Sabbath Songs

                         Today… for you whose heart is longing for a breath of peace,

a respite in the clamor…

 A Singer is refreshing, with a Love Song (or two) :


“The pastoral mountains front you, face to face,                                                                    But, courage! For around that boisterous brook                                                                           The mountains have all opened up themselves,                                                                          And made a hidden valley of their own.                                                                                          No habitation can be seen; but they                                                                                                Who journey thither find themselves alone                                                                             With a few sheep, with rocks and stones and kites                                                                       That overhead are sailing in the sky.                                                                                               It is in truth an utter solitude…”

~ “Michael,”                           by Wordsworth

.

.

“Can’t we two go walking together, out beyond the valley of trees?
Out where there’s a hillside of heather, curtsying gently in the breeze?                                   That’s what I’d like to do: see the heather–but with you.
The mist of May is in the gloaming, and all the clouds are holding still.
So take my hand and let’s go roaming through the heather on the hill.
The morning dew is blinking yonder. There’s lazy music in the rill,
And all I want to do is wander through the heather on the hill.
There may be other days as rich and rare.
There may be other springs as full and fair.
But they won’t be the same–they’ll come and go,
For this I know:
That when the mist is in the gloaming, and all the clouds are holding still,
If you’re not there I won’t go roaming through the heather on the hill…”

Brigadoon, Alan Jay Lerner

“Come away with me, my love. Be like an antelope or like a young deer on mountains…”    ~  Song of Solomon 8:14, the Lord 

.

What is the song you hear winging around you today?

.

sharing with:     Freshly Brewed Sundays

   Scripture and Snapshot        Beauty in His Grip Button

About Pam@Writing...Apples of Gold

I love to hear your thoughts, even chat back and forth amongst comments.Won't you join the conversation? :) ..................................................................................................................... May my stories refresh you, like a whisper from our Father's Heart !
This entry was posted in Valentines. Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Sabbath Songs

  1. MaryLou says:

    Hi Pam, “I Will Rise” a song sung and co-written by Chris Tomlin was playing in my head today. We often sing this song in my church and it is so beautiful and it lifts me up. The words as so very beautiful. I cannot imagine my life without all of the different kinds of music that God has blessed us with. Amazing how many songs have been written over the years and are still being written as I share these words with you. I can’t wait until we are with Jesus and we are able to worship Him face to face. 🙂

    • I love that song, too, MaryLou. Music is a foretaste of heaven, that’s for sure! Some day,… what a joy there will be. But in the meantime, those songs bring Him heart to heart, don’t they? 🙂 And the way He moves in our lives in gifts and wonder gives me that anticipation of Heaven too. Thank you for sharing these thoughts!

  2. Lynn Morrissey says:

    Lovely lyrics. They Sabbath song I hear is Amazing Grace, sung at a dear friend’s funeral yesterday. It still rings in my soul, and reminds me that Connie is in heaven, and that we shall join her one day, saved by God’s amazing grace. I’m sad, but hopeful.

    Turning an abrupt corner, I love your house drawings! I just noticed them on the side bar. You are so talented, Pam!

    Have a blessed Sunday.
    Love
    Lynn

    • I’m glad if this helped to comfort in your loss, Lynn. I read your comment, I think it was at Shelly’s, talking about your friend. I’m so sorry for all she suffered, and with you, happy for her joy now. But I know that it must be bittersweet for you. It is hard to say goodbye. His grace, it is amazing.

      Thank you about the drawings. I just started trying to put them on here. They don’t come across as soft and light as the originals look (they are really more of cross between pencil and pen in how they look in person) – prints make them darker for some reason. If you look at the header, I added a page for it with a few more of them, but I’m still working on all I want to put on it to hopefully interest people in portraits of their homes. Been praying a lot for new ideas in all of this and He is putting some in my mind. Thinking this is God’s leading…and seeking His lead on it all. Blessings on your Sunday, too… and prayers of His comfort to fall on you in ways beyond what seems possible.

      • Lynn Morrissey says:

        Pam, you are always so sensitive and dear. Thank you for your kind compassion about Connie. I so greatly appreciate it. I pray now for her family toknow the Savior Connie love so much.

        And…..I pray that the beauty of your drawings will really bring joy to those who give these gifts. I will tell your readers that above my computer hangs an artist’s rendering of our old house. It was razed after we sold it, and a friend said, “Why don’t you get an artist’s painting of it?” She showed me one she had, and I can’t tell you how happy I am I did this. Painting or pen-and-ink….it matters not. Just have something that is a memento and which will, upon one glance, flood your mind with memories about the place you once called home! how glad I am that I followed her advice, and I hope your readers will consider using your artistic talents in this way.
        Love
        Lynn

      • Thank you Lynn for that lovely testimony to this kind of artwork…and words of prayer for what I’m doing. I just added more to the tab below the header that I think you would especially appreciate as a fellow book (and all things British) lover ::) I want to design my own “book” there, but this says it for now. I think I will add your comments there! I’m so glad you have that lovely memento of your old home, especially since it was razed after you left. I was just looking at a blog that spoke of someone having a cherished painting of an old 1920’s family victorian created after it was torn down as well. Such a treasure. And the thought behind each piece I create too… 🙂

  3. pam-these words came at a needed time–back pain got really bad while we were at Mass and I had to leave. I think the piece of disc must have moved around. I have been on the bed for several hours and reading this was a loving lift for my spirits. Bless you for sharing. martha

    • You have been in my thoughts and prayers, Martha. i pray the Name of Jesus and all He did for us over your back, and that His hand moves it into the right spot permanently, healing and restoring as only He can do. One of my favorite verses is Zephaniah 3:17 – He is singing rejoicing songs of healing over you, quieting your heart! The Lord hold you close Martha.

      • lolita says:

        That is my prayer too, Martha and Pam. That the disc will move to a spot where it will not cause any pain and other discomfort for Martha. Or perhaps that it may splinter into tiny pieces which the body soldiers will dissolve.

        God will do that as He sing healing songs for you dear Martha, as Pam says. He is touching where you are hurting. GBU and protect you as He is comforting you.

  4. I have watched that movie so many times since the mid-60s. And have so enjoyed the music and the dancing. [AND, spiritually speaking, it is NOT OK, but with the other aspects it’s always kept me smiling.] Your photos of the heather and others are gorgeous. Thank you.

    • Yes, if you mean the theme of Brigadoon, I agree – it’s fantasy and not spiritually true. But I always hear God’s heart in the lyrics of love, calling us to “walk in the heather” with Him. I always hear Him in these songs… Hammerstein, Lerner and Lowe, etc. 🙂 And He is present in the beauty of such glorious music and dancing, I think. Gene Kelly, Cyd Charisse… and music that reflects beauty – are heart stirring and a praise to His heart for sure. And like you say, they keep us smiling! 🙂 Thanks, Joanne.

  5. rkrumpe94 says:

    The line “it is well with my soul”. We just sang that tonight at a prayer meeting and it has been a tough day. All does not feel well with outside circumstances but it is well with my soul…that I know for sure.

  6. Gayle says:

    I see a fellow lover of beautiful words. I’m glad you stopped by Behind the Gate, have a blessed Sunday.

  7. cmjenniferm says:

    Those are so pretty. I’d love to walk through a field of heather with my daughter Heather one day.

  8. Mary says:

    Oh, thank you for this today, Pam! Such rest in these words. Thank you for sharing this!

  9. lolita says:

    http://www.hymnary.org/text/how_sweet_is_the_sabbath_the_season_of

    I have been thinking last weekend, yesterday and today, about how you have been writing about His song sung specially for each one of us.

    I was also dwelling along this line “how sweet is the morning…..” as I thank Him for today, another day of celebrating another day gift-of hope and of praise.

    Hugs for today. I got another picture. Please tell me if that purple balloon is pointing to your own home. I map-googled your adddress and Lynn’s. My Mama and Bro Jay is home this month and I received the mailed book from Lynn, authored by her so beautifully bound with pages so prettily illustrated, her “Love Letters To God”. She has written her dedication in her flowing penmanship with generous loops-akin to the author’s generosity.

    I e-mailed her my thanks but to date she has not yet responded.

    Hooray for today for you and Lynn and for me!

    • The hymn is lovely… I’m not sure what you are referring to with a purple balloon, Lolita. I’m glad you got Lynn’s beautiful book… and dwelling on how sweet is the morning, hope and praise… 🙂 If you have a map with my location, please don’t put it here… you could email it to me. I don’t want that on the blog. Thanks!

    • lolita says:

      Oh, how amazing your drawings are, friend. I can’t begin to imagine the patience going into each intricate shade or etching. Your love and warmth is transported in the finished product. It is true that the homes you have drawn comes alive in your pen. They simply have the character-fit in a book-bound architectural collection.

      Pam, each one just exudes the beauty and character of the artist. Please publish more for us to peer over and delight in.

      • Thank you so much, Lolita! I do pray as I work on them, and I sometimes feel like He is the one showing me how to make it look a certain way. The homes I’ve drawn have had such character too, that it makes it exceptionally fun to work on them. All those little details around doors and windows… love recreating them. I want to put a variety on here too… not just houses from the outside… and hopefully catch the interest of viewers who might want to order their own… 🙂

  10. Sharon says:

    Hopping over from Joan’s “SHARING HIS BEAUTY”. I was so blessed by this post. It felt like a quiet walk in the countryside. The song going through my head (and heart) right now is “I Lift My Eyes Up” by Kutless:

    I lift my eyes up, unto the moutains
    where does my help come from?
    My help comes from You, maker of heaven
    creator of the earth

    oh how I need you Lord
    You are my only hope
    You’re my only prayer

    so I will wait for You
    to come and rescue me
    to come and give me life

    Yes, my help comes from The Rock – the One who sits on the mountaintops.

    GOD BLESS!

    • Thank you, Sharon. I love the way you put that — a quiet walk through the countryside. I’ve never been there, but I have an affinity for England, Ireland and Scotland and the countryside beauty that the heather song, poem and scripture evoke in me too. Beautiful psalm words to the Kutless song. Yes, the One who sits on the mountaintops and is our rock! 🙂

Leave a Reply

