When answers are still on the way: Part 2

      Reflecting on yesterday’s story… 

Sometimes we only see in retrospect.  All the ways God has been moving.  Arranging a minute difference here.  A divine appointment there.

Like George Bailey’s Uncle Billy, we may be riding high, proud to have achievement in our hands….then absentmindedly fold it into a newspaper – only to have it fall into the grasp of the greedy Thief.  Who, like Mr. Potter, rocks back and gloats at our despair, performs a wheelchair jig scoffing at how we don’t see the whole picture, threatens us with smoke.

Only… sometimes… we think we can’t be sure.  Especially after months and years.  Is it only smoke?

And maybe, like George, we panic…

Unaware, God is behind, around and before us, setting impossibilities into motion we can’t even imagine.   Both through us and for us.

Our behind-the-scenes-loving God.  Working out each and every detail to fit and connect together like a beautiful master puzzle…one piece at a time.

  And as I think of this now, it reminds me of watching Uncle Billy, rejoicing over the Bailey business triumph, not seeing his own hand slip the precious envelope into the newspaper.

Wanting to call out to the characters, NO!  How, I as the audience know all that’s happening that George and Billy can’t yet see.  It’s allright!  Potter has it!  George, you are covered in prayer!  God is preparing and sending your answer!  Potter is a liar and a thief!

But —  it is in the not knowing what God is doing, that George eventually gains his most beautiful gift… discovering how his one little life has bolstered an entire town, saved lives, brought beauty out of ashes… for so many others as well as for he and his family.

Today… in this starlight season… what beautiful blessings might the God who sent His son to live in your heart,  be setting forth in your life…ready to be unveiled?  Take joy, He says…for I am ever with you

The God of the Old Testament whose every move through history prepared the way from Adam to foreshadowing Jesus in the manger and on the cross to the day of heaven on the horizon…always behind the scenes.

The Holy One who is lifting us to believe, calling us to take the gift of Himself from the Father’s hands.

There is more going on behind the scenes than we know.  Angels sent to surround us.  His Spirit going ahead and behind us.  Heavenly windows opening for more blessings planned, more healing coming, more provision.

Today… if life seems a bit teetery on the edge… be encouraged.

The Lord of the manger and the cross is moving mountains for you even now.

And you and I…like George… have a wondrous part to play.

By Divine appointment.  🙂

.

©   Pam Depoyan

.

Sharing with:

    Beholding Glory     Tell Me a Story       

photos:  http://www.fotosearch.com

About Pam@Writing...Apples of Gold

I love to hear your thoughts, even chat back and forth amongst comments.Won't you join the conversation? :) ..................................................................................................................... May my stories refresh you, like a whisper from our Father's Heart !
This entry was posted in A ZuZu's Petal Christmas, God Do You See Me. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to When answers are still on the way: Part 2

  1. Sylvia R says:

    This is good, your making the story two parts. I like the way the first part ends with the big God-incidence of needed money being to-the-penny.
    And yes, definitely, there’s a lot we only see in retrospect. This reminds me to write up a post about something that happened to my husband, about even a “sign” as to God’s direction that happened only after the fact of his making the right decision — and it was a to-the-penny one too! Isn’t God, well, *delightful!* — the way He does these things?

    • Thank you! It was driving me nuts how lengthy this post was, and I thought it detracted from the key story… glad for your confirmation. 🙂 Yes, I love how God does things like this. Sounds like an uplifting story about your husband. I look forward to reading it! Have a great weekend!

  2. Yes it seems at times all we can see is the greed-people almost acting like “Money Changers” but doing it in the name of the Lord. I see a lot of this and anger rises in me~~~then it hits me Anger serves no purpose, PRAYER can do wondrous things!!

    George Bailey would be so PROUD of you Pam!!!! When we watch this movie~~I believe we all have a moment where we are wishing “Life was so easier back then” yet the reality is Life posed struggles just as intense as what we face now. We can choose how we handle the rough spots in the road~~~I think of the moment where George is “BACK” and running down the snow-covered streets, people shouting at him with Joy and George being so filled with genuine Love at that moment.

    Something tells me that many will be pulling out their copy of the movie, or going out to find an updated CD or Blue Ray version~~~we are longing to be filled with this story of love, struggle, loss, and learning about special ANGELS!!

    You have lifted my heart Pam. Have no doubt about that fact–Thanks “George” for helping Pam share your story with us.

    Blessings~ martha

    • I’m so glad this lifted your heart, Martha. I am waiting to pull out my own copy of this movie this season too… Haven’t watched it in a few seasons, so it will be fresh. You are right… anger only makes me sick, prayer moves mountains. I am always trying to stop my own flashes of anger, righteous or not and turn it into prayer… I think the era of this movie was a really hard time, in the depression, in WWII… but maybe more simple in the way people approached life… I love that scene too. It is like he is reborn to joy and life. And hope. Blessings to you today…

  3. Lynn Morrissey says:

    I think you are going to have to write your own IAWL lesson book, because these are all fresh as newly fallen snow! This is God’s provision for you, Pam, when you initially felt disappointment. I know about divine appointments, but have not had any in awhile. But I’m keeping my eyes open!
    Bless you dear one.
    Lynn

    • So glad it is falling on you that way, Lynn! I think maybe we have more divine appointments than we realize… maybe most are more subtle. Like meeting you here… 🙂 Or “angels,” more…seemingly ordinary… like Clarence Oddbody.

  4. Lynn Morrissey says:

    Wow, yes. Thank you for this reminder. You are indeed a divine appointment for me! I so greatly appreciate your kind encouragement. I always loved what you wrote a Shelly’;s, but couldn’t figure out how to get a hold of you. Still don’t recall how we eventually connected. I do think it was a divine linkage! Bless you, dear DA! 🙂
    Lynn

    • Yes, at Shelly’s you left a comment asking me to get in touch, and I did… Usually, all you have to do is click on a person’s name who has left a comment though – as long as it has an underline beneath the name – and it will typically link you over to their blog or to a page that gives you that info. Occasionally, that doesn’t work, but I find most of the time it does. 🙂 (Example, if you click on Sylvia’s name in the above comment, it will take you to her blog, The Sylver Pen.)

  5. Such a fitting analogy. I can’t believe that I haven’t watched “It’s a Wonderful Life” even once this season! LOVE that movie.

Leave a Reply

