I wonder as I wander…

 

I wonder as I wander out under the sky
How Jesus the Saviour did come for to die
For poor on’ry people like you and like I;
I wonder as I wander out under the sky

~ Christmas Carol

I’ve been wondering as I’m pondering a tale lately.  An anonymous one I heard once of someone arriving in Heaven.

Eyes wide at glory never before seen, joy spinning clarity all around, the newcomer follows hand in Hand with the Lord, room to room through His great mansion.  Like Max Lucado once depicted for his readers, the newcomer spies pictures of himself through his earthly years, framed and held in honor, on the elegantly carved tables and shelves. Reminders of a Father’s cherishing.  Evidence of the work of His Spirit through his heart and hands, proudly displayed here…there… on the walls like masterpieces.

When all at once, they come upon a room filled to the brim with shimmering boxes gaily tied in luminous ribbons…

“Lord, what is this place?” the newcomer whispers, awed.

“This – this is where I have stored every good and beautiful gift I wanted to give you,” the Lord gently explains.   “And to bless those I sent as my messengers in the giving, too…”

Questioning, the newcomer looks into His eyes.  Eyes so filled with blue and lavender light they soak deep into his heart with starry Truth.

“I sent a friend to deliver this one,” the Lord points.  “But you said you didn’t need it.  Didn’t want it… could get it on your own.  You were determined to handle it yourself.  Causing the one I sent to leave bereft of blessing I intended for them, too…

“This one over here…  I asked another to bring you, my cherished heir… but you refused to take it from her hands.  This… I sent the angels to bring in healing answer to your prayer, but you didn’t recognize my signet ring…thought you didn’t deserve it…”   On and on He explains, revealing secret blessings left long unread, unopened… even worse, discarded.

“Lord,” the newcomer breathes, abashed.  “I’m sorry.  I didn’t see…”

If Jesus had wanted for any wee thing
A star in the sky or a bird on the wing
Or all of God’s Angels in heaven to sing
He surely could have it, ’cause he was the King

And He has made us His Royal heirs… wanting to pour out His joy, His gifts, to send us out as His light…to lavish us with His Heart…

 

File:It's A Wonderful Life.jpg

     As I mull over this story, George Bailey…so like us… comes to mind once more.  In the climax scene that never fails to well my eyes along with his.  Humbled, joyous, graciously taking and receiving the blessing of so many neighbors and loved ones and maybe even a stranger or two….

“Isn’t it wonderful?”  Billy burst out.  “Mary did it, George!  She told a few people you were in trouble and they scattered all over town, collecting money…’If George is in trouble count on me!’”

George could only stand there, holding Zuzu in his arms, grinning…at what a fool he’d been.

Mr. Gower held up a glass cracker jar stuffed with bills.  “I made the rounds of my charge accounts!”

Violet hurried up to the table, still dressed in furs and wearing that silly hat. “I’m not going to go, George,” she said, returning his money with a grin. “I changed my mind.”

Another man pushed his way to the table, calling out, “I wouldn’t have a roof over my head, if it wasn’t for you, George.”

A telegram…”my office is authorized to send you twenty five thousand…”

Mary choked back her tears and sought George’s eyes across the crowd.  George gazed into her face and felt overwhelmed by it all.  He buried his face in Zuzu’s shoulders, unable to count his blessings because they were far, far too numerous…

  ~ from “It’s A Wonderful Life, A Novel, 50th Anniversary

And I can’t help wondering…

Before the terror and transformation of this night… might George have missed out on this wondrous blessing, perhaps too proud to be the receiver and not the giver?

Might the ones he had been helping all those years…giving of his time, heart, money, encouragement… have missed the gift of being God’s hands and messengers this night, too?  Does it take an angel-happening for us to understand… receive or bear… grace gifts?

To find they are falling daily like snowflake wonder, from Heaven’s windows.  Reminding us of the greatest one…Emmanuel… His glorious birth announced in song by the angels on a midnight clear… and evermore…

Are we turning them away, unknowingly?  Feeling like we can do it ourselves.  We don’t want to be thought the needy ones.  

And… Missing out on receiving… or on the blessing of bearing His gifts to others?   Keeping someone else from receiving a blessing in their giving?

  • An offer from a friend to help carry life’s sudden, unwieldy packages.
  • An unexpected Christmas box on your doorstep.
  • The whisper in your heart to reach out and take this gift… overflow it on to another…

There was a time when I might have felt awkward receiving a gift such as the one God sent me the other day… (When answers are still on the way: Part One) – like it is much easier to be the giver…

But now, like George…  I want to open my palms wide to receive from His Hand.  And to give from them back again… like the believing woman in the Bible whose jars overflowed with unending oil.

To cradle the Savior.  Receive, hold close His light poured out.   Shine it like a sparkler that never fades.  Because His gifts are never just for me alone.

Have you found some unexpected gifts of His hands in “your mail” or   “under your tree” lately?

Is there a whisper on your heart to carry some to someone who needs just what you can give?

  • A prayer.
  • A ringle of coins.
  • A hand to hold.
  • A home-crafted Christmas valentine of an hour or so… and ordinary I love you’s.

Or do you feel a nudge to go ahead…receive what someone else is offering?

It may just be His heavensent angel is on our doorstep.

Holding a lantern ready to light our candles so we can light another and another…

And those in darkness will come to our light… instead of turning on our world in rampaging destruction.  To receive healing.  Stop the madness of a world gone amuck.

Warming and softening the hearts of all the Bailey Mr. Potters

One gift of His heart at a time.


When Mary birthed Jesus ’twas in a cow’s stall
With wise men and farmers and shepherds and all
But high from God’s heaven, a star’s light did fall
And the promise of ages it then did recall.

~  Christmas Carol, I wonder as I wander…

.

©  Pam Depoyan

.

I’d love to hear your stories of His unexpected gifts on your doorstep!

.

Sharing with:  Beholding Glory      Beauty in His Grip Button

Thought Provoking Thursday  

tues2603

photos:  http://www.fotosearch.com

About Pam@Writing...Apples of Gold

I love to hear your thoughts, even chat back and forth amongst comments.Won't you join the conversation? :) ..................................................................................................................... May my stories refresh you, like a whisper from our Father's Heart !
This entry was posted in A ZuZu's Petal Christmas and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to I wonder as I wander…

  1. MaryLou says:

    As I opened the newspaper I could not believe what I saw. It was a story about someone who used their money, that was supposed to be used for a trip to Hawaii with their family, to bless others. For some reason they weren’t able to go on the trip so they went to our local WalMart’s layaway department. Starting with the oldest one this person paid layaway purchases off until they had no money left. As people came to pay off their layaway purchases or tell the store employees that they would not have the money in time to pay them they found out that someone else had paid what they did owe. Some people could not believe it and tried to pay anyway. I cannot imagine how good this person felt knowing what a blessing they had been to so many. They chose to be anonymous. What a contrast this story was to the usual ones we read each time we pick up a newspaper. This to me was definitely a gift on my doorstep! 🙂

    • Oh MaryLou, I love that story! Thank you for sharing it. Yes, it is a gift that inspires… What can we do to provide for someone else? Not just limited to money…. And not to just pocket things away, but to “sow” into others. Did you ever see Christmas with the Kranks? This story sort of reminds me of what happens in the end… after plans fall through for a much planned trip, how it is given away… I like that this story was a gift on your doorstep too… 🙂

  2. MaryLou says:

    No Pam, I have never seen the movie that you mentioned. I did look it up though and it was interesting to read the comments. The rating was also very interesting from a one star to a five star rating. It does sound interesting though and I do enjoy Christmas movies. Recently I was able to give something away that I was given. I sent it to a person that I know with the words that you can either keep this for yourself or pay it forward to someone that you know does need it. I know that God wanted me to give it to this person to bless them and give them the option to continue the blessing by passing it on or keep it because they needed it. I may never know what the person chose to do with it. This person is quite amazing as they actually traded their mechanic services for cookies not money. When he told me this story it seemed so very old-fashioned. I love to hear stories like this one and the one that I told you about previously. I wonder how many more stories like these are out there? I am sure that there are more than we may even imagine. I do so enjoy the artwork that you include, to me it is icing on a beautiful cake. 🙂

    • You would love that movie, MaryLou. It is very funny and cute, a few silly moments, but overall a good message at the end. I love all these stories you are sharing too. Maybe someday you will know what they did with it… Thank you for your words about the “icing on the cake…” 🙂

  3. MaryLou says:

    Hi again Pam, I went and ordered the movie just now and got a really great deal… I got it for free because of my Amazon points so that was a very nice surprise. Thank you for suggesting it. Cannot wait to receive it and watch it. It is good to watch a funny movie because lately all of the Christmas movies I have been watching are so sentimental and heart wrenching that I find myself crying a lot so a good laugh will definitely do me a lot of good. It would be nice to know what he did with what I did send and perhaps someday I will know and if I ever do I will definitely share it with you. Thank you again for suggesting this movie! 🙂

    • Oh, this will definitely make you laugh! It has some sentimental stuff woven in of course, but i like that too. If you ever liked him in Tim the Toolman on TV, that will give you an idea. It is just cute and fun! I bought it a few years ago. My dad got a kick out of it when I showed him here once and laughed a lot too. Let me know what you think! I love Christmas movies too. I’ve been meaning to pull out that one with Naomi Judd that i talked about last year… the one about the music teacher.

      • MaryLou says:

        I have already watched that one it is so good. I love music so much so it was the perfect movie for me to watch. Thank you for suggesting this movie to me. There are a lot of good Christmas movies it is so hard to watch them all. 🙂

  4. I know… I haven’t even looked at any of my usual “collection” yet… Hoping to this week.

  5. Chelle says:

    Pam, I wonder as I wander is one of my favorite hymns. It is the mystery of season that brings me quiet. Thank you for this. I am so glad I found you at the Intentional.me link up today.
    Peace and good to you, in Jesus’ name.

    • Thank you, Chelle! I’m glad to “meet” you too. I remember loving that song so much on an old album we had growing up… it is a beautiful peaceful melody, isn’t it? Today has been a day of rushing around for me but I am looking forward to some peace and reflecting the next few days. Blessings on your Christmas and new year!

  6. Mindy says:

    It is so much harder to be the receipient of a gift rather than the giver isn”t it? But if we don’t let the give we are robbing them of the blessing. Thankful for the givers and receivers this Season of Love!

    • Mindy says:

      And I have seen Christmas with the Kranks and it is a funny movie with a good ending : )

      • So many of those kinds of movies can be just stupid, but I loved Kranks because it was just good fun… and for the good ending too. Reminds me of the way I loved the Steve Martin versions of Father of the Bride too. Funny and sweet too. Glad you agree 🙂

    • Yes… I think of when I broke my leg 6 years ago (I wrote about that a few posts back) – the hardest thing for me was to be so vulnerable and relying on others giving to me. I began to see how God does want us to let others do for us too. and as you say, that it is robbing others of His blessing in giving if we keep saying no… Thanks for your thoughts on this… 🙂

Leave a Reply

