Purple Majesty for Mother’s Day

Purple Majesty

              

             You can’t get a cup of tea big enough or a book long enough                                 to suit me.  ~ C.S. Lewis

.

Before we know, it’s become a game between us.  The silver-haired, lavendar-loving lady I introduced you to here — Passionate About Purple —  and I.

A game of catch as you can, get dibs, and swing into the only semi-comfortable seating in the break room.  Calling it a sofa is a stretch.  More like a worn down, little bigger than a loveseat respite, flanked by three equally spent ‘soft’ chairs.  But… in a sea of hard metal card table type seats, it’s Taj Mahal of cushion.

Go! Go! Go!” she urges me one morning as I make it across the wide room, nearly reach the door, then settle into slower stride beside her.  After all…it seems a bit rude to push by her.

“Don’t wait for me!  You can get there faster than I can!” she twinkles, with a featherlight shove to my back.

In and out of true inchworm movers in the hall, I dodge, reach the goal and land there with but a moment to spare… all the while hilarious old skit scenes from the 70’s Laugh In show are rewinding before my eyes.  Those young ensemble comedians who used to dress up as the doddering to the extreme octogenarian in the park (Artie Johnson) chasing — um, I mean, inch-shuffling — lovestruck, after the hair-netted, support hose-stockinged woman (Ruth Buzzi) who always turned and clobbered him one for even thinking he could win her!  I stifle those old childhood giggles bubbling up now.  For…here I am in the real life scene…

Each break, waiting with bated breath for the time monitoring leaders to notice — Um, c’mon! The clock is on that minute!  Holding my purse in my lap, so’s to be ready to dash before the slower ones even get out of their chairs.  For if they do, well, I might be stuck standing blocked behind them a literal full minute and a half before they even move forward…And — my buddy’s depending on me!

Digital CameraMost people seem to prefer moving towards the back of the break room.  Standing and hovering over the tea and coffee station.  Twittering and chattering like happy crows in a cornfield.  Or bursting through the glass doors, literal rain or shine, to grab a smoke.

Sooo….our only real competition is a couple of somewhat larger, older gents from another room.  Even ONE of THEM can monopolize the entire couch. If our leaders are slow on the take of releasing us by a nanosecond, they can beat us there.  And occasionally do.

Believe me… in those moments… I feel defeated by more than just a chair.   Chivalry is dead, I think, observing their oh so cool glance right through my thin, frail partner.   Though, once or twice, she braves the five inch space left beside by one hefty giant and just squeezes herself in…  Me, not so much.  And the one kind guy who does offer another woman his seat, when I know full well how much he wants it… well, he renews my faith.  One of those old-time cavaliers who charmingly, in this case, reflects his bygone era love of barbershop serenade …  🙂

Father, I sometimes pray, if you want me and Anne to share today, won’t you please put your favor on us for that couch?

And… most often He does.  Giving us once again little moments of story sharing that punctuate this temp job with LIFE.

Dare I say, even glee?

One such moment is the day I watch her truly leap out of her chair at the call of BREAK!  Close behind, I grin as she sprints and dodges forcefully… something in me purposely slowing to see her grab it.  Zippier than I remember her from last year, she casts her purse down on the seat, narrowly reaching it before another, turns to me and crows –              “We got it!”      

And in between nimble fingers flying over the rainbow of little squares she is knitting to make her annual Mother’s Day gifts for women at her church, she tells me fun and lively stories.  How she has to get up at 5 a.m. to take her daughter to a meeting stop this morning where she’ll catch a lengthy ride to a job in Canada for the week, then drop off her granddaughter at school and get here by 8:15.  If I were her, I’d be ready for a nap too.

She tells me once of an audacious young man who approached her recently in the grocery store.  Expostulates in her Why I NEVER tone.  “He actually asked me how OLD I was!”

Hiding my own wondering at her so-lined face, yet still energetic mind, I quip back.  “You should have countered him with – ‘Hasn’t anyone ever told you not to ask a lady such a question?'”

She chuckles… says she will the next time.  Ha.

Still, looking into her eyes… I try to picture the younger woman.   “I had soft brown hair in those days,” she tells me…

Other days, we talk of moms who sewed our clothes, how she used to make matching outfits, same materials, different styles… for each of her grandchildren.  She brings photos in to show me. Shares reminiscences from her childhood that make me try to envision that long ago childish curve to her cheek.

As our time dwindles down on this job to no one knows when the project will end, I bring her a little gift – one of my small pen & ink drawings of an old Mill House. She claps her hands like a child with a teacher’s prize.

One morning, she stops me on the way back to my seat, points at her screen.  “They say we are almost done on my side,” she laments.  “Oh… I’m sorry,” I whisper back.  Knowing she hoped for a few more days.   And… like last time, she seems abruptly out the door and gone…

I think again of these little teacup and saucer moments we have in life.  Like spots of afternoon tea and crumpets with someone who opens a page or two of their book to us.  Writes them somehow… into our own.  I think I’ll save one of hers recently shared for another post…  

And simply offer this one today as a Mother’s Day quilt square to you…  

 

Digital Camera

 If birds were pink, I think they’d be made of swirling dogwood blossoms… 🙂

©  Pam Depoyan

Oil and perfume make the heart glad,

and the sweetness of a friend (and mom!) comes

from earnest counsel.

Proverbs 27:9 (Parenthesis, mine)

.

Photo note:  I don’t know why my digital camera keeps dating my shots with January.  Perhaps I need to re-read the setting directions?  🙂

sharing with:

sunday-stillness-button       Beauty in His Grip Button  Tell Me a Story

A Holy Experience   

About Pam@Writing...Apples of Gold

I love to hear your thoughts, even chat back and forth amongst comments.Won't you join the conversation? :) ..................................................................................................................... May my stories refresh you, like a whisper from our Father's Heart !
This entry was posted in Living Letters and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Purple Majesty for Mother’s Day

  1. Beth says:

    This was such a delight to read. Your story did “refresh” me. Thank you. Many blessings.

  2. Janis Cox says:

    What a delightful tale. Thanks for linking to Sunday Stillness – A beautiful Mother’s Day gift.
    Blessings,
    Janis http://www.janiscox.com

  3. lynndmorrissey says:

    Thsi is so beautiful Pam…..beautifully told about two beautiful women, you and she, and that beautiful plump-cushioned couch! I can just picture it all. You are so good to spend time with her, and I know she is such a joy and blessing to you. I love elderly people, and am saddened to say thatboth my grandparents and great aunts and uncles are all gone now–even my father. How I treasured each one. Each was a vibrant color in the variegated quilt of memories that comfort me still with their love. Thank you so much for sharing!
    Love
    Lynn

    • I know what you mean, Lynn. Older people have such stories to share, and so much to offer. I get a kick out of those like Anne in this story too…and think she enjoyed talking to me too. I’m sorry at all your losses too… but joyful for your quilt of memories still with you. Thanks for sharing that too!

  4. laura says:

    Pam, this has me smiling wide :). Love picturing the two of you this way. Such a beautiful God-image. So Lovely.

  5. Sweet friends older friends, good friends. Thanks for such a lovely story of enjoying the company of a friends. Your photos are beautiful. I love those purple trees! Thank you for sharing at “Tell Me a Story.”

  6. Sylvia R says:

    Thanks for sharing this fun friendship story. Sad how friendship can get fragmented so quickly today with so many “temporary” situations. I hope you get to see this delightful lady again!

    • Thanks, Sylvia! Yes, I guess some people are only meant to touch our lives briefly and vice versa… Or in certain moments. I’ve sometimes thought that about strangers I’ve talked with on planes, for example. But amazing to think about how one day in heaven it will be unending… 🙂

  7. nancyhsturm says:

    Thanks for knitting with words such a lovely Mother’s Day gift!

  8. lolita says:

    Do the dogwood blossoms change hue? It is pinkier at close-up and purple pink in the distance. I remember the lady who loves all tones of purple, your lunch time mate most often while you were in your old office. How you shared a sacred friendship which transcends age gap.

    That purple tree is certainly a tribute to the sweet lady you shared tea breaks with.

    Happy Mother’s Day to her wherever she is. Oh so love your recounts of those moments, Pam. I also love to find sequiels of your Mom’s escapades of life as a new citizen of the US. I could still recall how she retrieved your cousins back then.

    Huhummmnnnn……..

    • Dogwoods are in various colors. Some of my neighbors have white ones (like the little photo in my post following this one. Others are pastel yellow. Mine is a softer pink and not as lush as my next door neighbor’s… which is the fuller pink one in the picture in the center of this post. My tree never looks as beautiful as hers… but I can see hers from my living room, so that is just as nice for me. The purple tree off in the distance is another kind of tree. Not sure what that is. Maybe a mulberry.

      Not sure what you mean about my mom’s escapades… maybe my grandmother? My mom was born here. But I am glad you are enjoying the back stories here too… 🙂

      • lolita says:

        Oh, yup I meant your grandma’s story.

      • And yes, you asked about changing hue of the blossom trees… As the flowers age and are dying, they do fade a bit. Mine is pretty much losing it’s vivid color right now. They will eventually drop off and then the tree will be all green. In the fall they do turn somewhat purpley red though…

Leave a Reply

