A River Flowing Balm

Digital Camera

.

And they heard the voice of the LORD God

walking in the garden in the cool of the day…

the presence of the LORD God amongst the trees of the garden.

Genesis 3:8

.

Digital Camera

.

When I woke, just after seven o’clock, and got up and went to the window, I opened it to the mournful cooing of the dove standing sentinel on the neighboring roof line and a soft shimmer of dew upon the flowers and grass.  There was a refreshing in the air, and a gentle, rain-washed breeze playing through the wind chimes on my porch, and the color radiance  of the lone amethyst tree across the way gloriously reflected in an entire nearby picture window…and the peaceful, clean-linen scent of blossoming spring.

As I peeked from the window out over the deck to the tip of white ironwork bench below, where the blue hydrangea sway and glisten unto the sun and I could picture sun dappled light and shadow over the sweet bonnet-faced pansies and raspberry dahlias and the rock bed river beneath… all the little things of worry, seemingly justified or not, began to feel far-flung and impossible and dream-like.

Here in my little cul de sac, morning was just beginning to dance her shadow lights across the gazebo out beyond, and over lawn and flowering bushes.  Trees wearing their fresh-painted coats of a green still sprigged with pear blossom, never brighter than in May, were not concerned for any fears or imaginings or worry-laced  tears shed.  Lilting notes of one bird calling to another echoed back and forth, unaware.

A robin ran suddenly across the porch railing like a tightrope walker, then down and over the lawn in quick, staccato movements.  The mourning dove flew as if blindly, near-missing my window… then perching on a wicker chair, its beak moving soundlessly, like a movie that has suddenly gone silent… as if it were pondering, momentarily dazed. Just then, a squirrel broke the quiet and ran chittering up the tree across the way.

Every one oblivious to homes around… each one fresh and new with a cold milk pitcher dip of morning.

Soon, I would be opening other windows to cool-breezed air and birdsong and breathing in the scent of warm oatmeal bubbling with fresh fruit stirred in… and filling a water jug and taking it outside to refresh my flowers — those little pansy faces like maids a milking — and lifting my own face to light and breeze and wanting nothing more… in this moment… than to be.

Here… reaching back to His outstretched palm…

Lifting those concerns that in the dark of night seem weighty but now are light as white eyelet-scalloped dogwood petals I throw into the wind…where He catches them with His right hand and flings them far, far, far away and into the wave-foaming sea.

And I can hear the rhythm of His heart as He walks here… in the garden with me… and the settling of my own… as He sings of promise and hope that covers all, and of fresh anointings on all the work of my hands and more, and of new beginnings and grace-washed tomorrows where fear and doubt are no longer allowed…

And He is beckoning me to let go of them even now… and forever…

And I say yes.  Yes to the peace and quietude He serenades through birds and sunlight on flowers and fresh breezes… and to life.  And to trusting to simply refusing worries and taking every thought captive.  And replacing them with hope…And to knowing His word never fails, because the peace He pours out is like the never-ending oil in the Shunammite woman’s jug.  (2 Kings 4.)

Even in the later on… when the gardeners will pull in across the way, tugging red flatbed behind, obstructing the view and starting in with roaring machines and temporary discordance.   Bees will begin their humming and butterflies come winging in the afternoon.  In the evening, a bunny or two might settle warm upon my lawn until some car should come to chase them off to hollow and home.

But in this moment before day would soon begin, serenity hugged our circle of homes like Hands cupped around us, warm as tea.  This peace…it will always be.  A river flowing balm.

.

 Digital Camera

©   Pam Depoyan    (The above is my little exercise in descriptive writing  a la Daphne Du Maurier whose lyrical words have been lately singing across the pages of “Rebecca” to me once more…)   

.

.

Digital Camera

And a river went out of Eden to water the garden…

Genesis 2:10

.

.

.

Note:  If you click on any of these photos, they will enlarge…  I can’t get enough of seeing the details in the flowers, myself… 🙂  Just playing with my camera these days…

.

Sharing with:

WEDNESDAY'S WORD            Beauty in His Grip Button

A Holy Experience 

About Pam@Writing...Apples of Gold

I love to hear your thoughts, even chat back and forth amongst comments.Won't you join the conversation? :) ..................................................................................................................... May my stories refresh you, like a whisper from our Father's Heart !
This entry was posted in Literary Flights of Fancy, Wonder Moments and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to A River Flowing Balm

  1. lynndmorrissey says:

    Simply exquisitely descriptive and peaceful and yet again, hope-filled. That is what I always love about your posts, Pam. They are filled with beauty and hope and HIM! And this is such an important reminder. How often at night, long after my husband Michael is blissfully fast asleep, I lie cowering under covers of fear, where courage from which courage has lost since flown. But you remind me that there is always a new dawn, a new day, a new dream from God. There is always hope in the sunrise. And this gives *me* the courage to rise too! Thank you for sharing!
    Love
    Lynni

  2. Yes, my little take on Daphne’s description of her main character looking out over the peace of Manderley in a moment when all fears were mounting… I thought it would be fun to write more pieces here like they were part of a novel too…

    It is so true. At night things can seem so impossible, but God does bring hope in the morning! Thank you for your encouraging words, Lynn. They mean a lot. Even right now, in the peace and loveliness of the afternoon, and birds are singing into my open window by my porch overlooking the dogwood… I want to get out there again right now and walk, for tomorrow starts another bit of work. Praying for you!

  3. Janis Cox says:

    Beautiful vision of peace. Thanks for linking up at Wednesday’s Word.
    Blessings,
    Janis http://www.janiscox.com

  4. Mary says:

    I can picture it in my mind – so beautiful, calm, peaceful! Breathing in that peace. Gorgeous photos here, too! Thank you so much for sharing this!

  5. Sylvia R says:

    Gasp! I’m catching my breath! Beautiful! The pictures, the words. I’m just breathing it all in with you, and exulting in just the being. And yay to your yes! Blessings to you, sister. Thanks for the so lovely share!

  6. lolita says:

    Pam, I was almost peering out the window with you and saw all the things you saw. So wonderfully reflective. And as always, “weeping endures for the night, but joy comes in the morning!” It is my song as I see the hope in every little things that brings happiness to you and to me.

    Thanks for the balm of your very voice in my early morning reading from here.

    Spring is God’s way of showing us that there is always hope like dews on leaves and on the faces of pansies and petunias and hydrangeas.

    I am reaching out to His outreached palm, lifting up all my cares for the day and thanking Him for a new day to Praise ang glorify Him. His seranade in the tweets of the birds and His kisses on sunlit petals are enough reasons to lift up our gaze and our hands to magnify Him.

    Amen to all these, Pam. Blessings to you!

    • Lolita, may spring and whatever special beauty you have there right now keep lifting your heart to Him as you describe. I know His heart is so blessed by your heart of praise to Him. I’m so glad you could see all those things through my words and pictures here too. I was thinking of you clicking on them to see them in detail… especially the white dogwood. I think there must be different varieties, because this white one of a neighbors is so beautiful in it’s flat flower profusion… like scalloped lace. Blessings to you too!

      • lolita says:

        I wish we had dogwoods or apple and cherry blossoms. We have a few varieties which only grows in the north where it is cooller. We have fragrant bloossoms of the narra tree but the yellow flowers are too tiny. You can appreciate them when they carpet the grounds because the trees are gigantic. There are pale flowers on a variety which only blooms in summer. I love your picture more and I certainly love that little corner where the garden chair is….. I can envision the river flowing through from the original Eden stream. GBU.

        P.S.
        I like Kel’s “washes all my worries away” comment about the picture you painted for us from your window. And yes, I will sometime describe my own window where the birds chirp early on the trees beyond and the mountain village that I can see through our kitchen pane.

      • Yes, the rock bed and the way it is laid out remind me of a river… and that quote. Your trees sound beautiful too. Like what I have seen in Hawaii many years ago… 🙂 I’d love to read your description from your window sometime. 🙂 It could even be from a window you remember from another time in your life too… thanks, Lolita. I don’t remember seeing cherry blossoms or dogwoods in the state I grew up in either… but they are plentiful here…

  7. kelrohlf says:

    Pam- Your description of your view from the window washes all my worries away and makes me want to be more attentive to my surroundings and to try my hand at writing scenes as if from a novel…what a great encouragement. Thanks!

    • Oh, I’m so glad this inspired you, Kel! Thank you for telling me that. It is fun to try this way of writing. I don’t know that I’ll ever write a real novel or fiction piece, but I do love writing non fiction as if it were fiction, using the story form, and the descriptive. Yes, do try your hand at it! It blesses me most of all to know it washed your worries away reading this! Thank you…

  8. Barbie says:

    Oh wow, I can sense the beauty of the Lord and His overwhelming peace! Have a beautiful day!

  9. kaseyparr99 says:

    Beautifully written. Even without the photo’s you painted a lovely picture. Blessings, Kasey

  10. Isn’t it just simply glorious what is going on around us. Your beautiful description paints a picture not so different than my own, Utterly splendid!
    Hugs,
    Kelly

  11. Lynn Morrissey says:

    Pam & Kelly,
    I hadn’t realized that you had commented still on this post (and mine)! Oh how dear the two of you are to say that. I’m so very grateful. THank you so much!!!
    Love
    Lynni

Leave a Reply

