One Ribbon at a Time…

“I’ll tell you how the sun rose, a ribbon at a time…”

  ~ Emily Dickinson

All the days ordained for me were written in your book

before one of them came to be.

~ Psalm 139: 16

Thank you Father, that we don’t need to see ahead

into each day of this new year,

because you have wonders and light already there…

ready to unfold… one ribbon at a time…

His Sunday whisper to me… and surely to you…

Keep your heart and eyes on Me and not on what others say.

A more-than-enough blessing — a year of walking in My favor —

 flows through My Hands.

Blessing on the work of your hands.

Go forward and shine in Me.

Do not be afraid.  Colors come forth in great splendor and array,

and My pleasure is upon you.

.

“I believe God made me for a purpose,  but he also made me fast. And when I run I feel His pleasure.”

~ Eric Liddell

Linking with:

Freshly Brewed Sundays

   Scripture and Snapshot    

photos:

About Pam@Writing...Apples of Gold

I love to hear your thoughts, even chat back and forth amongst comments.Won't you join the conversation? :) ..................................................................................................................... May my stories refresh you, like a whisper from our Father's Heart !
This entry was posted in Sunday Community Devotions and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to One Ribbon at a Time…

  1. Barbie says:

    I love this! Thank you so much for sharing.

  2. cmjenniferm says:

    It is comforting to remember I don’t have to be the one ultimately in control. Thanks for linking with Scripture & a Snapshot!

  3. Sylvia R says:

    Good thoughts in beautiful words. Prayers for your year.

  4. Mary says:

    Stepping into the new year one day at a time and one ribbon at a time!! Blessings

  5. Morninglory says:

    Your words and photo of ribbons are lovely. My 17 year old granddaughter painted a picture of ribbons before she died in a car wreck 8 years ago. Looking at the painting later, the ribbons are in the shape of angel wings.

    • I’m so sorry for your loss of your granddaughter. The painting sounds lovely… and a gift for you to find in it. May that lift your heart to a someday reunion, when all tears are wiped away…and His smile on you in the here and now. I’ve been thinking today, too, of those I love who are already there.

  6. alisonhector says:

    Oh wow! I receive that word. Yes! Thanks for posting this, Pam.

  7. kelrohlf says:

    Pam- Thanks for this Sunday thought…I was spiraling into a woe is me feeling today…I am grateful to remember…one day…one ribbon…one stream of light is all I need…and that God takes pleasure in me even when I feel unworthy…

    • Kel, I know what you mean. It is so easy to spiral into those thoughts. I was just thinking a bit that way myself and then remembering this word too. Yes, one beautiful ribbon at a time. And yes, I’m so glad that it isn’t about our worthiness but His amazing Love and the songs of joy He delights in singing over us. His pleasure is on you because you are His… 🙂

  8. Lynn Morrissey says:

    Pam, I loved loved this Emily Dickenson quote and have used it for years in a talk that I give. I love her poetic description of a sunrise. I love your poetic description of life and time. It is beautiful to think of the each–the present–as a present, which God gives us to untie one ribbon, one moment, one experience at a time.Thank you for so faithfully untying your colorful gifts here at the blog. I love experiencing all you share!
    Love
    Lynn

  9. Lynn Morrissey says:

    Oops! Of course, you know I meant Dickinson! =]

  10. The Eric Liddell quote from “Chariots of Fire” broke into my life back in ’82. I hadn’t even heard of him before that, even though I was very interested in Chinese missionaries. Since then, I have read about, watched the movie many times, and continued to focus on China. I realize this comment isn’t based on your post overall, and I liked it, BUT when I saw that quote, it just broke into my heart/soul/spirit. Light and ribbons are also my favorite “words” shared by you. Worked together beautifully.

    • Thank you, Joanne. I’d never heard of him until that movie either. That quote has always stuck with me. That God takes pleasure in seeing us use the gifts He’s given, even in things that seem so just for us, like running. So when God put that thought into me the other day for my own situation, I immediately thought of Eric’s quote too. It really does have more to do in my post than just an afterthought… and I love that it resonated with you too. Because His pleasure is on each of us. Thank you for telling me! 🙂

  11. Sandee says:

    Beautiful, Pam! A joy to read as I recover from the flu and remember that His mercies are new every morning.

  12. lolita says:

    Yes, thanks for this, Pam. I am pretty sure that’s what I could take each day….. one ribbon at a time. I don’t have to be dazzled or frustrated by so many I could not comprehend for now. It comforts me to think of just…..”one ribbon to hold at a time.”

Leave a Reply

