One-A-Day

Digital Camera

“…you refresh my life.

You are true to your Name…”

~  Psalm 23:3 [Contemporary English Version]

.

Feeling dogged lately?

Wondering why it is that sickness seems to be following you everywhere… time after time? Like you are just getting through to get past?  A sitting duck, waiting for the next blow from nowhere?  Almost anticipating it?

I have.

And a question has long been on my heart in prayer.  Are we supposed to just be enduring… letting waves crash and carry us wherever they may?  Is that God’s Heart when He calls Himself Jehovah Rapha,  the Lord God Your Healer?

Lately, I’ve been struck by Proverbs 4: 20-24: “Turn your ear to my words.  Do not let them out of your sight, keep them within your heart; for they are life to those who find them and health to one’s whole body.” [NIV] 

More and more I am conscious of practicing preventive “medicine.” I try to eat healthy, antioxidant foods all the time.  I see the doctor when necessary. I am setting my feet to walking, to being out in the sunshine even just 20 minutes whenever the weather cooperates.  (And, albeit minus sun, even when it doesn’t…)

And as I’ve prayed about maintaining (or restoring) maximum health, I’ve had one recurring thought.  What about His living water?  He has given us foods that naturally build up our immune systems.  How much more in the watering of the Word?

I think I am often running on Word-dehydration.  A sprinkling here or there.

But what if I purposed to “take at least one ‘health-FULL’ word a day and let it soak into my innermost being as truer than any negative symptom  coming against me… like a God-prescribed daily vitamin?   Before something strikes… or double/triple/quadruple-up when it already has.   Thwart the Thief (the devil) who is come to steal and destroy… and celebrate the Lord who has come to give me Life.  (John 10:10)

What if I put more faith in what the LORD God says than in what things appear like, or what the world says, or what seems impossible? (Or take my eyes off what I’ve experienced in the past or seen someone else go through and keep expecting His word above even that…)

My Words bring health to your whole body…   I will plant you like a tree by streams of water, and you will flourish…  

And so, I thought — starting tomorrow (Sunday, June 2) — I would set up a little corner of this blog to do just that. Opening in the Old Testament and going through Revelations.  Searching out those vitamins He’s given to bring us health to our whole body and spirit!

Word-antioxidants!

In keeping with STILL Sabbath weekends and Sunday Scripture and a Snapshot (links you may often notice on my weekend posts), I want these to be brief, tidbit devotions.  Mostly just a verse, a prayer, a thought to ponder.  Let His Word do the talking to our spirits most of all…

Like David in Psalm 103, I long to get in a habit of pushing out the negative things that only seem true — and tell my innermost being what IS true…every day… To bless the Lord!  And to remember all His benefits… that He forgives all my sins, heals all my diseases, redeems my life from the pit, crowns me with love and compassion, satisfies my desires with good things so that my youth is renewed like the eagle’s. 

Won’t you join me?  Starting tomorrow and ongoing each weekend, you’ll find these verses in a new category on the right of my blog… under God’s Health-full Word for Me…  any time you want to soak them in.

.

Digital CameraPrayer:  Father, with my camera, I can only try to capture the radiance you paint all around me.  Shadow lights on stately trees with graceful arms uplifted… morning glory on my shoulders…pale yellow stars laid out on leafy branches.  Every part, strung together with melodious birdsong.  All this pointing me back to your promises for life-renewing hope.  And so, I pray…

Plant and steep your Word in me so that it is overflowing rivers of health into all that I am… change my thoughts from accepting as impossible when you yearn to write MORE on my soul and even in my physical well being. Each one of Your holy names is like a window to who you are.  Holy Spirit, reveal to me…and to all who pray with me here… the beauty of your Name, Jehovah Rapha, in fullness we have only yet begun to know.  In healing miracles big or small…I give you all the glory.  Amen.

.

©  Pam Depoyan

.

P.S.   I’d love to make this interactive as well… and look forward to your thoughts on any particular verse.  If God encourages you or shows you something in one of these scriptures — or if you have a prayer need that you would like readers here to lift up — please come often to this little corner of His Health-Full Words and leave a comment!  Let us be encouragers one to another and drink together of His Living Water…  🙂

Sharing with:

      Scripture and Snapshot    

About Pam@Writing...Apples of Gold

I love to hear your thoughts, even chat back and forth amongst comments.Won't you join the conversation? :) ..................................................................................................................... May my stories refresh you, like a whisper from our Father's Heart !
This entry was posted in God's Health-Full Word for Me. Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to One-A-Day

  1. child of God says:

    Hi there!! I’m visiting from The Weekend Brew.
    Yes!! We need hydration both physically and spiritually. What a great idea you have for God’s Word.
    As I was reading your post I was thinking ‘detox’. A healthy detox is water with half a lemon, half a lime, half an orange squeezed with fresh mint leaves and a dash of cayenne pepper. God’s Word also acts like a spiritual detox, cleansing us from the worldly voice, repairing the damage done and filling us with His Living Water that gives life!

    Blessings,
    <

    • I like that citrus detox recipe! Sounds refreshing… Yes, I love that His word cleanses us, and that He promised us living water in Him. I always grew up learning that His Spirit lives in the Word, but I think I’m just beginning to get a glimpse of what He has for us in it. And how the devil tries to keep us from it. Living water – yes! Thank you for visiting and for your encouraging words!

  2. lynndmorrissey says:

    Pam, I am taking a little blogging (meaning commenting) break because, indeed, I am very ill having experienced a viral infection and now pneumonia. But I knew you would be writing on this subject, and couldn’t resist reading. I had just prayed in my journal, asking Jehovah Rapha for health and healing, realizing that He does want our wholeness. Amazingly, I had just read in Ps. 92: “The righteous will flourish like a palm tree, they will grow like a cedar of Lebanon; planted in the house of the Lord, they will flourish in the courts of our God.They will still bear fruit in old age, they will stay fresh and green.” I also prayed a prayer based on Ezek. 37, where the Spirit of God breathes life into dead bones. I prayed, asking the Lord to breathe life back into my lungs and to strengthen my bones. I’ve been ill nearly two weeks and am very depleted. I am asking to be restored and to flourish–to be fresh and green! (Please don’t think Kermit!) I love this idea of flourishing. I long to be green and vibrant and strong. Cedars are strong. My birthday is Monday, and I am praying for healing and health, vibrancy and flourishing. I would love to have luncheon out with Mother, Michael, and Sheridan. I pray I’m strong enough to do that. I know I still need to take a blogging break, because I need rest and restoration……and then to resume all the preparation for a trip to the British Isles, but I think it has actually been very healing to read your hope-and-truth infused post and to take it deep into my soul–that good medicine to which you refer. I need to keep these words of truth in my heart as health to my whole body. I agree that we must also care for our bodies. I don’t always do that and need to be more mindful of it. But in this case, whatever this is, really hit hard. I did nothing to bring it on. Having said that, I think that we live in a fallen world and bugs and bacteria exist–and certainly Satan can attack our bodies. But this is NOT as it is meant to be, as you so encouragingly point out. And we don’t have to accept it. So I am running to Jehova Rapha for healing and for flourishing and for the strength to continue in His work for me and to take that trip w/ my family. Bless you for all you do here precious saint of God! And yes, I’d covet your prayers!
    Love
    Lynni

    • Lynn, thank you for reading and I am so glad this is blessing you in the midst of your sickness. I know how draining it must be on you! One thing that I want to do in this little Health-full corner too is to make the verses personalized, put our names into them. I want to turn to God and ask His healing in all of us, and then I believe He is in the midst of our praises and His Word as we begin to actually declare it’s truth over ourselves. For example, I love those verses you quoted. God seems to be leading lately to write verses like that on an index card (or in my journal) and pray along these lines: Thank you Father that your word says I will flourish like a palm tree! I thank you that even now, before I see it, you are planting me as a cedar of Lebanon, and making my health and well being to grow strong as a cedar tree! I declare your word is true in me because you said it, even before these pneumonia symptoms are completely gone. Thank you that you are even now breathing life into my “dead bones.” That you are going ahead of me to this trip and restoring me. No longer will I be depleted, but instead i am flourishing and bearing fruit according to your word!

      I agree in prayer with you for all of these promises… His Word is filled with His Spirit and holds life even as we speak them out in prayer. Happy Birthday, Lynni! May His words be medicine to your throat, lungs and all your renewed like an eagle strength.

  3. lynndmorrissey says:

    Oh you’ve brought tears to my eyes. I can’t tell you how grateful and uplifted I am, Pam. Truly! And you have done something that I haven’t in a long time. I like rather than asking God to “flourish” me, you are thanking Him for doing it. What a subtle, yet POWERFUL shift!!!!! I makes such a differenc.e I will do this from now on. Thanks for showing this to me, Pam. And thank you…..not till Monday, but thank you!

    • Yes, you said it so well! A subtle, but powerful shift. And one that I am recognizing that David did in the psalms (I never noticed it before). He is always stating things as though they already were done. Once we pray, then turn it into “an it is already done because you said it” kind of praise prayer, I’m finding for me that it is an act of stating our belief that God is true to His word. And combating the devil’s lies with God’s Word of truth, like Jesus did in the desert… It hit me too when Jesus says that to people who come up to Him for healing and tell Him they already know that His word is enough (like the centurion who told him He only had to say the word and he knew his servant would be healed) — and Jesus says He is amazed to find such faith. And psalm 107:20 is one of my favorites because it says he HAS sent that word! Bless you, Lynn!

  4. Barbie says:

    “Plant and steep your Word in me so that it is overflowing rivers of health into all that I am”. Oh I love this. I have to admit that there are too many days were I am trying to live off yesterday’s manna. His Word is life to me, health to my body and nourishment for my soul. Thank you for sharing!

    • Me, too… And there is something about reading and hearing the word together that brings that life too. I can be praying them from memory, or trying to, but reading and then declaring them steeps them for me. Thank you for telling me that, Barbie!

  5. What a fabulous idea! I love this and look forward to these posts!

  6. Too often we do try to get by on yesterday’s Word from the Lord. But His Word is life to all of our bones, like you said. I’ll be looking forward to your posts of His healthful words.
    Blessings,
    Janis

  7. I totally needed to be reminded today that God is true to His name. Thank you so much!

  8. Linda Stoll says:

    mmm … refreshment, restoration, rejuvenation … healing

  9. Beth says:

    What a lovely idea and I look forward to following. I know there are days when I push His Word to the side, but it is His Word that gives me life. We need to seek Him daily. Thank you for sharing your heart to beautifully and honestly. Blessings, Beth.

  10. Your picture looks so peaceful, and your prayer “pointing back to God’s promises” is what I hope for, too.

    • Thank you, Jennifer! Just walking around taking photos lately… this is a view I look on every day, and it is especially beautiful and lush after rains… something about a gazebo that speaks to me of His peace too… I just loved the light on that tree trunk and wanted to capture it too, so like a painting! Yes, let us keep that hope strong in our hearts! Thank you for sharing your words here!

  11. lolita says:

    I shouldn’t have missed this one.

    Oh for the living water that flows and cleanses the soul. This is a very beautiful analogy of taking one’s healthy share of water and taking the needed amount of spiritual water to cleanse our thoughts. Yes as someone up there says like a detox. It does apply to our sould.

    Thank you, Pam and for the beautiful prayer for Him to fill us up and help us soak ourselves in His promises of healing, sustainance and protection.

  12. Trinity says:

    Absolutely! By HIS stripes, we are already healed!

Leave a Reply

