Not for just a day…

     

A sweet, sweet old love song wafted through my car radio this afternoon… melody and words breezing don’t be afraid, I’ve got it covered peace across my worries and fears. 

Calling up misty-eyed memories of my Grandma and Papa, Mom’s parents, because…this was their song, Mom always said.

Whispering of a charming  old 1940’s movie about the romance and life of baseball great, Lou Gehrig….where this Irving Berlin treasure lilted through every scene between Gary Cooper and Teresa Wright.

But today…even more… the words, sung by Paul McCartney, of all people... paint a message of God’s everlasting Heart in me.  Because the Love Song is His favorite way of speaking…and no matter how old…never goes out of style.

And…

Maybe, on this still Saturday… you need to hear this one too…

.

decorative line

Days may not be fair

always...

That’s when Ill be there

always…

Not for just an hour

Not for just a day

Not for just a year

But… always…

Ill be loving you,

oh… always

With a love that’s true

always

When the things you’ve planned

Need a helping hand

I will understand

always…  always…

~ Irving Berlin

decorative line

©  Pam Depoyan

“I have loved you with an everlasting love;

I have drawn you with unfailing kindness.”

~ Jeremiah 31:3

Sharing with:
.

   

photos:  http://www.fotosearch.com

About Pam@Writing...Apples of Gold

I love to hear your thoughts, even chat back and forth amongst comments.Won't you join the conversation? :) ..................................................................................................................... May my stories refresh you, like a whisper from our Father's Heart !
This entry was posted in God Do You See Me and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Not for just a day…

  1. Lynn Morrissey says:

    Pam, how beautiful that God gave you this precious reminder through a lilting musical message. How precious, too, that it reminded you not just of His love for you, but your parents’ for each other. God so often speaks to me through music, poetry, nature, art, letters from friends…….for heaven sakes even a magazine slogan or ad when I clip words and images for collage. He can speak through anything He wants……obviously, infallibly through His Word. But I love how He comes to us just when we need Him most, with a message that is fashioned for our hearts, whether from His Word or in other unanticipated ways. He knows what we need. Sometimes, too, I like to take the lyrics of a song and change them to have a spiritual message (please don’t tell the plaigarism cops, because I just do this alone at my piano). But…..for example, Bridge Over Troubled Waters……When you’re weary, feelin’ small, when tears are in your eyes, He will dry them all. He’s on your side, oh, when times get rough, and friends just can’t be found, like a bridge over troubled water, Jesus laid Himself down….” That kind of thing. I wrote my own lyrics to My Funny Valentine, which I call My Faithful Valentine, and just sing them, alone, to my Lord. I am so glad you were comforted this day, Pam, through the gift of serendipitous song! And I know that above all, you rejoice in the song of your salvation! Love, Lynn

    • Yes, yes yes to all you said here, Lynn… except that was my Grandparents love song. 🙂
      I wrote a post at Easter about doing what you said, changing song lyrics to His message… https://wordglow.wordpress.com/2012/04/08/love-song/
      I love to do that too! Bridge has always sung that to me… and others, I know. Never thought of it with My Funny Valentine, though…but I love that song! So now I will always think of that. (I wrote about that song at a wedding reception this past summer too…so moving) Yes, His word and He alone are my true sources, but He does speak through music and just about anything as you mentioned! Thanks Lynn! I’m glad you are a kindred spirit in (ahem) “plagiarizing” love songs… 🙂

      • Lynn Morrissey says:

        Ahem is right! 🙂 I loved your other post, and yes, I do this all the time. And after all, what does God’s Word say? Zephaniah 3:17 :He will take great delight in you;
        in his love he will no longer rebuke you,but will rejoice over you with singing.”
        And you can bet I’m already playing my Christmas carols (mostly British–love it!).

    • lolita says:

      I love than, Lynn…. I too, do those things a lot of time. There are hidden spiritual meanings and messages in the lines of songs.

      Ain’t it just great?

  2. Pam~~
    Oh I loved this posting!! There are many songs that come to mind and will fill my heart up when I hear them playing. The song you printed out-its a LOVE SONG for a married couple~~and really helped remind me of how FAR my husband’s love goes for me.

    I have been down lately-worried about the load he carries for me~~of course he sees my mind working and finally sat me down, giving me every possible assurance that he is here with me forever. What more could I ask for? Perhaps I am also learning to take this physical pain and offer it up for others who are suffering. Especially those up north-so many lives turned upside down in a matter of minutes. Our Priest told of hearing one story on the news where a mother had left her car, with her two boys in hand, finally reaching a house, banging on the door for help. Nobody would answer, the waters were rising and she ran to the back of the house, this time breaking a window-anything to find safe shelter. It was at this moment when water rushed around her and the two sons were washed away~~~found the next day, just down the road from this house. Saddest part is there was a person in the house and he was afraid somebody was trying to break in! It says SO much about the society we live in these days…

    This story doesn’t relate to your post but it just hit me~~~ one of the lyrics
    “I will be with you always” suddenly I thought about all the Angels surrounding those two precious children~~~I believe their trip to Heaven was glorious–now the Angels surround a Mother, consumed with grief and they will “be with her always.”

    Thank you for giving me time to share with you Pam. God bless you.
    martha

    • You are right… this is a beautiful romantic love song, and I’m so happy it uplifted you today, and reconfirmed what your husband has been telling you. He loves you obviously so much, Martha. I understand how it can be, worrying about others coping with our pain and feeling a burden, but trusting the love God has put in your husband is beautiful. Yes, Diane has told me a few of those heartbreaking stories about the storm… so, so sad. And that someone wouldn’t answer the door due to fear. I had that happen once when I had broken my finger and was trying to have a neighbor open a bottle of aspirin. I could hear the TV, knew they were there in their apartment, but they wouldn’t answer. Had to be fear. I believe angels were there for those children too and pray God’s strength for that poor mom. Thank you for sharing your heart, Martha. And letting me know how this post touched you too. This is one of the sweetest songs that never fails to lift my heart with tender melody and lovely words…. Irving Berlin wrote so much that reflects God’s beauty and love in the romantic. And I love that it crosses to all romantics, single or married… 🙂

  3. MaryLou says:

    I also when I am listening to different kinds of song especially love songs change them so that they are about Jesus. I have recently rediscovered John Denver’s music and there are many of his songs that when I listen to them I think about Jesus. I like to think of Jesus as I listen to his song “Sweet Surrender” a simple song which has a lot of meaning for me because I played my guitar and sang that song in one of my guitar classes after I became a Christian. 🙂

    • Yes, I have felt that with several of his songs too. He wrote a lot about the beauty of nature and that speaks of God’s artistry. Music, I think, when it is lovely and true, has the essence of His heart in it… whether or not it is specifically talking about Him. Everything beautiful gives Him glory… no wonder we can hear Him in it. 🙂 And all the more since that song has such special meaning for you. Thanks, MaryLou…

  4. i love when he sings us a lovesong
    and hear his tender voice speaking
    love in your words
    and send glad thanks for passing along
    the love note in class:)
    grinning grace,
    Jennifer

  5. Morninglory says:

    Pam, What peace comes in my soul when I read the special love song. I not only have experienced the love of my devoted husband, but have felt God’s spirit lifting my mother away from her earthly body into glory. A blessing of love that God will lift us on angel’s wings so we can live eternally in His glory.

    • Have you ever heard this song? Such a pretty melody too. I’m so glad it washed peace over you too. And that you had that experience with your mom’s passing. I love the way you say that about angel’s wings…

    • Morninglory says:

      Pam, I have not heard the music to these lyrics but will definitely pick the CD up soon.

      • Not sure where you would find the original or who may have recorded it along the way (I think Irving Berlin probably wrote it in the 20’s?) But I did hear it on a recent Paul McCartney CD the other day… maybe he has recorded several classic songs? No idea about the quality of the rest of what he has on there… but just a simple, pretty song that touches. Wonder if it is on YouTube anywhere…

  6. kel rohlf says:

    Pam- I will chime in with everyone else…God speaks to me through songs too…one time I was trying so hard and the Billy Joel lyrics…”Don’t go changing…I love you just they way you are…” melted my self-effort…(I was paraphrasing the lyrics here I think) but the idea is there…

  7. lolita says:

    Beautiful, Pam.

    I too, love to rephrase love songs as though they came straight from our Father, speaking to me and appeasing what my feelings were in a given time. It makes me a hopeless romantic and a childishness never outgrown with. Makes one feel like the King’s daughter that I am.

    Thanks and blessings to you.

Leave a Reply

