Have you ever wondered…

… about the paralytic who was lowered by friends through a roof to reach out for Jesus’ healing touch?  I’ve been thinking how he may have been weary worn.  Tired of trying to formulate prayers.  Unable to think… or wondering if he had strength to get there… or heavy of heart and burden.

And how those who came alongside him, lifted him lightly up on their refreshed shoulders.  Or maybe their own backs were aching and sorrowing for their friend’s need too.  Yet… they encouraged him to take heart… let them carry him… hold him up and bring him before the Lord.  Just to reach out and touch Him… believing against impossibilities.

Today, I am imagining the wonder and joy when he took up his mat… and walked!

And the radiance on our Lord’s face when he saw their faith and great love… one for the other…

and, though not recorded,  the light of wonder spilling across those carrying the lift receiving the touch of the Master’s healing on their heads too… their unspoken requests, pushed aside in the moment for another, heard and not forgotten …

Isn’t that a lot like our prayers?  I’ve been on the receiving end of such friends lifting me up, carrying me through.  Surrounded in hope when I couldn’t muster a word on my own.  Even somehow feeling those prayers across miles, holding me.   And blessed to be one of those interceding and lifting others in their heart aching moments too…

And as these thoughts tumble over me today,  I thought I’d re-share some others that came as a whisper to my heart a few years ago, bolstering me with promise for such a time as this…   Praying it may do the same for you now…

I’m thinking of a classic film favorite today,                                                                                   a timeless, more-than-Christmas tale.                                                                                      You know the one…                                                                                                                            It opens on a night sky tinseled with stars,                                                                                high above a wonder-filled town                                                                                              where voices are rising one by one,

Lord, my friend needs you…

                       I love my friend, O God…

                                  Watch over my friend tonight…

And, as I remember this scene,                                                                                                        I have a sudden picture in my mind                                                                                               of so many prayers going up for you,                                                                                          like sparks from a fire blowing heavenward.                                                                             Prayers of people you know…and some that you don’t.                                                        Prayers of those who care about you,                                                                                     prayers of your own…And certainly mine.

Then, in angel songs of comfort and joy,                                                                                    God reminds me:                                                                                                                            His desire is to bring you

Light…

and Life… 

and Healing…

.

© Pam Depoyan

Candle and Candlestick ClipartMalachi 4:2 (New International Version):  But for you who revere my name, the sun of righteousness will rise with healing in its wings. 

Lord, take our prayers today and use them to surround others in your light…and life…and healing – moving mountains as you said they would… (Mark 11:23)

.

Linking with:

Scattering the Stonesthankful thursdays @ http://www.scatterthestones.co.uk

Thought Provoking Thursday  

Faith-Filled Friday

 

About Pam@Writing...Apples of Gold

I love to hear your thoughts, even chat back and forth amongst comments.Won't you join the conversation? :) ..................................................................................................................... May my stories refresh you, like a whisper from our Father's Heart !
This entry was posted in God Do You See Me and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Have you ever wondered…

  1. Sylvia R says:

    Pam, this makes me think of how *I* came to *walk*—in faith, that is. It was because of just such a thing. A continent away my brother was continually and fervently praying for me when I hadn’t the sense to pray for myself. And God in His love and mercy answered his prayer and healed me of my dismal lost state and my spiritual crippledness and blindness, best kind of healing of all!

    • O Sylvia, as a prayer warrior, that leaves me awash in tears. How beautiful is our Lord who sets us in others prayers, and moves across continents to heal and draw to Himself! You speak to some lifelong prayers I had for someone too… and trusting that God used them beyond what I can know or understand right now. As He uses each one we lift… thank you for sharing that!

  2. lolita says:

    How I love the glorious rays of sunshine through the woods in the picture. It symbolizes promises and healing ang blessings.

    I pray for those rays to shine upon those we are praying for and over, Pam. May they feel the warmth of the healing oils as Jesus touches those ailing parts and see the light of His love. May these moments of need bring them closer to the ONE whose blood was bled for us and whose pain was to heal us and our lands. May His sacrifice cover us and them today and in the days to come.

    Yes, Jesus certainly uses people, ordinary people, to lift others and in so doing heals them too of spiritual and physical ails. The wonder of His love and grace shining for all, is for us to claim.

    • I love your prayer here, Lolita. Especially what you said about his “oil” – something I’ve been praying all week. Yes, yes to all you prayed here. I love that photo too. I used it once before in a “prayer corner” post and when I saw it on my file here I decided it fit today’s post too. Those rays… hope poured out upon us all. Thank you for sharing all your thoughts and prayers.

  3. Mary Gemmill says:

    Thanks Pam- this was a very special up close and personal blessing today- through it I received words of truth which encouraged me 🙂

  4. Hi Pam,

    Many thanks for blessing us with your words today. Prayer is something I treasure so much.
    Light, love, and healing.

  5. renlvsclay says:

    when I think about that story, I think about his friends carrying him as they climbed onto the roof so they could lower him down to be healed.. It reminds me that God works through people, that He loves us through others.. Thanks for the reminder 🙂

  6. Pam~~
    A posting that asks us to look deep inside our own hearts~~~stepping away from our fast-paced lives to give thanks for our many blessings, knowing other struggles will face us as Life moves on.

    I have a wonderful friend whose husband also suffers terribly with Chronic Pain–We have quickly become PAIN PARTNERS–on the worst days of Pain~~we are there for each other, silent encouragement, quiet thoughts filled with Prayer and words~~”Lord help my friend in these lowest moments of Pain.”

    We have lifted each other up from some very LOW spots–when our pep-talk ends~~~the toughest
    moment hits as we turn around to once again face our foe–PAIN, it waits for us~~entering the Battle Ground again, again,and again….

    As I reflect back on these years of Pain-slowly I am seeing them as a place of many lessons being taught~~~HE stands beside me as I learn and no matter how bad this Pain gets-my Faith is beside me, drilled deep into my soul-I feel HIS hand as I have been reaching~~~fear hitting me lately–I keep telling myself–“Something Good will come from this awful Pain” and like a light being turned on, I can see it–I push myself to sit at a computer and talk about Living with Pain.

    God Bless you Pam!! I am smiling as HE opens doors for you-and we get to see your many talents. Never give up my Friend-you are a wonderful Teacher…

    Martha

    • Martha, you are right that your being there for each other (you and your friend) is a blessing… thank you for sharing your heart as always. I think maybe I’m mostly encouraging myself as I write about prayer, trying to express thoughts I think he’s putting on my heart, not with any teaching in mind but a joy to know when the Lord also resonates them to others like you… Thank you!

  7. rkrumpe94 says:

    Beautiful…praying for a few friends of mine in the same way! Sometimes our faith is what Jesus sees as He heals the sick and wounded. Blessings to you, Love Rachael @ Inking the Heart (linking up with you at Thankful Thursdays)

  8. Diane says:

    Oh, how I’ve missed being here…

    I, too, have spent time wondering about the same story…

    I am so thankful for those who have prayed for me…

    Praying brings such a bond and for that I am so grateful!

    • Yes, I’ve been amazed at the bond that comes even when I’m praying for someone I really don’t even know personally… Sometimes it has made me full of wonder at that thought, how God can make a connection of sorts even between strangers. His heart most of all. Like Paul saying, “It is right for me to pray for you because I have you in my heart…”

      I miss seeing you here too, Diane. Blessings on all the things you are working on!

  9. Diane says:

    Precious Pam, thank you!

Leave a Reply

