Day 4: To Life! To Life! La Chaim!

Digital Camera

“Today, I have given you the choice between life and death

Between blessings and curses

Oh, that you would choose life,

So that you and your children may live

And that you may love the LORD your God,

Listen to his voice,

And hold fast to him.

For the LORD is your life, and

He will give you many years

In the land He swore to give

To your fathers, Abraham, Isaac and Jacob.”

~  Deuteronomy 30:19-20 NLT/NIV

.

   The Other Day…

“How in the world are you going to bring those back to life?”  the woman behind me expostulated plaintively, her mix of wondering and skepticism skipping on down the grocery belt, then up and over the strawberry potted pansies in my cart.  Startling the concentrating clerk who for a moment mistook her challenge for him

Questioning my gardening sanity.

To my eyes, this once $18 now only $4.25 deal was already brimming with life, overflowing with more than potential, for a large portion of it simply cascaded with snowdrop blooms.

True… there were dead leaves and the vines had separated, begun leaning towards the front of the bowl, the exposed dirt appearing as parched as desert-cracked ground.  I’d spied others shaking their heads behind me, heard them declare… those are dead!

Yet... mmmm… Hadn’t I’d seen my own more expensive planting bounce fully back to glory with a bit of watering… and even more after rain?    And at this moment, I could imagine the still lush majority painting a color burst in the front of my little cottage home, there…in between the tiny non-flowering bushes…

Open-mouthed… possibly wondering if she should take a chance herself on such a deal… she stared.  As if daring me to convince her to make a nutsy move…

“We-ell,” I smiled, “you could use a little miracle grow liquid with your water…”  But really, I thought silently, all this plant needs is a good drenching of a gallon of water!  Recognizing the tch tch still in her demeanor, I appealed to thrifty worth, lifting my hands.  “What’s to lose – $4!”  Which to my daily longing for flowers with not much to spare in the pocketbook was just like a…gift. 

She beamed then.  YES!

Once home, I filled a gallon jug of water….three times… and poured it soakingly into the pot.  And… imagination aside… I think I watched those pansy faces lilt into the breeze right then, as if to say… Ahhhhhhhh!!!!

Pour your resurrection life into them, too, Lord… I whispered, a benediction over them.  Three days later, they bob to the rhythm on the breeze, in beauty and grace, growing in health and fullness.   And life is radiance there among the bushes.  In a pot of flowers that “agreed to choose life” and… dream with me.

.

   Prayer:

Life!  This day, in this moment, I choose Life, Lord…and dream with You!  Even when something looks to be a goner.  Ridiculous or impossible or empty.  For… isn’t this flower story exactly like You, how you see us Father?  You know us deeply, flawed, feeling tired or sick or hopeless,  and You say — “Glory!  I see My Glory!  I will be your raindrops with living water… Let Me drench you and you will flourish and prosper in wholeness!  To life, to life, La Chaim!”

Oh my Father, My Jehovah Rapha, Restorer and Healer…                                                         I open my hands to receive Your promise, to rivers of Your living water, to thank You for restoring me [fill in your name] to long and blossoming life in the “land” You have planted me in.  Halleluia and Glory to Your Name.

.

©  Pam Depoyan

What a little living water can do…! 

Digital Camera

Thought to ponder:

Do my words reflect life — or death?

What if I dream God’s dream with Him?

.

.

Digital Camera

Recapping God’s Health-FULL Words to me, Day 1 – 4:

1.  Exodus 15:26  He calls Himself the LORD MY Healer.

2.  Exodus 26: 25- 26  He will bless my food and water and take sickness away from me.

3.  Deuteronomy 7:14 -15  God’s Word says He proclaims me healthy.

4.  Deuteronomy 30:19-20  God says to me, O that you would choose Life!

.

Sharing with:

       Scripture and Snapshot       sunday-stillness-button 

About Pam@Writing...Apples of Gold

I love to hear your thoughts, even chat back and forth amongst comments.Won't you join the conversation? :) ..................................................................................................................... May my stories refresh you, like a whisper from our Father's Heart !
This entry was posted in God's Health-Full Word for Me and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to Day 4: To Life! To Life! La Chaim!

  1. Linda Stoll says:

    Thanks for this truth that our choices can mean life to our children, our influence and what we model can lead them toward Christ …

  2. Being Woven says:

    How fine! We are watering a tree right now to give it new life. I just know that it will be just fine! Thus, your word-picture, your analogy, is just right for me to read this day. I can feel the Lord’s life, His words, His love, fill me to new beginnings when I only allow Him in. Thank you, Pam. Visiting from Diedra’s tonight.

  3. I’m so glad to hear that! I love all God’s images about causing us to flourish in Him, in the life He renews in us… thank you, Linda!

  4. Those are so pretty and full of life. I love the way you related that to the Living Water. Thanks for linking up!

    • Thanks, Jennifer. It’s all in how we look at them… I really don’t have a green thumb, but I can add water and it seems a shame to just give up on something so lovely… Living water to our lives in just the same way. When all things look discouraging or the “bad report’ seems impossible or we don’t know where the next dollar is coming from… Thanks for coming on over too! 🙂

  5. Sylvia R says:

    Lovely imagery, Pam. And I am soaking in all the names for God you used and reflecting with quiet joy: Yes, He has been, and continues to be, all these marvels to me. Ah, to be drenched in His living water today!

    • I want to soak in all the names of God, yes. So much He reveals about His heart and character and longing to restore us in them… And in all the “marvels” He is to us as you beautifully say. May we all be drenched! Thank you, Sylvia! (I could almost hear Him singing that Tevye song as I wrote this! 🙂 )

  6. Karen says:

    BEAUTIFUL POST! Reminded me of Jesus promising “living water”!

  7. Janis Cox says:

    Lovely. I see what you mean about listening to the same word from God. That’s awesome. Choose life. We do. Lovely plants too.
    I will check out the Sunday Stillness button. Thanks for the heads up.
    Blessings,
    Janis http://www.janiscox.com

  8. Anne Payne says:

    I love your words, “I will be your raindrops with living water”! That is so true. He is our Living Water. Thank you for such a beautiful and encouraging post.

    • I’m so glad it encouraged you! There is an old song I have always loved that speaks of a parent telling their little boy, I will be your raindrops, you will be my rose… I think that was playing in my thoughts here. 🙂 It is a beautiful thought in terms of our Father, isn’t it? Wish I could add that music here… Thank you, Anne!

  9. Sharon O says:

    I love the fact that He ‘gives us a choice’ not too different than what we do with our children.
    Ultimately the decision or what we choose is our issue not his. He will watch, encourage and not leave but he also doesn’t take the consequences away.

    • Yes… and what strikes me most is that God has so much Life he wants to bring out of our circumstances… even when we choose amiss and see only death… if we will let Him redeem. Because that is at the heart of who He is. His great love. His desire to bring us Light and Life and Healing. Thanks, Sharon!

  10. I’m sure the pansies were delighted that you took them home! Thank you for this refreshing read. Now to make the right choices this week.

    • Yes… and I was just thinking too… how easy it is to see the glass half empty instead of full. I don’t always gravitate towards “seeing life” in situations, but that is my prayer. To see healing is God’s choice for LIFE. Thanks Violet! I’m glad this refreshed you! 🙂

  11. I often call our will, “the chooser” when explaining it to children. Oh, to choose life, to choose THE WAY, THE TRUTH and THE LIFE!

  12. To choose Life even when it seems to be a goner–that thought of how God’s Living Water can resurrect any person, any situation. What a grand thought to go with your beautifully written and humorous story.
    Blessings,’
    Janis

    • Thanks Janis! That is the beautiful thought behind my post. 🙂 I want to see that in every so-called hopeless situation… every area of our lives and hearts that need His healing and resurrection power. I appreciate your words! 🙂

  13. to life, indeed:)
    raising my glass (clink) with you to the giver and healer
    of our lives, redeeming every part,
    and smiling back at His smiling down on us,
    Jennifer

  14. Pamela says:

    Love the words in the Scripture–the Lord not only gives us life but IS our life! Beautiful flowers, loved the story behind them, too. Choosing life today!

  15. Helene says:

    This is a lovely picture of how our Jesus is the water of life. May we all drink and never be thirsty.

  16. Jenifer says:

    Beautifully said!

    Thanks for linking up with Woman to Woman’s Word Filled Wednesday! Please join us again next week!

  17. Pingback: Day 9: When Even The Trees Look Like Sunday | Writing… Apples of Gold

Leave a Reply

