Carried… Over the Threshold

scan0002God’s Promises Bring Hope

“God has given both his promise and his oath. These two things are unchangeable because it is impossible for God to lie.

Therefore, we who have fled to him for refuge can have great confidence as we hold to the hope that lies before us. This hope is a strong and trustworthy anchor for our souls.

It leads us through the curtain into God’s inner sanctuary.  Jesus has already gone in there for us. He has become our eternal High Priest in the order of Melchizedek.”

~ Hebrews 6: 18-20 (NLT)

  “There I will give her back her vineyards, and will make the Valley of Achor                      a door of hope.”~ Hosea 2:15 (NIV)

.

.decorative line

The Lord’s Peace and Grace to you each today, my friends…

and the joy of coming upon a door He’s decked out

and kept waiting for you. 

©  Pam Depoyan

.

Happy St. Patrick’s Day to ye, too

and may your cuppa be ‘specially heart-warmin’ today.

Linking with:

   Scripture and Snapshot      

Pen & Ink Artwork:  Mine

photo: http://www.fotosearch.com

About Pam@Writing...Apples of Gold

I love to hear your thoughts, even chat back and forth amongst comments.Won't you join the conversation? :) ..................................................................................................................... May my stories refresh you, like a whisper from our Father's Heart !
This entry was posted in Bells of Ireland. Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Carried… Over the Threshold

  1. Sylvia R says:

    I love your threshold, and the metaphor you made it! And I love how you’re using your beautiful illustrations in these posts. Blessings!

    • Thank you, Sylvia! Drawing can replace a photo, right? 🙂 (Even though scanning squashes them somewhat.) This one just seemed to speak peace to me. And of a bride coming over the threshold in the arms of Love. Beautiful doors and gates always remind me of Him, for some reason… Blessings to you too!

  2. I love that verse from Hosea. 🙂

  3. Barbie says:

    What a beautiful verse to meditate on today!

  4. marty says:

    I love the example you used of crossing the threshold…draws such a beautiful picture of Christ and His Bride, the Church.

  5. lynndmorrissey says:

    Pam, this is such a beautiful post, symbolically and literally. I love your door illustration. YOu are such a gifted artist. And that passage from Hosea is powerful. God has given it to me as a promise and it is a powerful reminder. I love your quote here, too: “Therefore, we who have fled to him for refuge can have great confidence as we hold to the hope that lies before us. This hope is a strong and trustworthy anchor for our souls.” I am going through a difficult trial and God has shown me repeatedly to flee to Him as my Refuge. So this is a wonderful reminder to put my hope and confidence in Him. He surrounds me with His love and protection. He IS my refuge! I think also of Rev. 3:20: Jesus is standing and knocking at the door of our hearts. As we open the door, He promises to cross the threshold and come in to dine with us. Doors, to me, are always an emblem of intimacy. Likewise, I need to shut the door of my mind to fear and falsehood–to ban what does not inimtately belong in my heart. Bless you for this beautiful, heartfelt post!!! I’m so grateful.
    Love
    Lynni

    • Lynn, I’m touched by all your words as always, and so glad God uplifted you with this today. You know I understand all you are going through right now… and I’m trusting Him with you! Yes… all those wonderful passages that speak of doors. God gave me the Hosea verse in some time of heavy intercession for someone, and I always remember the valley of Achor and door of hope! Yes… you are surrounded in his light and life and healing – and much prayer. I kept this metaphor simple (and kinda implied) and I’m so glad it comes across and lifts your hope!

  6. lynndmorrissey says:

    Sweet Pam, I know you know, and I know you are praying, and I am so very comforted. How I pray that God will bless you abundantly in all things as you so richly bless others! And BTW, I forgot to wish you a Happy St. Paddy’s Day. YOu, of all people will appreciate that after dinner, my husand, mother, daughter, friend, and I are going to watch The Quiet Man! What I may not have told you is that we actually visited Guinness Castle in Ireland, where much of the movie was filmed. We met a little old man named Stephen Lydon, who appears as an extra (not speaking part) in the flick. (No dout he is no longer living). This was his claim to fame, and a way to lure American tourists onto his little dingy (sp?) for a ride on Lough Corrib. What a thrill that was. And guess what? Right in the middle of the lough, he stopped and said, “Would you like a cup of tea?” And he made us one!!!!! Amazing….right in the middle of a lake! The Irish, like all British, love their tea. i’m Irish, and as you can tell, full of Blarney.
    Sending much love and thanks for your friendship and lovingkindness and for your Irish charm.
    lynni

    • Yes, I know how you love that movie! I’ve seen parts of it and the scenery is extraordinary. I love part of it, but I have a hard time with all the wacky and stormy fighting of Maureen O”Hara’s character and Wayne…especially as a love story…although I’ve always loved her movies. (Do you know the movie “The Long Gray Line” with her and Tyrone Power? Another Irish family… I love that one!) What a wonderful treat for you to meet that man and to have tea right out on the lake. I love that story. Yes the Irish and the English love their tea… Enjoy your time with all watching this tonight – a great way to just relax in the midst of all else too. I think God may just have “scheduled it today to bless you tonight. 🙂 I have no real Irish blood, but a love for Irish and English! Thank you Lynn…

      • lynndmorrissey says:

        You know, only recently have I heard others say that about the donnybrook, and while I really don’t abide fighting kind of movies, I can tell this is lighthearted and not meant to be Chauvinistic (as some who have recently complained have said). Even my very hip twenty-some-odd niece understands that it harkens back to a different era, and you can see how much Sean loves Mary Kate. anyway, yes, just to be with my family enjoying our little St. P’s Day tradition will be lovely. Everybody is Irish today, Pam! And we must not forget the Scottish and Welsh with their tea, too! =
        Love you,
        lynn

      • You know it isn’t really that I think that it is chauvinistic… I can get into some character stuff that is of that era (like in the Long Gray Line, Maureen acts similarly in some ways, but I also see a lot of sweetness in her that doesn’t come across except momentarily to me in the Quiet Man. Her relationship with family McLaughlen is the same. And the slapping around doesn’t have that playful quality to me that I see in other similar films. I love movies that show stoic characters hiding their hearts etc, but some reason I just can’t get this one. But I love the whole first part of the movie, when he gets there, his love for the land etc.

  7. Linda Stoll says:

    Pam … your artwork is simply stunning. What a gift! Thank you for sharing on this Sabbath …

    • Thank you so much for those kind words, Linda! God really seems to be inspiring me and enabling me to do more than I ever used to be able do in these. And I’ve just figured out how to scan them and establish my pen and ink portrait page up top. Thanks for stopping by!

  8. Rona says:

    I’m stopping by from Jumping Tandem’s Sunday.
    What a beautiful day.
    I hope you have a blessed week!

  9. Sharon O says:

    That drawing is simple and powerful at the same time. Good job.

    • Thank you, Sharon. I’m just standing amazed at how God is enabling me with this art lately. I’ve always felt that… having been pretty much “self taught” – but even more so lately. I’m so glad it speaks powerfully to you… 🙂 I just love English looking architecture, old doors etc… and this one seemed to go with these words and metaphor.

  10. lolita says:

    That door has God’s heart for a door knob. I hang on to that promise in Hosea, Pam. Happy St. Patrick’s Day to you. We don’t have that celebration here but I learn of it over the web. I wish you all the blessings contained in that Irish prayer.

    I love that heavy door. I would that it leads to the promises of God.

    • I didn’t think of that, Lolita, but that latch on the door is like a handle and it does resemble a heart. 🙂 St Patrick’s is celebrated so many places around the world, I’m surprised not where you are. But maybe there are no Irish populations there. Yes, I love that Irish prayer i shared last year. That promise in Hosea is one of my favorites too. I love these doors too… And they somehow remind me of God opening them to us and our praise brings us in…

  11. Jennifer says:

    I’m holding strong to that Hope. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

