Sabbath Song of Moses

Reading two of a heartening novel series set in Scotland highlands of the 1950’s this week (Music in the Hills and Shoulder the Sky) , I am brimming with images of  sweeping green hills and flowing burn… the light and life and art of it’s peoples… the way the author refers to certain crushing blows as the work of “Old Hornie” (a “quaint” but apt name for the one who bedevils us all, isn’t it?)  and the victories from the Lord who protects…   In a time when people seemed to naturally believe…

And opening up to Exodus 15… my heart leaped…

Into the stillness of Saturday, if “old Hornie” seems to be chasing… let us remember he is just a toad, boxing with shadows.  That today, our God is pitching “horse and rider” into the sea – for you, for me!   And raise our song of victory on every plain! 

15 1-8 Then Moses and the Israelites sang this song to God, giving voice together,

I’m singing my heart out to God—what a victory!
    He pitched horse and rider into the sea.
God is my strength, God is my song,
    and, yes! God is my salvation.
This is the kind of God I have
    and I’m telling the world!
This is the God of my father—
    I’m spreading the news far and wide!
God is a fighter,
    pure God, through and through.
Pharaoh’s chariots and army
    he dumped in the sea,
The elite of his officers
    he drowned in the Red Sea.
Wild ocean waters poured over them;
    they sank like a rock in the deep blue sea.
Your strong right hand, God, shimmers with power;
your strong right hand shatters the enemy...

The enemy spoke,
        “I’ll pursue, I’ll hunt them down,
    I’ll divide up the plunder,
        I’ll glut myself on them;
    I’ll pull out my sword,
        my fist will send them reeling.”

10-11 You blew with all your might
        and the sea covered them.
    They sank like a lead weight
        in the majestic waters.
    Who compares with you
        among gods, O God?
    Who compares with you in power,
        in holy majesty,
    In awesome praises,
        wonder-working God?

12-13 You stretched out your right hand
        and the Earth swallowed them up.
    But the people you redeemed,
        you led in merciful love;
    You guided them under your protection
        to your holy pasture.

    …Before your brandished right arm
        they [the enemy] were struck dumb like a stone,
    Until your people crossed over and entered, O God,
        until the people you made crossed over and entered.
    You brought them and planted them
        on the mountain of your heritage,
    The place where you live,
        the place you made,
    Your sanctuary, Master,
        that you established with your own hands.
    Let God rule
        forever, for eternity!

19 Yes, Pharaoh’s horses and chariots and riders went into the sea and God turned the waters back on them; but the Israelites walked on dry land right through the middle of the sea.

20-21 Miriam the prophetess, Aaron’s sister, took a tambourine, and all the women followed her with tambourines, dancing. Miriam led them in singing,

Sing to God
    what a victory!
He pitched horse and rider
    into the sea!

~ Exodus 15, The Message

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

sharing with:

   

photos: http://www.fotosearch.com

About Pam@Writing...Apples of Gold

I love to hear your thoughts, even chat back and forth amongst comments.Won't you join the conversation? :) ..................................................................................................................... May my stories refresh you, like a whisper from our Father's Heart !
This entry was posted in God's Health-Full Word for Me and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Sabbath Song of Moses

  1. Welcome encouragement for resisting that which torments and pursues. Enjoy your book this weekend.

  2. Esther Joy says:

    I just read the “Song of Moses” earlier this week! Powerful song writing! I’d love to be able to have heard it sung!

  3. saleslady371 says:

    One of our favorites over here. Our family sings it every Passover as we praise God for what He has done for our ancestors and will do for us!

  4. Judy says:

    Hi Pam,

    Yes God is our strength and our song! He fights all our battles for us no matter what. Thanks for sharing. Visiting from spiritual sundays. I invite you to visit <a href="http://jriddlephotography.wordpress.com"Judith Riddle Photography.

    Blessings,
    Judy

  5. lynndmorrissey says:

    Exodus is perhaps my favorite book in the Bible. I say that….and then I think of Genesis, the Psalms, Song of Solomon…..I could go on. But I LOVE Exodus……perhaps because it so wonderfully portrays the Lord’s power of deliverance (which I have certainly needed in my life). Thank you for this post and also for your allusions to Scotland. As you know, we just returned, and it truly is an incredibly beautiful land. I know you are going to get there Pam!!!
    Love
    Lynn

    • Your words remind me of the Exodus Song too. So powerful. And so true how we need His deliverance daily! So grateful for His songs of deliverance around us! Don’t you love this photo? So incredibly green. I read something recently about St. Paul being somewhere around there. I somehow never thought of that… seems on the other side of the world from them, but then again they were in Rome too. Well, maybe I will… have been there many times in heart, that’s for sure. I know you must have a slide show in your head of fabulous sites just visited! 🙂 Thanks, Lynn!

      • lynndmorrissey says:

        Gosh, that’s interesting about Paul, Pam. And oh, yes, the green hills are incredible. We saw a scene very much like this in Scotland, and we stood on the edge of Loch Lomond (I even sang the song! 🙂 I read Keller’s book on Ps. 23 (which I think I mentioned here), and I could better understand those valleys and hills described in it. Yes, I know you will go!
        And you are so right about Moses’s song. Would that all the songs we sing could speak of His power and deliverance.

      • I was just watching a fun Deanna Durbin movie where she sang of Loch Lomond – in this case i think it was Annie Laurie. So moving. Must have been so beautiful there! Praying blessings on your voice and singing in the morn!

  6. lolita says:

    How i love to stare at the beautiful lush-green scenery of mountains and valleys that you have posted here, Pam. It certainly looks so serene and so much like the promised land of Moses’s time.

    I pray that one day soon, God will make you set foot on these wonderful land of your dreams. For aren’t those dreams God-dreams for you? And He will put it to fruition somehow, sometime soon, soon, soon.

    • Oh, I know what you mean! This photo just says peace to me. It also reminds me of His arms stretched out and around us, when I look at it, like the land is hugging the river… 🙂 I know you must see lush green where you are too! A different landscape, but still lush… Thank you, Lolita.

  7. Susan says:

    Praise to God!

  8. Pam~~
    Sorry for being away, the Pain battle has been very hard… Seems one problem after the other is showing up and I am having to struggle for courage. I know The Lord is beside me and this too shall pass….. Just know I keep you in my thoughts and prayers.. Love,martha

    • Martha, Like the Lord Jesus spoke to the storm at sea and it calmed immediately, I pray “Peace Be” to you tonight, in Jesus’ name… Peace be over your body and nerves. Peace be to your sleep. Peace be to your heart, mind and spirit. A blanket of His peace…be… soft as fleece, enfolding you. Peace that flows like a river through those green hills in this photo here above…

      You are in my thoughts and prayers too… Love, Pam

Leave a Reply

