Like a necklace of pearls…

 Ever come across a passage in a piece of fiction that makes you stop to ponder and savor a bit of musing with the author, as if beside a slightly ajar gate pointing to something you shouldn’t miss?  Such is this one I ambled upon the other day…  

The Edge Borders ClipArt gallery offers 36 images of edge designs for pages. These clipart borders are for the edges only, or can be for edges and corners, but they not a full page border. They can be rotated to have a mirror image, in order to have one edge border on each side.

Tidbits from D. E., Me… and Matthew…

“A bird singing  in a pear tree brings back my childhood, and an orchard knee-deep in grass.  Richard stands before me with the sun shining in his fair hair.  “Have a bite, Hessy,” he says – and the strange sour tang of that pear makes my mouth water at this very moment.

How nice it is to lie here in blameless idleness and let vagrant memories flow through my body like a cool stream!

Somewhere in the world there must be a formula (am I trembling upon it now?) which, could I but grasp it, would reveal to me the Secret of the Universe.  For there must be a secret of course; the world would never roll over and over on its way through Time and Space if everyone’s thoughts were as vagrant and purposeless as mine.  This secret, once known, would string my thoughts together like a necklace of pearls.

But where to look for the secret – where to find it?  Those mountains, dreaming so peacefully in the sunshine – do they possess it?

Could I wrest it from their eternal silence?

Shall I find it in the swallow’s jagged flight, as it darts across the garden in pursuit of flies?

Shall I find it in the call of the cuckoo, echoing sadly from the pine-clad hills?

Or is it hidden deep in the hearts of human beings – a piece here and a piece there – so that if you could find all the pieces and fit them together, the puzzle would be complete?

But the hearts of human beings are so difficult to find – people are so sealed up in themselves, withdrawn behind impenetrable barriers.”

~  D. E. Stevenson, Mrs. Tim Christie of the Regiment

The Edge Borders ClipArt gallery offers 36 images of edge designs for pages. These clipart borders are for the edges only, or can be for edges and corners, but they not a full page border. They can be rotated to have a mirror image, in order to have one edge border on each side.

           Today, as the Spirit rings round our hearts,                                                          might He be stringing pearls of our thoughts?

Somewhere… a lark sings.

The shape and curve of a lovely old building wings memories of days and times of walking in the cool of the garden… with Him…

White puffs scamper across the blue fields of sky like woolly lambs skipping for joy, reminding you to stop, feel His breezes caress your face…

Let us not seal Him up within ourselves… for He has put His treasure in us, His earthen vessels… 

~ Me

wild flowers in a white vase on a white background  Stock Photo - 19117804

“Here’s another way to put it:

You’re here to be light, bringing out the God-colors in the world.

God is not a secret to be kept.

We’re going public with this, as public as a city on a hill.

If I make you light-bearers, you don’t think I’m going to hide you

under a bucket, do you? I’m putting you on a light stand.

Now that I’ve put you there on a hilltop, on a light stand—shine!

Keep open house; be generous with your lives.

By opening up to others, you’ll prompt people to open up with God,

                             this generous Father in heaven.                           

~  Matthew 5: 14-16, The Message

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

©   Pam Depoyan

Sharing with:

       Teaching What Is Good     Beauty in His Grip Button         Word Filled Wednesday Linkup    Imparting Grace     Deep Roots at Home

About Pam@Writing...Apples of Gold

I love to hear your thoughts, even chat back and forth amongst comments.Won't you join the conversation? :) ..................................................................................................................... May my stories refresh you, like a whisper from our Father's Heart !
This entry was posted in Wonder Moments and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Like a necklace of pearls…

  1. lynndmorrissey says:

    Lovely, Pam……..lately God has been speaking to me about this very thing…….knowing Him to make Him known (again through the words of Anne Graham Lotz about which I told you in her book about Abraham called The Magnficent Obsession). We are to be His ambassadors in a world gone mad, lights in dark places, salt in the savorless. Thank you for this reminder as I continue to seek His face about exactly how I’m to let His light shine through me. People are sealed up in their caves, hiding behind their masks. God bids us to come out into the light and to *be* light in a tenebrous world (I just used that word on another blog, and really love it!)

    • So true… I was just reading a quote yesterday (added it to my Listening Valley post late, so many may have missed it) where D.E. often told her friends that she hoped her books would be “lighthouses” to people… God uses us each that way… or wants to… I’ve been thinking a lot of that too lately. And not wanting to be “sealed” up or “impenetrable.” Love the Message wording…be a light to bring out the God-colors in this world! Not sure I know what tenebrous is… 🙂 Will have to look that up! Lately, I love the idea of writing with words like that too. Words I’d never say in conversation, but I find in books I love…Thanks, Lynn!

  2. lynndmorrissey says:

    Yes, I’d thought that too about that colorful description! The Message is so fresh. That reminds me of a Msg. quote from Eccl. about wearing colorful scarves! =] I won’t tell you the meaning so you will look it up. Ha! Actually, it bothers me when writers dumb down language (or are asked to). God has gifted us with such beautiful words, and the richer our vocabulary, the more nuanced and precise we can be in our descriptions. Madeleine L’Engle made a great quote in this regard, and if I can find it, I’ll post it here for your readers. Thanks for always writing so beautifully and thoughtfully, Pam. It’s so much appreciated!
    Lynn

  3. Pam, this is beautiful. We are to be beacons of light for Jesus in this dark world. How else will others hear His beautiful message of salvation? I am your neighbor on Word Filled Wed.

    Kim

    • Thank you, Kim. I just heard a beautiful story of a man who was worshiping silently while grocery shopping one Thanksgiving. Suddenly a stranger ran into his arms. As he held him there, the man told him he was a pastor who had fallen away, had determined to do away with himself if God did not help him right then. Walking thru the aisles, it was as if he saw the light of the Lord shining on the face of the one who had been worshiping and he just ran to him. The worshiping man was able to help him, pray with him and bring him to a local church… That just filled me with the wonder of how God wants to shine from us in ways we don’t even imagine…because His spirit is in us. I have prayed that before…that somehow people could just see Him shining in me… but never imagined anything like that.

      So glad you stopped by. Thank you for your words here.

  4. Jenifer says:

    Lovely post. Thank you for linking up with Woman to Woman’s Word Filled Wednesday! God bless!

  5. rkrumpe94 says:

    Beautiful how this all fits together! Blessings to you this weekend! Linking with you at Salina’s! Love, Rachael

Leave a Reply

