, between stood-upside-down-paintbrush trees dipped in dripping colors of radiance…

Now... following behind a canary-yellow school bus that has just pulled front in line…

Another time, I might have tapped my steering wheel with impatience.  Groaned out loud at the vehicle ahead making me stop and wait every 10 feet…with urgent places to go, no time for tortoise inconvenience.

But this day, sunlit sky suddenly opening from heaven’s windows, I’m just out to soak in colors vibrant along countryside roads… and up beside weathered covered bridges… and out around blue-watered inlets shining their white sapphire lights en pointe.  I welcome time when the car behind isn’t pushing me ahead, and I can fill to brim with this riotous palette. Drive under sudden showers of falling gold and music on the air.

Even the yellow of this bus glows deeper on this day, trail-dancing skitters of leaves behind its wheels, zipping jump-rope joy over me. Steel stop sign arms pop out from the bus sides, crimson caution flashes…

And God opens up a living diorama before me…

Three tiny figures, plaid and cream and apple-red-jacketed, spill out…book bags bouncing behind them.  A golden retriever is ecstatic, circle-dancing around the feet of one now.  I watch as a second runs flying into a male figure’s arms, there by the garage, and he scoops her high and close to his chest.  Sending laughing leaf piles up around them. The third is heading

for the front door now, but as the                                                                                                 bus doors clank to close, all four turn and wave…         a tender salute… to the bus driver and crew…     gaiety and afternoon light warming this                  fragile-second scene…

And in this simple moment, I feel like I have just peeked in on a sliver in time of this unknown family’s story…

With photographic eye…like Norman Rockwell, with his paints.

With a wish to savor…

With a feeling of sacred gift in that scene…

That fills my eyes… lights my smile.

Because bumping into someone else’s lightpost moment, sharing in it somehow,  is never just coincidence…

but part of His Story that makes us all one with Him…

In that split second, it is just a lovely touch in rainbow array…

But later, as I take it out and hold splayed again like a succession of photos in animation, I see once more…

The story of the Father, waiting expectantly, for homecoming.

To receive us flying to his arms, hold us close, lift us up… pour gold at our feet.

And sometimes... how we may get to be the “bus driver” who helps carry others to that warm and waiting spot where the cares of the day are sent flying off, like weighty book bags left behind… and light and family and hope are bursting from within.

Where God’s grandeur is ever on parade.

And everyone has eyes to see His diamond miracles.

 

Digital Camera

 

©   Pam Depoyan

 

Have you an autumn jewel in your hand today? 

I’d love to hear about it…

Sharing this with:

 

With: Multitudes on Monday counting blessings with this blogging community, thankful for God’s gifts all around us, especially radiant with his Grandeur in Autumn!  For how He puts us in moments and opens our eyes to see the jewels hidden there.

DeepRootsatHome

Fellowship Fridays #46 & Now More Exposure!http://christianmommyblogger.com

Tell Me a Story    Beholding Glory   Grace Laced Mondays

      YourSundayBest

photos:  http://www.fotosearch.com

 

About Pam@Writing...Apples of Gold

I love to hear your thoughts, even chat back and forth amongst comments.Won't you join the conversation? :) ..................................................................................................................... May my stories refresh you, like a whisper from our Father's Heart !
This entry was posted in Autumn Leaves and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

52 Responses to Jeweled Autumn Moments

  1. Lynn Morrissey says:

    Oh this just exudes color and vibrancy and JOY! God’s grandeur, indeed! How serendipitous that you should quote Gerard Manley Hopkins! He’s one of my favorite Christian poets, and I had literally just quoted him yesterday or the day before at Jennifer Dukes Lee’s blog. Pied BEauty is another of my favorites of his. You write this so exquisitely, Pam, and this is such a tribute to this time of year–my favorite. Wow, Pam, you even made a bus look good! Amazing!

    • Thanks, Lynn… 🙂 Your words make me smile. Well, I have to admit that I read that quote in your comment at Jen’s blog 🙂 – so perfect for her exquisite post! And I’d been thinking this one over since it happened Monday, so that your quote seemed a great one for me too. I know…everything around seems more vibrant this season, even the yellow lines on the road. I’m so glad this brought that picture so vividly as I felt it. My favorite season too, can you tell? 🙂

      BTW… my reference to God hiding his initials was inspired by something I know painter Thomas Kincaid always did in every painting. He would always hide his wife’s initials and his somewhere as a tribute to his love for her. This made me think of God hiding little evidences of his heart for us in all His artistic beauty…

      • Lynn Morrissey says:

        Oh and actually I had meant to comment on your lovely idea of God’s hiding his initials. Don’t you love how others’ thoughts spark your own? Now that you mention that, I think I do recall that Kindcaid used to do that. Yours is alovely thought.

  2. Lynn Morrissey says:

    Oh and BTW, I love your photos!

  3. Lynn Morrissey says:

    Oh, and Pam, I love John Keats, too, who said that autumn is the season of mists and mellow fruitfulness and the maturing sun! 😉

  4. Nothing like seeing God’s hand at work-as HE changes one season to the other, showing us the beauty of leaves suddenly changing colors-suddenly we feel as if a symphony unlike any other is being played right before our eyes and all we can do is sit and watch in glorious Awe-struck wonder.

    We think the music is over when another demands to be played-getting our attention with its
    innocence-as we see blue eyes lit with delight, conversation bubbling over with another whose curls seem to bounce with energy that never stops! Different and yet the same glorious unique beauty of the Master’s hand at work!

    How delightful it is to sit behind a yellow school bus, loaded with a chorus of chatter, laughter, almost seeming to rise and fall as the bus moves forward, stopping again for another of HIS little ones to march down the steps, hopefully headed home to the loving arms of parents.

    God blesses us by giving these moments of beauty to be taken into our hearts and cherished~
    helping us to see clearly that such beauty could only have come from the Miraculous hand of our
    Master.

    Thank you Pam-for bringing such beauty before our eyes-HE is pleased with your willingness to share and help show us how to see these moments.

    Blessings. Martha

    • Thank you, Martha… I so agree with your words. This was such a simple moment, like that one I wrote about the butterfly recently, and I wasn’t sure how I’d make a whole post out of it. But it just struck a chord in me that I couldn’t forget…and that I was exactly in the best spot to see it. I’m not sure anyone behind me could have. I think moments like that must be “timed” by God for us to enjoy. I’m glad this made your heart sing too! 🙂

  5. Your photos are so very awesome and how you blended them in with your story about the school bus. I loved it! Thank you for sharing at Tell me a Story.

  6. trym1979 says:

    Thank you Pam! You blog is so beuateful! How is life?

    Janneke!

  7. To answer all your additions, Lynn... 🙂

    Yes, I think since I used to paint with oils (though nothing like Kincaid’s gift!), I think in terms of painting a lot…and his idea of doing that in his paintings just intrigued me. I think that is also why I take a lot of time with finding photos – it’s the detail artist in me. Thanks for your words on that! And…that is the exact Wordsworth poem that stands out in my mind! Love it. How fun to have visited his England home. I think I actually bored my college roommates by making a sort of plaque of that poem for our living room wall (I was so excited to be decorating my first home away from home, even if it did have furniture I never would have chosen). Thanks for the Keats link…beautiful! Love the little background there on it too… I remember thinking how sad it was that he died so young…beauty in his words.

    • Lynn Morrissey says:

      I love all this catch-up, Pam. Thanks for taking the time. And I love the story about your first appartment. Like you, I love paintings and anything that adds beauty. I pray you might visit the Lake District someday (also home to Beatrix Potter). You’d be in awe of God’s grandeur abroad! =]

  8. Lisa says:

    Lovely! Beautifully put 🙂

  9. lolita says:

    Oh my, oh my, oh my Pam. I first came to skim and like and them said to myself, I must come back to soak in, as you soaked in yourself, at the palette of God’s splendor ….. all in the colors of autumn. A year has flipped close for a new one….. as I knew you one autumn last year.

    I love the picture of that child being scooped up by his dad, and you painting the same in heaven when we come home to Him and He scoops us up in His arms…… trailing dusts of gold….. wow, Pam, you certainly mesmerize me….. no matter how the year has come and now another…… your words, never fail to paint my skies in rainbow colors and gold.

    And the best thing is yet to come…… how you desire to drive the bus that would carry souls at the gates of heaven… So wondrous and so after Jesus’ own desires and longings.

    Thanks, Pam…. for putting us on the same road.

    • I was thinking of you as I wrote this one, Lolita…because I knew you were longing for Autumn photos and posts back in August. 🙂 I’m so glad you are having more time online and that you had a chance to read this. And that it fills you with joy. I was thinking of the streets of gold (and carpets of golden leaves on the ground), as I wrote that about gold at our feet. And that when we pray for others, or share the Lord etc. that we have opportunity to be the “bus driver” in that sense… Have you ever heard the song “Thank you for giving to the Lord…for I am a life that was changed…?” about someone in Heaven greeting someone who prayed for them or gave in some way towards their salvation? I heard it again tonight and it just never fails to bring tears at that beautiful thought. Thank you Lolita for all your beautiful encouraging words, as always!

  10. Sylvia R says:

    Beautiful. Thank you for taking me along on your slowed-down drive and sharing your own lightpost moment!

  11. hisfirefly says:

    Thank you for your eyes, for seeing Him and sharing Him with every blink.

  12. this tugged the tears
    from tired eyes
    and i send glad thanks
    -Jennifer

  13. LisaS says:

    Beautiful photos and words 😉

  14. Andrea says:

    Wonderful photos and words. I never get enough fall either…

  15. Ana Eugenio says:

    my autumn jewel today are your words of wonder and the happiness you share. thank you. visiting from Sunday Best. wishing you a golden week ahead 🙂 xxo

  16. Beautiful! I love fall and have been enjoying the leaves around here. Have a great week 🙂

  17. Nancy says:

    Amazing words of the joys of Autumn. Thank you so much for sharing at Your Sunday Best this week. xo

  18. ljbmom says:

    Oh, this is lovely. I love those moments when time stands still and His glory is laid bare for all to see.

  19. Pingback: Recipe: Cashew Chicken Stir Fry :: MMM (Must Make Monday) | Fox in the Kitchen

  20. Pingback: Bumping into a lighthouse moment… | Writing… Apples of Gold

  21. Reblogged this on Writing… Apples of Gold and commented:

    Some sparkler trails for your Selah…

  22. Pam, Your writing is so beautiful, your insights so God-centered, both incredible gifts from God.

    My Autumn jewel today, reading your post.

    Thank you so much for for painting a beautiful word picture of that great day when we will all see Jesus face to face.

  23. Beautiful, Pam! I felt like I was right there with you as the school bus unloaded…what a perfect analogy with heaven and bringing others to Christ! Many blessings to you ❤️

  24. Looking forward to that day – when He wraps his arms around me in a big Father hug! Beautiful post! Autumn is my very favorite season!

  25. Liz says:

    Just beautiful. I want to slow down and savor the picture you paint with your words. The grandeur of creation cries out His glory! Blessings to you!

Leave a Reply

