When splendiferous is more than a word…

Digital Camera… in my morning room…

.

“It looks like…heaven…in here,” says the painter in his touch of Uganda mellow voice,   musing from his ladder height while smoothing on what feels like clouds of white.  Clean, bright for the beadboard… palest of eggshell that carries but a hint of buttercup in the right light, for upper lengths and ceiling.  Cabinets…counters… even the floor (at that time)… all white.

I smile at his description.  Loving the sing-song lilt in the way he says it.

The way he has picked out my exact intent for this room in his observation.  The color of…peace.

A thin line of cornflower blue runs like a tea-towel stripe through the new white subway tile backsplash, the only colorburst right now. He can’t yet imagine the touches of blue and green I will add into this frothy, airy place.  Nor the wooden planks to warm my floors…

But mmm… I can.

He sees the first.

I am seeing the… last… and yet to come.

And on today’s shiny rain and dark cloud-washed morning,  brushing sleep away from my lashes, coming round the corner of my dining room to greet the day, I find myself…

stepping into heaven’s light pouring benediction through…

Digital Camerapulling the ponderous shade to be

dazzled by ethereal blessing…

Struck by how it looks so like my pen & ink drawing of In the Morning Room!

“Surely the camera can’t pick this up, lens directly into the light,” I think…

But I give it a try.

And sit back with wonder as I see just how much more that camera saw…

He is here.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

©   Pam Depoyan

Digital Camera

Psalm 5:3

New International Version (NIV)

In the morning, Lord, you hear my voice;
    in the morning I lay my requests before you
    and wait expectantly.

Digital Camera

 

Sharing with:

5_minute_friday

(Joining to Five Minute Friday word prompt of ‘last’)

Faithful Friday Blog Hop Party: 4 blogs - 1 party    *The Brambleberry Cottage*

Share Your Cup Thursday

About Pam@Writing...Apples of Gold

I love to hear your thoughts, even chat back and forth amongst comments.Won't you join the conversation? :) ..................................................................................................................... May my stories refresh you, like a whisper from our Father's Heart !
This entry was posted in Wonder Moments. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to When splendiferous is more than a word…

  1. Diane says:

    First of all, that is a beautiful room. The photo is extraordinary. My heart just sighs looking at it. Truly, He is there, awaiting your morning presence.

    …sigh….

    • Thank you, Diane! It doesn’t pick up how white it all is (blue and white always reminds me of sea and sky), but the way the sunlight is in this picture is phenomenal to me. Mm… He is here, with us all, in every moment…

      Just added a couple more photos to show the white, but even these make the walls look darker above the curtains, which is not true to the white…

  2. Lynn Morrissey says:

    Pam, this is one of my all-time favorite Psalms, and I have often prayed it. I love laying my requests before the Lord in the morning, and then waiting, expectantly, for answers throughout the day. Often He will answer immediately as I read His word. Some answers are longer in coming–far longer–and yet, every morning dazzles with the promise of the sun and the Son, as you depict here. And there is always a new day in the Lord. We are privileged to begin again afresh. Being the Anglophile you are, surely you recall how the unnamed woman, married to Max DeWinter in Rebecca, used to have a fire lit and take tea in the morning room. I think I am getting that right. It reminds me of my disapointment in not being able to locate the book prior to our trip. I think I shall call the library right now! Also, I am referring my British friend to your site. I hope she will feel the peace I do at this beatiful, heavenly blogspace.
    Love
    Lynni

    • I love all those images of laying your requests before the Lord… expectantly. Like a child, who waits with joy! Lovely…

      And yes, I took my inspiration from Rebecca for the title of my morning room drawing… Love the idea of that, and the one in the film showed loveliness of a fireplace too, I think… Sorry you didn’t find that book before your trip! I know they have it at Barnes and Noble. Thanks for referring your friend here too, Lynni… 🙂

      • Lynn Morrissey says:

        You’re most welcome. I just sent her an email to come take a peek at your site. Yes, I probably should just go ahead and buy Rebecca. It’s a wonderful novel. I had meant to say how inviting your morning room is, Pam, and I love your photos. Wish I had the knack! And when we visited in Britain, I loved starting every morning with the hottest of tea….for that matter, tea morning, noon, and night. I was in heaven. We even met friends in a bard, and as you may recall, I don’t drink. So imagine my utter surprise and delight, when I could order a pot of tea! I love having tea dates with the Lord, too, when I take my pen and journal. Very special.

      • Yes, if you buy it you might get that version I mentioned before (the one i bought my young friend a few months ago) – with the extra essays by DuMaurier in back. I loved the one where she describes finding the real “Manderley…”

        Funny you should say that about tea. I’ve been so immersed in all these wonderful D.E. Stevenson books and finding myself craving the regular afternoon tea she often writes so dearly about.. I have a post about that simmering in my mind… 🙂 Bought an orange scone from Panera (my favorite) to treat someone the other day and have found myself going back for one yesterday and today… Oh, could too easily become a fattening habit! I love those “teas” with the Lord, too… 🙂

        Oh, and I do love decorating. Wanted my kitchen to have that English cottage feel. Former owner used busy wallpaper that didn’t suit my tastes, so I was glad to re-do, and I added the glass front cabinets, designed the idea behind the beadboard etc… I wanted the valance hung closer to the ceiling to make the window look higher, but the hangers put it up before I could get that across…

  3. Lynn Morrissey says:

    Pls. tell me the name of the publisher of that particular Rebecca again. I’d love to read the essays. Oh, and every time I read Panera, I smile, b/c we live quite near the original, which is actually St. Louis Bread Company. They’re all over now, but they found if they kept the original name anywhere outside of ST. Louis, no one would buy their stuff. Isn’t that interesting?! So Panera sounds very chic. =] I love what you are doing to your home. When we moved here, while it was lovely, all the wallpaper was contemporary, so we’ve traditionalized it with darker colors (like a red dining room) and flowered wallpaper (more old-fashioned)

    • I don’t have the edition (gave it to a friend), but it is the one they are selling at Barnes. If you check there,just flip to the back of the book and you’ll see them. Yes, I first came across Panera when it was St. Louis Bread Co. in Branson. 🙂 Haven’t the funds to do much these days, so I’m glad that I was able to re-do my kitchen when I did. So many ideas for the rest of my home…but someday! Yes, I love traditional, cape cod, new England, English look 🙂 Do you know the beautiful old song, “I’m Old-fashioned?” That says it all about me… 🙂

  4. Oh Pam, I want to come and stay 🙂 it’s beautiful! Isn’t our Lord amazing!! I am so thankful you had this blessing.

    • Thank you, Anita. Yes, the light reminded me of His glory over us! This is one of two rooms I was able to make the way I like… and every time I see the colors there etc, it lifts me up! He has blessed me with this little cottage and I’m always thanking Him… Blessings to you this weekend!

  5. P.s You and Lynn can come and take tea with me any time in the parlour, and visit a garden or two 🙂

  6. Being Woven says:

    How wonderful the words flow with the peace and calm I sense in this kitchen, this “new” kitchen. I love it that the painter reflected on the beauty that touches him. You will remember that moment as he spoke those words to you many-a-time as you sit in the morning light there.
    Caring through Christ, ~ linda

  7. MaryLou says:

    I really enjoyed seeing pictures of your kitchen and dining area. Such a beautiful setting to sit and enjoy your tea and morning time with our Lord. You did a beautiful job in decorating… it looks like one of those kitchens in a home decorating magazine. Thank you for sharing some of your beautiful home! 🙂

    • Thank you, MaryLou. The cabinets were all white when I moved in so I knew I could eventually turn it into my favorite white kitchen look from those magazine ideas. I love to look at all those English cottage photos… 🙂 I also found a seamstress here who does really good work with making curtains so reasonably and beautifully… I showed her an idea I found in Victoria magazine for the one scalloped corner chair pad and she created it from that. In the fall, the tree right outside that window turns bright orange and yellow, and though the yard is tiny it brings in beauty. I may try to take more photos too, but it’s hard to capture. Glad you enjoyed seeing these! 🙂

  8. Karen says:

    A beautiful post, Pam! I am so thankful for the morning light on the porch here and the faint tinkling of the wind chimes in the gentle breeze. May our prayers arise as incense, O Lord to You!

  9. Pamela says:

    Such a beautiful space. I remember your Morning Room drawing. Yes, “In the morning…”

  10. Jann Olson says:

    The beautiful morning sun always causes me to reflect upon the Lord. I am sure that he is smiling down and letting his light shine. Your kitchen is such a lovely place full of both light and beauty! Thanks for sharing with SYC.
    hugs,
    Jann

Leave a Reply

