Dappled Peace And a Touch of British Isle

Digital Camera

.

.

Peace…be. 

I’m driving around town Sunday afternoon, searching out English countryside-style architecture and gardens to photograph for you here… when peace, gold-leafed with sunlight and shadows dancing across woodwork and stone and carved words of blessing and Old World doorways and pillars and wrought iron fretwork lanterns and gates, taps me on the shoulders.  Perches there… soft as…         pillowed rest.

Birds are chittering gleefully, merrily singing… winging… everywhere, punctuating otherwise quiet gardens with melodies of praise… running across stone bannisters and feathering their tiny footprints soft upon the ground…  as I ponder where else I’ve seen the quaint charm I’m seeking…

I remember the stately church on the corner of one of our most beautiful tree-lined streets — the one where one of our presidents grew up, sang His Sunday songs of worship in the pews, was married and later farewelled to heavenly realms from…beneath the pealing bells…

And stopping there with camera in hand, I find these words carved above the threshold…

Peace…be.

Little evidences of His heart…strewn and hidden and set about for me…and you… to find.  Here, there and everywhere.  Like a parent who has planted secret clues to a scavenger hunt… only these are more like lantern lights, flickering hope along the way home…

Reminding me, somehow,  of more…

Of inspiring quotes I saw handwritten on cards at a friend’s home the other night… truths about prayer and beauty and turning hearts to God lilt behind my eyes in memory, like sweet reflections through leaded-pane windows that illumine others…

Others… from His Word... verses I’ve penned out upon little 3×5’s and posted about my own home on fridge and sometimes on mirrors.  Places where my eyes will fall on them, and I will read them aloud, or whisper them to my spirit…  To say, Lord, I believe Your Word in my situations… more than I believe what seems to be … I’m thanking You that not one of Your promises has failed…  Words I’ve drunk daily, deeply, into my spirit in times of need, then watched Him bring to water into wine fruition in wholeness and deliverance and grace

And of a tender story I heard the other night…  A mother, recounting a night of God’s wonder in her little boy’s room, as she prayed over her ill and deeply slumbering child.  Whispered out truths… praying from a place of victory He has already won, so that she was not battling for victory against the Enemy of our lives, but as Jesus did in the desert, holding up her sword of the Word from a place already in His victory…standing in heavenly armor…raising the shield of faith against the arrows coming against her son…

Lord, your word says he is healed by your stripes (1 Peter 2:24).  That You heal all our diseases (Psalm 103).  You set your angels about us to keep us from falling (Psalm 91).  The enemy has no right to us, we are washed in Your blood… You have told us to pray in the authority of Your Name above all names… Greater is He who is in us than he that is in the world…  In Jesus’ name I pray…

“A-MEN!” piped her child in his daytime voice, making her jump.

Shocked, she stole over to his bed… bent over.  But his chest was still quietly moving up and down, no sign of waking.

She resumed her whispers, and again as she came to the end, his little voice chimed in.  Amen!

How could he pray with her when he was asleep? she wondered, puzzled even as a thought warmed her.  His body may be asleep, but his spirit is awake to Me…

And in the morning… her boy was up and running and well…

Peace…be.

I remembered then… waking in the middle of the other night with a prayer tumbling out from my lips…  And how I’ve often wondered if God can have us actually praying while we sleep…

Though your body may be asleep… your spirit is awake to Me…

And as I step into a secret alcove of a garden spot around the corner of the church, into dappled sunlight and English lavender, I click my camera with that song of peace winging all around… in lyrics to an age-old psalm…

Sing Halleluia to the Lord…

(Thanking Him too, for bits of the England of my dreams even here in my own back yard…  🙂 )

Peace be to you and yours in this very moment…washing away every anxious thought…His dappled grace on your pillow this night.

©  Pam Depoyan

Digital Camera

 

P.S.

Like the man behind the curtain, ignore the false date in front of the bush… ha.

Can any of you photographers out there tell this digital novice how to stop my little Vivitar digital camera from putting dates on my photos?  🙂

.

Sharing with:

  Tell Me a Story  HeatherWord Filled Wednesday Linkup

About Pam@Writing...Apples of Gold

I love to hear your thoughts, even chat back and forth amongst comments.Won't you join the conversation? :) ..................................................................................................................... May my stories refresh you, like a whisper from our Father's Heart !
This entry was posted in God's Health-Full Word for Me. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Dappled Peace And a Touch of British Isle

  1. Being Woven says:

    And you bless me, dear Pam, for this beautiful piece of peace. I feel soothed in the reading, freed by the Truth, enveloped by Him. Thank you for following His light to dappled my path with Him this night.
    Caring through Christ, ~ linda

    • Oh, Linda… that was my prayer as I wrote this. I almost waited till tomorrow, tired after work. But it wouldn’t let me go…

      May His dappled light of peace watch over your sleep tonight! Thank you for sharing those words with me…

      P.S. I just read your beautiful prayer at your blog… such a sacred echo to what I wrote here (though yours came first, I only just read it). I meant to add that Phil. verse about thinking on all things lovely too…

  2. Beautiful post. I love each of the Bible passages you shared. I am so thankful for His peace.

  3. Lori says:

    Timely, thank you for your encouraging words.

  4. When there is so much unrest among us, it is so wonderful to realize that Jesus is still speaking and saying “Peace Be – – -” Thank you for sharing this inspirational story with us here at “Tell me a Story.”

  5. And I’m a very grateful lady that he dapples His grace [and mercy, and kindness] on my pillow at night [and day] as a sleeper, rejoicer in my heart. I loved the little bit of driving in England… around and about a bit … and I’d love to get back there again sometime, but probably never again. Love the photos, your sharing heart.

    Thank you.

    • Thank you Joanne! I appreciate your kind words!

      I’ve never been to England yet… someday. But always have been so attracted to all things Brit, it seems. Since childhood when I began devouring novels by English writers… And it struck me how so much of our architecture here is influenced by that English stonework. So just wanted to see how much I could find around… 🙂 Everyone I talk to lately or read online seems to be going there. Maybe you will get back someday 🙂 Glad you enjoyed my “little bit of driving there, and the photos (more to come)…” I’m so grateful for all that “dappled peace’ too!

  6. Sylvia R says:

    Ah, to be like that little boy, tuned in even in sleep to Our great and dear God, praying Amen to His promises! God grant it…

  7. Beautiful words and beautiful pictures to bring it home. Thank you for such an encouraging post.

    • Thank you, Hillary, for your encouraging words! 🙂 I am having fun with a new camera, capturing photo moments like this and then putting them to words! I’m so glad whenever someone tells me they encourage them too! Please come back again…

  8. Jenifer says:

    Such a beautiful post. I love the story of the boy agreeing in prayer while asleep. Thanks for linking up with Woman to Woman’s Word Filled Wednesday Link up! Join us next week!

    God bless!

    • Thank you, Jenifer! I will! I just came across your linkup button on someone else’s post today. 🙂

      I love that story too… was so glad I clicked on in time to hear it that night…although I never did hear what was wrong with the little boy that made her pray so deeply…

Leave a Reply

