Song Spilling Over

My [child], attend to my words; consent and submit to my sayings.

Let them not depart from your sight; keep them in the center of your heart.

For they are life to those who find them, healing and health to all their flesh.

Keep and guard your heart with all vigilance and above all that you guard, for out of it flow the springs of life.

                         ~ Proverbs 4:20 – 23 [AmplifiedVersion]

Maybe it’s that I’ve been scoring third grade essays lately.  Thinking in childlike terminology and seeing their world pure and simple…and sometimes even through eyes misunderstanding the question at hand.  But this week, I seem to be finding God among words that are stored in my memory from child-focused stories.

Such as… the words I once heard Ma Ingalls say to a discouraged teen student in a scene that stays in my mind like an awesome painting.  Painstakingly carving the alphabet letters she’d been teaching him, he handed them to her with his apology for deciding the prairie school could not work for him for many reasons.  Turning his beautifully formed letters in her hands, she looked up through shining eyes at this boy who mistakenly felt he was too old – or dumb – to learn what the little kids teased him for not knowing…

 “The alphabet has gotten into your heart and mind!” she startled him with jubilantly.  “And now… you’re never going to get these letters out!  You’re going to learn to read!  For now you have the word keys inside you!”

Because…Something hidden in the heart is never lost.

Similarly, I’ve been replaying a tale my friend told me of her two little boys a few weeks ago over and over in my thoughts… because it too reminds me of this word from Proverbs.  Pay attention to my words.  Hold them close to your heart.  And they will bring healing to your very bones!

A simple story that made us all chuckle, picturing the scene… Her two year old dancing around the nearly-five I’m more grown up than you brother, singing,  “Do you know you are special, you are special…”  And the elder’s just to be contrary answer of, “No, I’m NOT…”

“Where’d he hear that?”  I laughed, imagining some Kermit the Frog or Caillou inspiration behind it.  “Some TV program?”

“No… it’s from our old ‘Hide ’em In Your Heart’ bible tapes,” she explained.

The more I imagine that little voice cheerfully circling his brother with a light-filled word, the more it strikes me.  How truth filled him with a song meant to spill over.  He didn’t really know why… or that he was blessing his brother in that moment.  Still… isn’t it one the Father is singing over us each, to plant a truth within our aching, longing, oh when will things ever be [fill in your own need] hearts?  You are My beloved.  My pearl of great price.  You are so special in my heart.    

And… connecting it with Ma Ingalls’ wondrous thought… I see why God wants us to hide His words in our hearts too.  Because... once they are in there… no one and nothing will snatch them out!  Because… the more of them we put in, the more room we make for the Holy Spirit to comfort and lead and speak into our circumstances and hearts  — in the language of His Heart, His love letter to us — when we are crying out to hear Him.  Or even when we are not.

And God brings to my remembrance now, how He’s whispered back words I didn’t even know were hidden there, in so many tremulous moments…

Like the time a dear friend called to tell me she had breast cancer.  And a word almost immediately leaped into my heart like a whisper that fifteen later has proved true.  This sickness is not unto death…    I knew it was from the Bible, but I wasn’t sure where.  Until many months later when I came upon it in John 11:4 (“When he heard this, Jesus said, “This sickness will not end in death. No, it is for God’s glory so that God’s Son may be glorified through it.”)

This week, praying for another friend, a similar word keeps coming to mind:  Psalm 118:17, “I will not die but live, and will proclaim what the LORD has done.”   Right now, it is a word that plants a tree of hope into my prayers, inspires me to pray and believe boldly and audaciously like Abraham – who more than old and way past possibilities, still looked to God with unbelievably unwavering faith in the still to be seen promise……   

There have been other times too… not just about healing… but in moments I’ve needed to know He was there.  Hear a direction.  And other words have popped unbidden to my thoughts. Unusual but joyful ones like, “I will put laughter in your mouth…”  ( Job 8:21 “He will yet fill your mouth with laughter and your lips with shouts of joy.”   And Psalm 126:2, “Our mouths were filled with laughter, our tongues with songs of joy. Then it was said among the nations, “The LORD has done great things for them.”)  Or comforting ones like “I have loved you with an everlasting love…” (Jeremiah 31:3) or “Your battle belongs to me…” (2 Chronicles 20).

Thinking and remembering these things today… my heart leaps now to what David said so long ago… Your words o Lord, are like honeycomb… a light unto  my path…  and the promise Jesus gave to send us His Holy Spirit.  Lord, plant your word inside me more and more, I pray, and hide them in my heart that I may know your voice in every one…and that I may pray and sing them out and over others as well, as blessing.

And maybe… each time we do, each time we hear and proclaim them out… He is like Ma Ingalls rejoicing and proclaiming to us.  Now My Word is in you forever… 

This weekend, has some word you have hidden in your heart from His Language of Love (the Bible) been skipping around the edges of your mind?

What do you hear Him whispering in it?

.

©   Pam Depoyan

.

photos:  http://www.fotosearch.com

sharing with:

          Scripture and Snapshot

         

About Pam@Writing...Apples of Gold

I love to hear your thoughts, even chat back and forth amongst comments.Won't you join the conversation? :) ..................................................................................................................... May my stories refresh you, like a whisper from our Father's Heart !
This entry was posted in God Do You See Me, Sunday Community Devotions. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Song Spilling Over

  1. I remember the moment where Ma Ingalls could see the joy of learning falling into the heart of a child. She knew it was something nobody could ever pull away from the child.

    So many memories throughout our lives–times where a prayer has formed on our lips, finds its way to our hearts and never leaves. For me, one prayer stands out–I am always amazed at how each word softens my heart, as I relax and breathe the words in. This prayer comes in moments of Chronic Pain that beats me each day–I am worn,exhausted and then I hear my lips forming the words that stay deep in my heart~~ “Our Father, Who art in Heaven, Hallowed be thy Name. Thy Kingdom come, thy Will be Done, on Earth as it is in Heaven. Give us this day Our daily Bread and Forgive us Our Trespasses as We forgive those who Trespass against us, and Lead us not into Tempatation but deliver us from Evil.”

    Today while at church services, the Pain in my Neck rose up-throbbing, growing with each second-as my husband and others stood, I sat tightly folded~~~unable to fight the Pain and slowly I could hear those familiar words being spoken by those around me and the words began to fill my heart, helping me to get past the Pain. I grabbed my familiar prayer and held tight–just as I will do over and over.

    I thank you Pam for this post-the open sharing from your heart–a blessing needed right now, helping all to pause and remember our own special words of hope. God bless you. Martha

    • I love that too, Martha… and those words Jesus spoke are filled with the Holy Spirit. So I can see how He would be so present to you in them. And at church when all are praying together – there in the midst of you all. Thanks for sharing your heart. I’ve been thinking of you and praying for you too. May those words of hope lift you up throughout the day and week!

  2. Thank you for this. I totally agree. To hide God’s word in our heart if absolutely essential!

  3. Mary Gemmill says:

    Thank you Pam for this post- like you, I often hear the Word of God in my heart. It’s sometimes funny, sometimes reassuring. sometimes directional. He really is as close to us as our breath.
    Life has been a challenge recently- but the WORD that pops up time and again is:
    2 Corinthians 4:17
    For our light affliction, which is but for a moment, worketh for us a far more exceeding and eternal weight of glory;
    This helps me keep on keeping on! Knowing that one day it WILL seem like just a moment; [not 60 years]- and that enduring to the end will bring a wonderful reward:)

    • I love reflecting on that too, Mary… just a breath away. I was just talking yesterday with a friend across the country and it seems so many of us are stressed by so many real challenges happening right now, pulled in many directions. That 2 Cor word is a God breathed word to breathe hope, isn’t it? Thanks for sharing that. Something I have to remind myself of in those moments that seem unending…

      One of the words that seemed “funny” to me popped into my mind years before I started this blog. Apples of Gold. I had been praying for direction, and I thought, what does that mean? Then I turned around and found it on my daily flip calendar, from Proverbs. Must have read it at one time, not even knowing it. Love how He does that!

      • Mary Gemmill says:

        I do too! I keep a prayer journal on my P.C., pasting many quotes from daily blog posts- then when it is about 70 pages long, I print it and begin to read is as a devotional. I never cease to be amazed how something I have copied weeks or months before turns up on the right day/right time- our God is an Awesome God, for sure!
        Have you seen this site?
        http://bible.cc/proverbs/25-11.htm

      • Thank you, Mary. No, I hadn’t seen that. I want to take some time and read more, but what I saw gives such lovely meaning to apples of gold! 🙂

  4. billeninaina says:

    Such a lovely and important post! Storing God’s word in our hearts and minds makes it possible for Him to whisper it to us at the proper times of need – also in the lives of others!

    • Thank you! I’m always amazed at how God brings just the exact words to mind when needed! Such a beautiful knowing that I could never conjure up. And when He speaks the same word over and over again, through friends He’s spoken it into as well, or from the radio or a book. Always wondrous confirmation and hope, isn’t it?

  5. Mia says:

    Dear Pam
    Reading your post I recall so many times the words from the Bible have been such a comfort to me as well. The last few years I have really been seeking and finding the living word, our Lord Jesus, being the One who through His Holy Spirit, is dwelling in my heart. Oh, the joy, of knowing that He is nearer to me, that is now my spirit me, than I am to myself. He sees even the tiniest DNA-structures in my body. And to know that He loves me and walks with me everyday still baffles my mind, yet with gratitude.
    Blessings from Charlotte’s
    Mia

    • That is such a beautiful testimony, Mia! I am finding that too… how true it is that He is the living word, and how the Holy Spirit indwells the written word. You bless me with your words about the tiniest DNA… closer than we are to ourselves. Thank you and blessings to you today too!

  6. marty says:

    Oh, yes this is so true! These was a blessing to read and it made my heart fill to overflowing being reminded that once His word is in us it will not depart and it will accomplish all t hat He intends!
    Blessings to you this morning~

  7. Lynn Morrissey says:

    Oh Yes, Pam! God give us His Word, Jesus, who forgives and indwells us (when we repent). He give us His Word, the Bible, to comfort, direct, and admonish. And I believe He also give us His Word (rhema) to us in season–those timely words that speak directly to our hearts, which the Spirit can more easily “pull up” if we regularly meditate on Scripture. And as you have personally shown me repeatedly, we cling to Him and His Word to us, believing His and what He has told us against all “conventional wisdom.” It’s His wisdom that counts, and His Word will never return to us void. Thank you so much for such an uplifting, important reminder!
    Love
    Lynn

    • So true Lynn. And He certainly works through conventional wisdom, but ultimately I want to trust His word when it seems impossible according to convention (or the world may say it’s not “realistic”), but all things possible for Him. I keep thinking of all those who came to Jesus in the face of impossible – like lepers – and His word over them transformed all. Thanks!

  8. lolitaLolita says:

    Pam, I made a comment here yesterday and when I came back today, it hasn’t been posted.

    I can’t reword all the things I said eccept that out Pastor who preached about Acts 2:42-47 yesterday, reminded us to use scripture, memorize them, take them to heart…. just like how the early church practiced. They even posted verses on stair steps, on dooorposts, on window frames and even on their foreheads so that they can take the word to heart.

    They will come in handy in time. And how the songs God sing for us are spilling over in zillions of blessings. I love the thought of that and I will take it to heart so that discouragements will have no power over me. Amen!

    Thanks, Pam.

    • It looks like you changed your name on your sign in, as it is showing up LolitalLolita? It just made me approve your comment like a new commenter. I don’t know what happened to the one yesterday,… never saw it. But I did wonder because I got a WordPress email that you had liked this post, but it wasn’t showing up with your photo in the “like” section as it usually does. Just now it came through a couple more times and now I see it is there. Anyway now that I approved this one, your comments should come through okay.

      Thank you for sharing that about the early church!! I never heard that before! But it is something i love to do too. To write scriptures on small cards and post them around the house to keep them in my mind and heart, especially when I’m praying for someone’s healing etc. I love all you wrote and shared here. Wish I’d seen your original comment too. Thank you! Yes, discouragement shall have no power over us…

  9. Pamela says:

    Those words we heart-hide are never forgotten. A friend’s child went through 12 years of school memorizing a different scripture chapter or part of one each month. 9 a year…well over a 100 in 12 years. When going through an intense tragedy he told his mother, “I didn’t think I needed to memorize all those Scriptures, but each one has come back to me through these days.” One of my favorite Scriptures is “Thy words were good and I did eat them. They were the joy and rejoicing of my heart.”.

    • That story gives me goosebumps, Pamela. So beautiful, and in the midst of such pain. I can’t imagine memorizing that much… but I think of words of hymns and Christmas carols rich in the Word too, and how those minister back to me so much. Many times a melody from one of those will come into my head and I’m thinking what are those words? And they always end up being a word message to me too. Thanks for sharing this. I love that verse too

Leave a Reply

