Promise unending…

    Not a single one of all the good promises the LORD had given to the family of Israel was left unfulfilled; everything he had spoken came true.                                                            – Joshua 21:45

…Like the promise of winter,  blossoming  into spring…
.
.

A few days ago, I was listening to someone sharing about coming before God with a thankful heart.

“Have you seen miracles in your own life or in others?”  he asked.  “Spend some time thanking God for them today.”

Then he added something I’d never thought of before.

“‘What if I’ve never seen a miracle,’ you wonder?  Well, then… thank the Lord for how he healed blind Bartimaeus in the gospels.  Thank him for the water turned into wine.  For the paralytic who – at one word – picked up his mat and walked.”

Wow, I thought, eyes suddenly shining.

Praise flowed from my heart like His living water.

Thank you for healing the woman with issue of blood, for giving her courage to step through a crowd and touch the hem of your garment.  Thank you for the way you looked at her with love overflowing – as you look at each of us, right now – blessing her faith.

Thank you for multiplying loaves and fishes to nourish thousands.  Again and again. 

Thank you for restoring health to many lepers, with extra gratefulness in place of the one who took that miracle without a glance back…

Thank you for miracles I do not even know you are doing in my life…this moment… those I’ve asked for, and those I don’t know to ask for…

Then, I remembered some other beautiful truths I’ve heard recently.  That the word tells us God’s ministering angels are ever waiting to perform God’s powerful promises and blessings in our lives… waiting for us to speak them out in faith, so they can bring them to pass.  How so much of the time, however, we are tying their hands with our self-negative talk.  Nothing ever goes right for me.  I’ll never make it.    And they are waiting with bated breath for us to confess His truth.  I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.  Because of Jesus, I am crowned with the Lord’s favor and songs of victory. 

And how the original Greek word for God’s power, such as the power he wants to bring into our lives as Paul prays here in Ephesians, is dunamis – meaning, mighty as dynamite:

17 I keep asking that the God of our Lord Jesus Christ, the glorious Father, may give you the Spirit of wisdom and revelation, so that you may know him better. 18 I pray that the eyes of your heart may be enlightened in order that you may know the hope to which he has called you, the riches of his glorious inheritance in his holy people, 19 and his incomparably great power for us who believe. That power is the same as the mighty strength 20 he exerted when he raised Christ from the dead and seated him at his right hand in the heavenly realms… 21

Mm…  A Holy Spirit – inspired prayer to move mountains…

And I encourage… let us think about every word we say, and give the angels God’s words from our lips to bless today…  for it is written:

    The tongue has the power of life and death,                                                                     and those who love it  will eat its fruit.                                                                                 – Proverbs 18:20-22

.

                                         Isn’t this photo glorious?
.
.
.

©  Pam Depoyan

.

Tonight I received the wonderful news from someone about how God has so lovingly answered prayers for protection and healing… making me want to once again share this timely repost from March 2012…  Praise You O Lord for Your Splendor and Holiness!

.

sharing with: 

Faith-Filled Friday
About Pam@Writing...Apples of Gold

I love to hear your thoughts, even chat back and forth amongst comments.Won't you join the conversation? :) ..................................................................................................................... May my stories refresh you, like a whisper from our Father's Heart !
This entry was posted in Reflections. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Promise unending…

  1. Wow, the verse you start with stirred up faith in my soul over some things I’m giving to God to fulfill. And the picture you ended with is a great symbol of peace and hope. Blessings to you this weekend!

    Your Missional Women Link up neighbor, Rachel from http://www.creativelyredeemingher.blogspot.com

    • Thank you for letting me know that, Rachel! It is one He is speaking again into my life right now too! I love how His word reaches right into where we are and what we need and lights us with promise and hope! Blessings to you too!

  2. lynndmorrissey says:

    Oh, Pam!!!!!!!! My eyes are brimming and shining with joyful tears. This post, as I think you know, means the world to me! And you will *not* believe this! When I saw the redbuds in purple-petaled profusion, I gasped and said, “Oh they are so glorious!!!!!” and then I read your same description below the photo! God has answered a powerful prayer for me in such a miraculous way, and yes, I will claim that it is a miracle. And I love those miracles that you have cited here, miracles which I have been reading about in Scripture in the last couple of weeks. Jesus healed those who came to Him. I believe he has healed my mother, my husband, and now me. I cannot tell you how much I rejoice in His utter graciousness and for those people like you who have so generously prayed for me! And I can’t believe that you quoted from Ephesians 1!! The 18th verse is the basis for my ministry name: Heartsight Journaling. I continuously ask Him to open the eyes of my heart so that I might have deeper insight into His will and understanding of His character…..to see below the surface of things to see His hand in all things. But when I read it here, it looked and felt different……because I suddenly realized that heartsight is also about hope and power and healing. It’s about resurrection power!!!!!, without which we would be dead in our trespasses and sins, without healing, hope, and salvation! I cannot thank you enough for this awe-inspiring post, for your friendship, and for your prayers.
    I am in your debt.
    Love
    Lynn

    • Lynn, I pray that Ephesians 1:17,18 every day now for myself and for all I lift before Him too, because you are so right, we need His revelation daily in our lives. No matter how closely we walk with him, there is always more to know and more He wants to reveal to our hearts. I love how he can suddenly make things so powerful to us, like he did with you about resurrection power. That is so true! Yes to all you said! Ephesians is one of my favorite books… so rich. I praise Him for all those miracles in your lives and how He tells us in the word that he is constantly looking throughout the earth to find those who will look to him in faith so he can move in power in our lives… Thank you for your friendship and prayers too! Like the friends who lifted their friend onto a roof and then down to Jesus, so he uses our prayers one for the other! 🙂 And yes, do claim your miracles… I love the Revelations verse that says we are healed by the blood of the Lamb and the word of our testimony (to that miracle!)

      • Lynn Morrissey says:

        Amen to all this Pam, and I love that picture of being lifted onto the roof and through it to Christ. We need our friends to lift us when we can’t lift ourselves!

  3. pam~~
    the photo of those beautiful PINK trees just takes my breath away and I feel the urge to see a place like this.. I am taking somewhat of a different “view” on your inspiring post–I am reading it at the awful hour of 4:00am– we have been up since 2:30am as PAIN decided to roar and nothing I could do to ease it–my dear, wonderful husband woke and has shared the PAIN with me. He can’t feel it as I do, but he holds me and we slowly talk our way around the PAIN…. These are the times when I feel weakened, exhausted from the Battle–I truly believe the LORD gives my husband words to get my attention, assurance that I will get through the Pain and slowly, I find some Peace and can tolerate the Pain, and gradually grab a few hours of sleep.

    I am NOT alone–the extra set of FOOTPRINTS are right beside me and I will find the inner courage and Faith to get through this….. Even in the dark hours, I can find laughter with my husband~~~thats something special and the PAIN will never take it away from us.

    Bless you for always sending a message of hope and assurance..

    love, martha

    • I have seen some like that photo, only not in such profusion in one place like this one! So awe inspiring… If you’ve ever seen Anne of Green Gables when she is riding through a lane of white blossom profusion, exclaiming in awe, that is how such trees make me feel… 🙂 I am praying for your situation on Monday, and may God’s peace surround you. I’ve been listening again and again to that scripture CD this week and how it breathes His peace and hope and assurance on me. I pray that it does the same for you… even as your husband holds you in these times. You have a blessing in him, truly. My prayers to you today, Martha…

  4. Sylvia R says:

    Great perspective on gratitude and possibilities within God’s will. This one especially ‘spoke’ to me: “Thank you for miracles I do not even know you are doing in my life…this moment… those I’ve asked for, and those I don’t know to ask for…” We really don’t keep aware enough of all the amazing things He brings about in our lives, whether asked for or not. Great thought and prayer to carry around always!

    • Yes, that is so true, Sylvia. Even just this week, when it seemed like a driver bent on pushing right into me almost seemed to go right through my car… and I immediately thanked God for His angels around me! We don’t know all that God is doing behind the scenes in our lives, fulfilling His word moment to moment…

  5. You know, sometimes it is so hard to find good right in front of us. In the process of reflecting back and praising what God has already done, it rights our perspective and we can see like never before.

Leave a Reply

