A circlet of candlelight begins with your story

M, Ornamental letteray God grant you always… A sunbeam to warm you, a moonbeam to charm you, a sheltering angel so nothing can harm you.  Laughter to cheer you.  Faithful friends near you.  And whenever you pray, Heaven to hear you.   ~ Irish Blessing

.

I haven’t known when exactly it was coming…but a long-expected sometime in December gift whipped onto my porch last Friday — at the hands of a UPS man who flings his packages like a newsboy casting unwieldy paper to door, barely a second to stop – no matter how fast I dash to catch it from his hands. 

Ten gratis copies of my first story published in a book.

I paused, a warming tingle suddenly fluttering wings inside me…For I realized in a whoosh how the Holy Spirit had made me hear His whisper that morning when I’d wondered when the box might arrive.  A simple thought.  In this moment, showing me His intimacy with our lives to speak into even things like this.  It will come today.

I love when such whispers are confirmed to our hearts.   The wonder of finding – like morning-dew light each time – Lord you do make us Your sheep to hear Your voice.  Like a little candle flame suddenly growing bright and waving on a breath of air.  A touch of His glory.  His bending near the earth and into our moment to moment lives.

Up to now… I’ve enjoyed seeing my stories come to fruition in a few magazines.  But there is something about a book that seems more – permanent.

Maybe you’ve noticed the day counter on the right of my blog.  A nifty widget I just discovered called “milestone marker” that ticks away the calendar moments from a starting to finish date.  Mine is set for the date the book arrives in stores and online… January 1st …and has just been a fun boost of excitement for me to see change day by day…

Slicing open the box, holding the top copy in my hands, I prayed… Whom do you want me to give these to, Lord?

Names of two of my mom’s closest childhood friends came to mind.  My family, of course. A few close friends of my own.

Because I think they will smile to find my name in a book.  Especially mom’s friends… one who wrote the loveliest of inscriptions to me in a little book that shaped my art beginning at age seven  (Read that inscription here:  An open letter to Joan Walsh Anglund…)

But even more…for the blessing I hope these stories will bring. Once I opened to the first page,  discovering one moving story of God sending protection, healing, grace after another, I couldn’t stop.  Time limited, I’d think...just one more for now.  Then find myself going on to just one…then another.

And…these stories coming one upon another like that, in this beautiful season of God’s greatest miracle… encircle me with His Glory, like glowing Christmas Candlelight in church.  Like each one passing their candle on to the next, to light and send on down the rows, until the entire room is ablaze.   Not in worship of angels…but in blessing to the Lord, giving testimony to keeping us under the shadow of His wings.

Kindling a renewed flame of hope in all the darkness of late. 

Because each one is a pearl in a necklace of the Lord’s making…as He breathes…Rejoice! God is with you, I am the Light of the World over our globe.  Especially into each and every dark crevice.

And it occurs to me… how bright our own stories yet untold, how deep His light!  Rarely making national news…more vast than we imagine.

More than just seeing the printed story of His intersection in a moment of my time and a friend’s… I thank Him for the promise born 2000 years ago.  The Light that only grows brighter the darker the night.

And I sing a song of wondera prayer of comfort and joy to those who are mourning so deeply.  That in the days and years to come, they will find hope rekindled and glowing.

That today, you will find a spark in these words if you need it.

Pass your own onto another who is waiting for the light of your story – as only you can share it…

Singing a canticle of joy this week before Christmas, over all you touch.

Because the memory I wrote about in this book was from one of the darkest nights of my family’s soul….  and how brightly has His Christmas Star shone healing… all… these… moments… since.

angels_among_us   Just to share a dusting of such Silent Night hope across your days before Christmas…recalling the promises of Psalm 91…For he will order his angels  to protect you — Here’s a brief excerpt from the near ending of my story, Angel of Calm (Page 108):

“If ever two young girls needed a miracle it was us…

‘Mandy,’I said thoughtfully.  ‘Did you notice…that man just…disappeared?’

She nodded slowly.

‘Girls,’ Mom said, ‘I think God sent you an angel today.’

Tears pooled in Mandy’s eyes and I could feel that same choking back I always felt when I watched my favorite movie, It’s A Wonderful Life.  Especially in the moment when little Zuzu tells Jimmy Stewart about every time a bell rings. “That’s right, honey!” he’d exclaim exuberantly. “That’s right!”…

No ordinary man… the memory of [this angel’s] reassuring, calm presence [in our time of need] reminds me that God cares personally about our sorrows and fears. So deeply that He still sends angels, like He did in the Bible.  And they still have the same message.  Do not worry.  God is with you.

   Today as I write this post… I am abiding in the Lord’s promise to make His light arise upon us, to shine forth and draw even kings and nations to see and discover.  In your story and mine.  In big moments and little, like when we are just pondering the arrival of something exciting and He joins us in that delight.  And I think I hear Him whisper over you, over me.

“That’s right beloved!  That’s right!”

.

©   Pam Depoyan

“Arise! Let your light shine for all to see.
For the glory of the Lord rises to shine on you. 

Darkness as black as night covers all the nations of the earth,
but the glory of the Lord rises and appears over you. All nations will come to your light;    mighty kings will come to see your radiance.

~ Isaiah 60: 1-3

In the hustle and bustle of last minute,

how have you caught a bit of His Glory this week?

sharing with:

tues2603

   

Thought Provoking Thursday  

photos:  http://www.fotosearch.com

About Pam@Writing...Apples of Gold

I love to hear your thoughts, even chat back and forth amongst comments.Won't you join the conversation? :) ..................................................................................................................... May my stories refresh you, like a whisper from our Father's Heart !
This entry was posted in A ZuZu's Petal Christmas and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to A circlet of candlelight begins with your story

  1. maryLou says:

    Hi Pam, I like the Irish Blessing that you did share. The words that it does contain are so beautiful and comforting. I am so glad that you did receive the copies of the angel book. I cannot even imagine how excited you were when you opened the box and looked through one of the books to find you story and see your name in print in a book. 🙂

    • That was a quote I found in the book. I liked it too. 🙂 Yes, it is fun…Not sure I’ll ever really write a book, but it is fun to be in one. And I was glad to find so many other lovely stories in there. I’m still reading through… There is a surprise coming your way too… 🙂

  2. Pam- as always, a beautiful posting with such love and meaning. God has your writing hand and heart-that is the BEST blessing ever. Happy to hear about your future stories coming out. I somehow lost your email and wanted to let you know I am going to be having back surgery in Jan. A piece of Disc has broken and is causing some very tough pain.

    Please keep me in your prayers.. I will do the same for you. We help each other-perhaps this is a Christmas in which so Many will understand the great need to really PRAY for each other.

    God bless.
    Martha

    • Thank you, Martha. Know that I am praying for you every day. I will see if I can resend that email. It is probably still in my send box. Prayer is the best gift for all of us. I am convinced of how God uses it to move mountains and your slipped disc is nothing for Him to handle. All things possible In His Name. Love and prayers to you… always.

  3. lynndmorrissey says:

    Pam, congratulations upon having your story published in a Chicken Soup book! Tha’ts so wonderful…….that you are spreading the light. You will be an angel to many readers, I’m sure. Keep telling your stories and shining God’s light! Thank you for the angel you have been to me, personally. Merry Christmas!
    Love
    Lynni

    • Thank you, Lynni! That is my prayer, for God to use this story in some way. I have been uplifted by many stories in this issue, which is a blessing. Merry Christmas to you too! Hope you are feeling His Glory Light shining on you in the midst of other things happening…

  4. Susan Gaddis says:

    Congratulations on your first story published in a book, Pam! I remember the feeling of excitement when my first book arrived on my door step too. You’ll find the same exhilaration when the next book is published and delivered. Your tales are encouraging and communicate God’s heart so well, and I fully expect a whole book of them soon.

  5. You, too, Susan… I can tell from your site that you have a deep heart for His Word and intercession…blessings on your Christmas and New Year!

  6. jodyo70 says:

    Pam, this was beautiful–all of it, and so encouraging. I’m going straight to Isaiah 60 right now………
    Congratulations on having a piece published in an anthology!
    God bless your Christmas.

  7. lolita says:

    I rejoice with you, Pam. I just want to feel that beautiful warm tug inside the delights in something you have accomplished, knowing that God has a hand in it.

    I am so proud to know you and now I thank God for giving me a friend whose name appears in a book.

    Yes to Martha’s thoughts of you as God’s channel of light and love and hope. I derive such joy when I dwell upon your words which speak of those for our souls.

Leave a Reply

