Day 6: Of Beauty and Promise and Chocolate Chip Cookies

Digital CameraMorning Glory!

  

Because you have made the Lord your refuge,                                                                                                       and the Most High your dwelling place,

There shall no evil befall you, nor any plague or calamity come near your tent…

Because he has set his love upon Me, therefore will I deliver him;                                                                                  I will set him on high, because he knows and understands My name                                             [has a personal knowledge of My mercy, love, and kindness—                                            trusts and relies on Me, knowing I will never forsake him, no, never].

   He shall call upon Me, and I will answer him; I will be with him in trouble,                                                           I will deliver him and honor him.

With long life will I satisfy him and show him My salvation.

~  Psalm 91: 9-10, 14-16 [Amplified]

Beautiful is…

A small hospital chapel, one noon this past week, where so many gather like a human bouquet… some family… some friends… overflowing seats, so that some are standing against the wall as the door opens now and again for another, then another,  to slip in…   everyone leaning in to the breeze of the Spirit.

And  the room is fragrant with His presence and with prayers for healing of one man, lifted before the Lord.  Morning Glory.

One man, smiling, looking strong in counterpoint to his mobile treatment tubes alongside,  takes his seat in the midst.  One who has set his love on You, O Lord…and trusts in your deliverance...Later, bowing head as all gather round, those close enough laying hands on his shoulders… others moving near and fanning out as one radiant beauty rose, raising hands over him,  in agreement with Word spoken…Hope waving as a banner… Grace flowing…

Again, within my own spirit, words of Life and Promise whisper against all worldly odds — still, so reflective of our God who Heals.  They bubble up in me as anointing oil prayer poured out:  He will live and not die, and proclaim what the Lord has done!  (Psalm 118:17)   The Glory of the Lord is rising on him… on us all… (Isaiah 60:1)…bestowing roses of beauty for ashes… (Isaiah 61:3)

And through his family,  gifting a small thank you for coming to those leaving at the door —  a miniature bag of homemade cookies ties a ribbon to this living prayer bouquet.

   Prayer:

O Father of My Heart,

You are my refuge and strength!  Jesus said You make me to dwell in You and You in me…even as He is in You and You are in Him!  Safe in the shelter of Your wings, I rest.  Evil may try to shadowbox me, but it cannot stand against You in me.  For it is only a vapor, a cloud shadow.  Trying to keep me from seeing Your light about to spill over me…

I [Fill in your name] will declare and wear Your scarlet-ribboned promises as my garment of praise, trusting You to heal in all ways as Your Name [God our Healer] says:  You deliver me!  You set me on high!  Your vow is forever – that because I love You, because You love me and sent Jesus to sacrifice and rise with healing in His wings for me – You will never forsake me, no never!   I have only to call on You, for when I do, You have guaranteed you will answer me.  You will be with me in trouble!  You deliver me and honor me.  You will satisfy me with long life and show me your salvation.

I will keep my eyes turned towards hope… O let me walk each day in the glory light of your salvation.  I will keep a running record of all Your deliverances in my life and hold them up against every doubt that comes to defeat.

 

Thought to ponder:

  • What sweet promise have I seen Him fulfill according to His Word this past week, tie up in a bow of restoration beauty and healing hope, just for me? 
  • When I am going through something that seems impossible, what ways can I turn my heart to Him as my Deliverer and Healer that I maybe haven’t before?

.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

©   Pam Depoyan

Sharing with:

5_minute_friday

(The story part, Beautiful is…joining to Five Minute Friday word prompt of ‘beautiful’)

Tell Me a Story

      Scripture and Snapshot         Beauty in His Grip Button  

About Pam@Writing...Apples of Gold

I love to hear your thoughts, even chat back and forth amongst comments.Won't you join the conversation? :) ..................................................................................................................... May my stories refresh you, like a whisper from our Father's Heart !
This entry was posted in God's Health-Full Word for Me and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Day 6: Of Beauty and Promise and Chocolate Chip Cookies

  1. Deb says:

    There truly is peace and beauty in prayer and faith. Thank you for sharing your story.

  2. lolita says:

    So beautifully worded…… a human bouquet, tied up in God’s love and in Faith. So beautiful and very inspiring.

    Thank you, Pam. I had been down with a minor infection on my foot and perhaps my immunes were down that it took a while to heal. I kept on remembering the prayers you have been sharing to us and I claimed them for myself. I am ok now except that there is till a slight wound left but the infections are out now.

    Bless the one who has been the object of this human bouquet that surrounded him with God’s angels and prayer warriors. Let healing be flowing down from the arm of the Jehovah Rapha down and over the parts that need healing. Amen!

    • Thank you, Lolita – for your words as always, and for your prayers for the one I wrote about here. I have been thinking of you and praying things were okay… Wonderful to hear that He is healing your foot as you stand on His promises! His word never goes out empty… I am praying for you too!

  3. Pam–
    First let me say THANK YOU LORD for Lolita’s recovery from an infection! She is a loving spirit, faith pours from her and I know HE is with her…

    I have heard people say that when they are trying to sell their home, having an OPEN HOUSE so people can drop by and hopefully see their future home–one important thing to do is have a fresh batch of Chocolate Chip Cookies out of the oven!! The smell brings warmth to the home, giving that feeling of “Welcome” and so they come in.

    Your post made me think about that–in this instance, people came to the small chapel and gathered together, offering prayers for the man, probably adding some extra ones for a special loved one. There is something “powerful” when we feel the hands of others touching our shoulder as we are being “Prayed Over”–I see it as a loving CHAIN, and there is a true unity, a bond of people helping another with words of prayer and hope. Its not complicated, a simple lifting of the hand, and praying from the heart!

    The family having “Cookies” for those who came to pray—was their THANK YOU—there are times when we can’t find the words to fully express our gratitude for words of prayer–but trust me~~without a doubt, every Prayer spoken for another is heard, felt, appreciated–and gives hope at moments when there seems to be none.

    Warm Cookies, Hands of Prayer~~~beautiful……

    Thank you Pam–a loving post! martha

    • So beautiful and true, Martha! Warm cookies and hands of prayer… I feel the same as you say about being prayed over. And it was just so beautiful to see everyone there for that community prayer…

      I know that is true about open houses too, because it creates a warm homey atmosphere along with the delicious scent. 🙂 Thank you for all your words on this…

  4. Janis Cox says:

    Thanks for linking to Sunday Stillness. I have seen so many words from Psalms this week – God speaking to us. And beautiful this is.
    Blessings,
    Janis http://www.janiscox.com

  5. Chelle says:

    Reading this reminded me of a recent visit to the hospital chapel, and the peace with which it filled me. So glad to have followed you at The Beauty in His Grip.
    Peace and good to you in Jesus’ name,
    Chelle

  6. shortybear says:

    Wonderful words here, bless you.

  7. Thank you for sharing at “Tell Me a Story.” Homemade cookies as a gift of appreciation from the family was so personal and lovely. God is so real and precious in those moments in the chapel.

  8. Pingback: Day 9: When Even The Trees Look Like Sunday | Writing… Apples of Gold

Leave a Reply

