In the Morning Room

   In the hush and awe of this Good Friday, O Lord, let your Word pillow our                      hearts in the greatness of your all encompassing Love… poured                   out in your blood shed for us, so much more than we really know…    and fill us with fresh anticipation to meet with you each day…

Royalty-Free Vector Clip Art Illustration of a Border Of Two Orange Butterflies And Black Lines by elena

.

O LORD, in the morning you hear my voice;

in the morning I prepare a sacrifice for you and watch…

   ~  Psalm 5:3 (English Standard Version)

Morning Room

You, Lord, are my shepherd.
I will never be in need.
     You let me rest in fields
of green grass.
You lead me to streams
of peaceful water,
     and you refresh my life.

You are true to your name,
and you lead me
along the right paths.
 I may walk through valleys
as dark as death,
but I won’t be afraid.
You are with me,
and your shepherd’s rod
makes me feel safe.

 You treat me to a feast,
while my enemies watch.
You honor me as your guest,
and you fill my cup
until it overflows.
 Your kindness and love
will always be with me
each day of my life,
and I will live forever
in your house, Lord.

~ Psalm 23 (Contemporary English Version)

.

And he took bread, and when he had given thanks,

he broke it and gave it to them, saying, “This is my body,

which is given for you.

Do this in remembrance of me.”.

 And likewise the cup after they had eaten, saying,

“This cup that is poured out for you is the new covenant in my blood…”

Luke 22: 19, 20 (English Standard Version)

.Royalty-Free Vector Clip Art Illustration of a Border Of Two Orange Butterflies And Black Lines by elena

BLESSED RESURRECTION JOY TO EACH OF YOU THIS WEEKEND!

P.S.When I was working on this drawing the past few days, I kept thinking how the top part of windows like these remind me of the sun bursting forth.  Just now, standing back from it, I could see the cross running through the center of the picture.  If you follow the line of the table on up, it forms a cross at the top part of the window, and then is like conquering joy at the top.  (Not planned – by me anyway…) Can you see it?  🙂

.

Joining like-minded women today at Faith-Filled Friday

and also with    Scripture and Snapshot     

sunday-stillness-button        Beauty in His Grip Button   A Sheltering Tree

A Holy Experience  

©   Pam Depoyan

©  Pen & Ink Drawing: mine, The Morning Room

artwork: mine, under my copyright  (please do not copy without permission. See my copyright info button on the sidebar.  :)   )

.

One more P.S. …

    It’s April 1st!

When one of you commented how you’d love to have this print in front of you, I thought…

  •  Let’s celebrate His promise of Spring’s April bringing May flowers!          I’d like to offer a Special Blog Discount for you* effective throughout the month of April 2013…   A 15% savings on a photo-quality 11×14 or 8×10 print of  The Morning Room, ready to frame!

To order a copy, please contact me at pam.depoyan@gmail.com.  Price list (before discount) for prints is located at the bottom of this link page – pen & ink HOME PORTRAITS 

* Prints available for order in U.S. and Canada only, at this time

About Pam@Writing...Apples of Gold

I love to hear your thoughts, even chat back and forth amongst comments.Won't you join the conversation? :) ..................................................................................................................... May my stories refresh you, like a whisper from our Father's Heart !
This entry was posted in Sunday Community Devotions and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to In the Morning Room

  1. Lynn Morrissey says:

    So beautiful, Pam, and I love this English version, which I have not read. Funny. When I saw your exquistely styled pen-and-ink drawing, I immediately thought that I had been transported to an English manor house (as you and I were saying that we like in Rebecca and Suspicion! 🙂
    How lovely is this version of this beautiful Psalm, which I needed to read at this juncture of my life, through a scary valley. But oh! He doesn’t leave us there. He leads us along sunlit streams to a banqueting table and to an extraordinary feast! Thank you for this reminder. And He didn’t leave Jesus in the grave. Jesus rose! Jesus lives! Hallelujah!
    Happy Easter Pam!
    Love
    Lynn

    • I love this version too! Was just scrolling thru different ones online and found these. Yes, timely words for so many of us right now… And because of today, 2000 years ago, we WILL live forever in His house… His Peace to you today, my friend!

      I love that you see an English manor house, because of course that is always in the back of my mind 🙂 (Maybe that’s a veddy veddy British pooch! 🙂 ) But I think – minus the curtains, maybe – people around here do have sun rooms that rival this… It also reminds me of a romantic rendezvous for two, or two women sharing morning tea… but these psalms came to mind as I was drawing it most of all… the table, and the peaceful garden outside…

      Yes, Hallelujah – He is risen! Happy Easter to you too! Rejoicing in “all His benefits” (Ps 103)!

  2. Lynn Morrissey says:

    Very cute about the proper little pooch! =] Oh the table…….I think that I had mentioned to you that God was laying something on my heart about that, and certainly a table can be an intimate place of conversation! Thank you for Ps. 103. I knew you meant it just for me and just for you, and I send it back with prayers in abundance!
    Love
    Lynn

    • Yes! 🙂

      I have been thinking about what you said about the word “table” and this psalm has been in my mind because of that… Thank you, Lynni! And just like they applied the blood at passover, we can apply HIS blood on ourselves today… A wondrous gift that is fathomless…

  3. I had never read Psalms 23 in the ESV… beautiful! Happy Easter to you! 🙂

  4. Lynn Morrissey says:

    Oh wow! I *do* see that! Amazing! — especially since we are on Easter’s brink, and you had not planned that. It’s as if the Lord led you to post that particular drawing, and then revealed the extra blessing to you. And note how at the center of the Cross, there appears to be a light! ?And then, as you say, the joy on top……a beautiful Sunburst! I wrote an Easter post, as a guest post, for a friend’s blog and talked about that Sunburst! Glory!
    Happy Easter all over again, Pam, and thank you for Ps. 118. CAn’t wait to read it in that context.
    Love
    Lynni

    • Yes… I did see that appearance of light, but wasn’t sure if someone else would. You confirmed that to me… 🙂 God amazes me so much in these drawings… like it is hard to believe I’ve drawn it. Was that guest post at Kel’s? I haven’t had time to read that yet, but plan to… Yes, I love that psalm. So rich.

  5. Lynn Morrissey says:

    Yes, Pam, isn’t that amazing, how the Lord leads us in our work, and we don’t even know it except in retrospect sometimes. I find that too in my writing; I go back and read something and think, “Did I say that? Where did that come from?” I”m so glad that God showed you the light! 🙂 Truly, it is amazing how you put all of that symbolism into your drawing.
    Yes, the post I am referring to I guest-posted at Kel’s blog. Here ’tis:
    http://nourishsoul.blogspot.com/2013/03/eastering-by-lynn-d-morrissey-guest-post.html
    Again, blessed Easter, Pam!
    L
    L

  6. Sylvia R says:

    I love your illustration opening up this window of light, and then the connection between “He treats me to a feast” with its overflowing cup and the Luke 22 verses! What beauty and refreshment for the soul in all of this!

  7. Hushed. And yes, I see it. And I saw it first in the window pane. Beautiful.

  8. Those who know to look with the eyes of faith often ‘see’ God has been very present; in our art, in our day, in our lives.

    • Thank you, Lisa!

      I am finding so many symbols of resurrection joy in this each time I look at it today… more than I even imagined or purposed while drawing it… Today, I see “the curtain torn in two” with light streaming in behind it. The rose (THE ROSE) on the table. The jubilant light behind the “cross.” I added the pillow with the star at the last minute, and now that speaks of “The Morningstar” to me. And today I heard that the Biblical number 3 means resurrection! (There are three windows, three sections from top to bottom of the drawing, etc). I never really intended to post this on Good Friday….but I am blessed by ways He seems to have meant it to be… and to see His hand in it. I am always praying His light shine in these, but they are only houses and rooms… it’s just a blessing to me to see His hand, and to know you did too. 🙂

      I just tried to comment on your beautiful post, but it only offers one option to sign in (doesn’t work for me). Beautifully written, Lisa. I especially love your last line.

  9. Pam, this drawing just made me smile……’in the morning room.’ wow. I can see it–the cross and all–and the waiting. I especially liked the contemporary version of Psalm 23. Thanks so much for sharing this. Blessed Easter to you!

  10. Pamela says:

    I wish I could sit and look at your drawing. I keep finding more I didn’t see the first time. What a talent God has given you. Love the cross.

    Happy Resurrection Day!
    Joyfully,
    Pamela

    • Thank you for telling me that, Pamela… It amazes me to find all these things in it that I didn’t “know” I was putting in it. It may sound strange since I drew it, but I always look at these things as from Him more than me…and I keep finding more in it too. Things I didn’t purposely add… I really feel self-taught and don’t really know technically how to make certain things look as I want, and sometimes think of ways as i go along, so I give God all the glory for how these turn out. I think this one will be special to me because of all the things I am seeing in it… I am putting the original in a Christian bookstore here to sell as I’m starting this new venture in income… but I also have prints available too. I can’t frame everything I do for myself, but I think I will this one because God is speaking so much to me with some encouraging things I need to hear right now for myself… and I’m so glad it is blessing you too!

  11. Rona says:

    Stopping by for a visit courtesy of Jumping Tandem.
    I hope you and your family have a wonderful and blessed week! Happy Easter!

  12. beingwovenzephaniah317 says:

    What a blessing for me to have come here this day. God’s Word and your drawing … just beautiful. Caring through Christ, ~ linda

  13. Trinity says:

    What a lovely drawing! Have a blesses week.

  14. lolita says:

    Yes, I see it, the cross and the table and the morning room is spilling with the sunburst of God’s love and in your drawing it comes alive. I can almost feel the warmth and brightness of the room in the artwork. That is so exquisite, friend. Happy Easter of love. I was thinking of the passover too and I felt so grateful that we have been sprinkled with the blood of the lamb, even coated and soaked with it. Oh precious blood of the Lamb.

    • Yes, how precious is His blood. And Passover foreshadowed the Lord, our precious Lamb of God. Thank you, Lolita. I just praise God in all these drawings, how He seems to be leading and helping me in them… This one just speaks so much to me of his heart…Hope you had a beautiful Easter!

  15. Elizabeth says:

    Your work is AMAZING! I love ink and pen drawings, your’s are so beautifully detailed. Lovely!

    • Thank you, Elizabeth! Sometimes I’m not sure how it comes across online because the scans sort of squash the overall look for some reason… I do enjoy putting in the details. And God is amazing me with finding ways to make things turn out as I (He) envision… 🙂

  16. Pingback: When splendiferous is more than a word… | Writing… Apples of Gold

  17. Pingback: Celebrating April | Writing… Apples of Gold

Leave a Reply

