Character of God: Call Me…Rapha — Day 1

Digital Camera

24 And the people grumbled against Moses, saying, “What shall we drink?” 25 And he cried to the Lord, and the Lord showed him a log (or, tree), and he threw it into the water, and the water became sweet.

There the Lord made for them a statute…saying, “If you will diligently listen to the voice of the Lord your God, and do that which is right in his eyes…I will put none of the diseases on you that I put on the Egyptians, for I am the Lord, your healer. (Jehovah Rapha)”

Exodus 15:24-26, English Standard Version (ESV)

Digital Camera

Prayer:

Father.  O, Father.  So many times I have thought of your Old Testament people as fickle followers who crazily turned to their own handmade idols, time after unbelievable time — all while you never stopped hovering in a cloud of Love over them.  “How could they not see?”  I have wondered.  Yet, maybe today’s idols are just more subtle?  Do you look at me and yearn, because you want me to see?

This Exodus verse is a Word steeped in days before Jesus gave His broken body, poured out His blood for us.  Days when you revealed how just trying to meet commandments could never “work,” because there is no way for us to “be good enough” for your holiness.  And so… your Son took our place.  HE became our Holiness.  Opened the way for us to be cleansed, made us whole in all ways, blessed us to walk right into your Throne Room as heirs.  Made righteous in and through Him.   I am only just beginning to know what that truth – heirs made righteous – encompasses.  A child of the king.

That’s why… I don’t believe you have “put diseases” on us since the Cross.  Instead, our adversary (the devil) continues to roam this world, seeking those he may deceive or steal Jesus’ victory from…  (John 10:10)  And you want us to take your Word deep into our hearts…to combat lies (even sickness coming against us) with Who You Tell Us You Are as our overcoming strength.

In this passage, I hear Jesus wooing me today.  Like a Singer tenderly crooning to my soul.  Listen to My Voice.  Follow Me..  Take My Hand.  Believe against what seems logical… know… open up your hands and receive all I have for you.  For I – I – AM the LORD, YOUR HEALER.

Exodus.  The bringing of your people out of slavery.

And… on your say so, Lord… I lift up my open palms to You this day.  I want to listen for you, hear Your Holy Spirit leading.  Stand sure in your armor (Ephesians 6) with the belt of truth girding my core being, the helmet of salvation on my head, the sword of your word in my hand, the shield of faith thwarting all fiery darts of despair — that the devil’s deception cannot enslave me.   I receive that Truth over all my needs for health.  And thank you for it…before I actually see it come to pass

Like the psalmist, I say — restoration… renewal… deliverance… victory… resound inside me!  For YOU, O Lord, ARE My Healer.   Thank you Jesus, for being the “tree” that TODAY makes your free gift of living water sweet!  Amen.

.

Digital CameraThought to ponder…

Am I holding back from ways you want to heal me?  Do I feel… unworthy… like it is possible for others, but not me?  How can I know you more as God MY Healer?

©  Pam Depoyan

Sharing with:

      Scripture and Snapshot    

About Pam@Writing...Apples of Gold

I love to hear your thoughts, even chat back and forth amongst comments.Won't you join the conversation? :) ..................................................................................................................... May my stories refresh you, like a whisper from our Father's Heart !
This entry was posted in God's Health-Full Word for Me and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Character of God: Call Me…Rapha — Day 1

  1. rkrumpe94 says:

    Beautiful words from your heart to the Lord! Lord, hear our prayer…

  2. How we need the Healer! And to know that we are heirs made righteous, will always be a mystery as to why He loves us so much. Thanks for sharing your open heart heart towards him.

  3. lolita says:

    “Yes, Lord. I pray for myself and for others who maybe in situations like those of the Exodos people who were busy complaining and failed to see that God is among them all the time, in pillar of clouds or fire to light the night, yet they continued to looke for things further. I might also be in that situation, Lord. So please make me see, make others see that you are just at hand, amidst us….. might it be that there things that block the flow of healing or blessings. Help me to see and help others too.”

    Pam, this is so beautiful and so simply illustrated. I also sometimes forget that there is narry a wish for bad things in our God for He is pure and perfect and holy. It is the enemy who inflicts disease. And I remember Job’s predicament. Lucifer challenged God over the rightteousness of Job and God allowed for Job to be tested.

    You are so right in suggesting that we declare scripture over our situations, in any situation that we are in, even in praise so that our heart and mind maybe full of them. We speak and reack our of the abundance of our heart….. anger or any negative things wouldn’t raise their flags over us. We have been redeemed and made into courageous, brave, with power and full of love.’

    “True honey on our tongues indeed. May we ooze with them and affect others around us. Amen!”

    • I agree with you in prayer, Lolita…

      Thank you for your words about this and joining in the prayer. I’ve been having fun with my camera in my neighborhood again. Love that gazebo outside my window view… And after our rain everything so green! Yes, let us declare what God declares… May our words be sweet too. Thank you!

      • lolita says:

        Amen, I will always remember that. Because it is a shame that I call myself a Christian and know our sweet Lord and yet I got bile in my tongue. Yeah!

  4. Barbie says:

    Praying this prayer right along with you today! Lord, come and heal!

  5. lolita says:

    I love the gazebo picture and the emerald in your lawns. It is something I treasure seeing parts of where you are, Pam. And you take very nice images. Thanks for sharing them to us.

  6. cmjenniferm says:

    These are beautiful words to our Healer.

  7. Pingback: Day 9: When Even The Trees Look Like Sunday | Writing… Apples of Gold

Leave a Reply

