Happy Giving Thanks Day!

Good Housekeeping 1927-10

ENJOY A THANKSGIVING BOUNTEOUS WITH BLESSINGS!

“Every time you cross my mind, I break out in thanks to God. Each exclamation is a trigger to prayer. I find myself praying for you                   with a glad heart.”

~ Philippians 1:6 (The Message)

.

“And pray for [me] too, that God may open a door…”

~ Colossians 4:3

.

About Pam@Writing...Apples of Gold

I love to hear your thoughts, even chat back and forth amongst comments.Won't you join the conversation? :) ..................................................................................................................... May my stories refresh you, like a whisper from our Father's Heart !
This entry was posted in Autumn Leaves and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Happy Giving Thanks Day!

  1. MaryLou says:

    Hi Pam, I like your title Giving Thanks Day. I love this time of the year and I am so very grateful that we are given the blessing of a day off to give thanks in this country. We have so very much to gives thanks to God for. Happy Giving Thanks Day to you! 🙂

  2. Sylvia R says:

    Will do! Beautiful share. A bounteous, beauteous Thanksgiving to you, too!

  3. Carol says:

    Happy Thanksgiving! You are a blessing!

  4. lynndmorrissey says:

    You are such a blessing, Pam. Happy Thanksgiving! And I love the nostalgic magazine cover. Would that our times could be more sweet and innocent like those.
    Blessings to you and yours.
    Lynn

    • Thanks, Lynn… you are a blessing to me too. This artist is one of my most favorites… such sweet and tender work. Reading your book, I could see that’s another thing we have in common – loving the old-fashioned, Victorian, quaint… May God cocoon you in His peace in the storm today as I pray for a lot of us right now…

      • lynndmorrissey says:

        Yes, I do love all things Victorian! Speaking of which…..do you read Victoria Magazine? And I love the image of the cocoon and/or chrysalis (as the case may be), which you will also read about in my book. 🙂 Thank you for reminding us of His refuge in the storm. I cont. to pray that for my brother, too.

  5. lynndmorrissey says:

    I was curious where you found your masthead photo and why you chose it. 🙂 I think it is so lovely.

    • You mean the blog header photo? WordPress offers a selection and I originally chose another similar toned one. Then one day this popped into my blog… then disappeared. I asked them about it and they told me how to select it. I like it too. It reminds me for some reason of the entry path that used to be the drive into my old college… (They’ve built up so much, not sure if it is still there…) Plus it is just peaceful…and like English countryside… I always seem to gravitate to that. I’m glad you like it! 🙂 (A freelance writer once told me to get rid of it because she has seen it on other blogs… not unique. But I like it and have never seen it on any I’ve looked at…)

      • lynndmorrissey says:

        Yes, that’s what I mean. I think it is interesting why people choose what they do, and I don’t think they do it randomly. I just love this and I wouldn’t worry if others have it. I think I may have seen it one other time. But for all the reasons yu state, I think it is appropos and connected to your personality and “likes.” I would add that it draws the reader in, down the path. I find myself wanting to go wherever it leads…….just as your writing draws me in. Interesting about your college days, too! 🙂

  6. Lynn, I love that image of it drawing the reader in! I also think it symbolizes walking with the Lord… If I were a photographer, I’d probably choose something like the one Shelly used before the latest one. Loved it. Yes, I occasionally read Victoria. I love the photos. One of my favorites is an old blue and white issue they did. I also subscribed for one season to English Home. Love that one! The kind you never throw away…

  7. Pam-
    what a lovely way to turn the words around and give another “view” of Thanksgiving, reminding us the importance of giving THANKS for all we have. Even the bad times-because our Faith grows in these moments. I don’t know-but for some reason, today seemed to have a very peace-filled air about it. We drove through our community-seeing families together, children playing games, nobody visibly “drinking the day away” but instead talking and being with people they love.

    It was wonderful to see moments like this and I gave thanks for my husband-knowing God has blessed me with this wonderful man. I will close this day out tonight with a prayer for God to watch over our son. I know God hears the prayers of many parents praying for their children.

    Thank you for this lovely post Pam. God bless you and keep your fingers at the keys, and keep your heart close to HIM.

    love, martha

    • I’m glad your day had a peace-filled air about it, Martha. I love to peek into the lives of others by seeing them out playing together etc on days like today. Thank you for the blessing to me… and I join your prayers for your son, in whatever way he needs, and that he will be truly aware of the Father’s heart for him… Yes, let us have a heart of giving thanks.

  8. lolita says:

    Yes, Pam. I am pining for that door…. the very exact one, which the Lord intends for you, I pray for that.

    And it will be yours!

Leave a Reply

