Day 14: Let Us Sing a Song of Abraham

But as for me, I will look to the Lord;
    I will wait for the God of my salvation;
    my God will hear me.

 Rejoice not over me, O my enemy;
    when I fall, I shall rise;
when I sit in darkness,
    the Lord will be a light to me.

~  Micah 7:5-8 English Standard Version

.

Then the Lord said to me, “You have seen well (correctly), for I am watching over my word to perform it.”

~ Jeremiah 1:12 English Standard Version

Praying deeply with me for someone this week, one of you reminded me of one of my most favorite songs based on a glorious Name of the Lord… El ShaddaiOur All sufficient, All Powerful, All bountiful,  Provider and Sustainer, One who mightily nourishes, satisfies, protects and supplies His People, who abundantly blesses with all manner of blessings!

Looking up the full definition, I came across this quote at http://www.myredeemerlives.com:

As Nathan Stone wrote:  “…the idea of One who is all-powerful and all-mighty is inspired…for only an all-powerful One could be all-sufficient and all-bountiful.  He is almighty because He is able to carry out His purposes and plans to their fullest and most glorious and triumphant completion…So is he able to save to the uttermost.  And He is able to do exceedingly abundantly above all that we can ask or think.”

To experience God's sufficiency, we must realize our own insufficiency

This so speaks into my prayers right now… El Shaddai is the Name of God that appears numerous times in Job alone…  and God says, “don’t give up, keep on asking…”

And so, I want to sing a song of Abraham today…

To lift us each up into this His powerful Healing Name… in whatever seemingly impossible situation seems overwhelming right now…

The enemy may be trying to stretch us out hopeless…but in all circumstances,

We must raise our hearts and hands to El Shaddai

Where He makes us to know… rest, assurance, hope, faith  is still moving mountains…

here…

in the shadow of GOD,  Our MOUNTAIN, EL SHADDAI, where He is singing His songs of deliverance… and MIGHTY on our behalf.  He inhabits our praise… our songs…  He is still the same today,

and what He did for Abraham He is doing and will do for us today…

El Shaddai, El Shaddai

El-elyon na Adonia  (God in the highest, O Lord)
Age to age you’re still the same
By the power of the name
El Shaddai, El Shaddai
Erkamka na Adonai  (We will love you, O Lord)
I will praise and lift you high
El Shaddai

Through your love and through the ram
You saved the son of Abraham
Through the power of your hand
You turned the sea into dry land
To the outcast on her knees
You were the God who really sees
And by your might
You set your children free

El Shaddai, El Shaddai
El-elyon na Adonia
Age to age you’re still the same
By the power of the name
El Shaddai, El Shaddai
Erkamka na Adonai
I will praise and lift you high
El Shaddai

El Shaddai, El Shaddai
El-elyon na Adonai
Age to age you’re still the same
By the power of the name
El Shaddai, El Shaddai
Erkamka na Adonai
I will praise and lift you high
El Shaddai

Through the years you’ve made it clear
That the time of Christ was near
Though the people couldn’t see
What Messiah ought to be
Your most awesome work was done
Through the frailty of your son

I will praise and lift you high
El Shaddai!

click here to sing along and worship with this song:

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

©   Pam Depoyan

Sharing with:

      Scripture and Snapshot    Beauty in His Grip Button       Teaching What Is Good      

http://maryschieferstein.blogspot.com/                    A Holy Experience 

                            Sunday Stillness with Janis Cox 

About Pam@Writing...Apples of Gold

I love to hear your thoughts, even chat back and forth amongst comments.Won't you join the conversation? :) ..................................................................................................................... May my stories refresh you, like a whisper from our Father's Heart !
This entry was posted in God's Health-Full Word for Me and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Day 14: Let Us Sing a Song of Abraham

  1. generalkat says:

    My spirit was deeply moved by your words and then the song, “El Shaddai” by Amy Grant. The overwhelming love and peace from El Shaddai certainly enveloped me with His majesty and sufficiency. Thank you for such a great post.

  2. lynndmorrissey says:

    Such a powerful post Pam and this song of Abraham and the lyrics and notes by Amy Grant are resounding in my heart even as I type. It’s one of my favorite contemporary songs! Truly, our El Shaddai is our total provision for every need! Thank you for this important reminder! Praise Him!
    Love
    Lynn

    • This song and all it’s import is like the Holy Spirit breathing upon me right now, as you know, Lynn… and when a friend mentioned it to me in connection to our prayers, it really rang as His heart in me too! Bless you so much, Lynn… El Shaddai is mighty to save. I changed the link to Amy’s song several times here, looking for one that was especially beautiful. I lost one where she was speaking of how she came to get this song to record…and didn’t get to hear much of it… 😦 But maybe that wasn’t the version meant to be on here… I can never hear or sing this song without tears at His love…

  3. Anita Hunt says:

    Beautiful Pam. Thank you for encouraging our hearts.

  4. carol says:

    Beautiful post on God’s love, sovereignty, and presence. Thank-you for sharing the hymn, El Shaddai.

    • Thank you, Carol… Isn’t that the most moving worship song? Just hopped over to your site for a moment and want to go back and read more fully, but wanted to say how beautiful that Santa Fe chapel is! I think I recall a movie about how that gorgeous spiral stair came to be…

  5. Mary says:

    Such beautiful thoughts! To think about who God is! One of my favorite things to do! Such a beautiful song, too. Thank you so much for sharing!

  6. Janis Cox says:

    Beautiful. El Shaddai. And I love your quote: to experience God’s sufficiency we must realize our own insufficiency. Great thought and praying for this.
    Thanks for linking to Sunday Stillness,
    Blessings,
    Janis

  7. Pam-another beautiful post-your heart so open as you “let God Work” inside you and what a messenger you are!! We have the chance to be lifted up via your blog—I truly believe this is a Blog coming from the MASTER—it is wonderful because HE knows your heart and how willing you are to share with us!!!

    There are times in our lives when it seems as if our hearts might be a bit on the “Empty Side” because of tough times—illness, heartbreak, struggles~~~can begin feeling as if we can’t take anymore and so we shut down for a while. I have learned over and over during this long journey of being in constant Physical Pain~~~HE never leaves me!!! In my darkest moments with Pain-when I feel so tired and drained from Pain–something will catch my attention~~~reminding me of HIS love!! Yesterday a sudden storm rose up, winds blowing, Needed Rain falling—as I felt PAIN rising inside—frustration rising because I wanted to shout– “Could I have some Relief please?” I opened the front door-looking upward as the weather had passed and a glorious RAINBOW was forming!! It took my breath away—I felt like a special GIFT had been sent to me and without question–I gave THANKS!!!

    Your words always lift me up Pam–I am reminded of HIS glorious LOVE–a Love that is always there for us. This LOVE will help me through the dark days—I will face them one day at a time.

    Thank you Pam for letting me share—-I love your friendship.. martha

    • Martha, what you say about His heart speaking through words here and lifting up means so much to me. That is my prayer and my hope What a beautiful gift in that rainbow! No coincidences in our lives, so I know He orchestrated that moment for you to open the door and look out on His promise reminder. You are in my prayers… May this day bring weather and light that pours grace on you in all the ways you need! Thank you, Martha for your kind words and friendship too…

Leave a Reply

