A Patch of Blue

scan0002

It was a “Poppin-ish” sort of day, the wind chasing up and down, in and out of narrow village streets, around the gaslight lamp stands, over the rippling fountain outside the cafe, then dashing past me like a little girl holding onto her hat with one hand – ribbons flying —  

I felt what could only have been her chum come up from behind to give me a gentle nudge… right… into… the middle of it.  Sending a bit of silent mirth through me.  Making me glad I’d left my artwork back in the car, safe from mischievous mistrals blowing this way and that.  And all the more so as precocious rain clouds seemed to be tossing out droplets here, there, as if playing marbles with the sun over which one of them would win the coming drench.

Hmm… I searched ahead, perusing this short block for the shop in question.  I didn’t see… Could that clapboard house be the one?

Like a storybook cottage, the boutique seemed to spring up from the ground…completely white…with exception of pink petunias dancing in the flowerboxes.  And the cheeriest morninglory blue awning over one window, with matching hue on the front door.

I squinted at lettering on the awning.  This was it!   

No moors or heather to spend a dream wandering upon, I’d chosen this next best course for an afternoon’s ramble – part business, part pleasure – and ended up here.  Where the sidewalks could easily have showcased Bert’s chalk paintings, and Number 17 Cherry Tree Lane might be just around the corner.  Could I interest the owner in displaying some of my pen & ink on consignment?  I think I could see them in such a unique children’s clothing shop…as a friend had suggested…

“The owner’s out, but you might try sometime next week,” the two teens behind the counter offered with genuine smiles, having no clue what type of pieces I might even have in mind, being generous with hope.

Then, closing the door behind me, standing on the front porch with the owner’s card in hand, contemplating how best I might introduce my work when next I called  … a thought zipped over me, like the wind lifting my hair from my shoulders.

You could draw this place…

  And like peering through a camera lens, I instantly, clearly envisioned… classic black and white pen, and I could add a patch of blue…

There’s a lightness, a song, in doing something so completely there… in my mind…like an idea He is painting upon me.  Clarity isn’t always so sparkling.  Making me remember the words of Eric Liddell… I feel His pleasure on me when I run

When it was ready… I brushed in the color.  And the shock of it dazed me momentarily.  Oh…my…gosh.  Did I just ruin three day’s work?

It wasn’t the classic look…but, sitting back and studying it… I decided.  Um, I liked it!

Then…the Office Max woman gleamed at me today as she compared  one scan version with, one without.  “Oh, I love the playful pop!”

“Now if only the shop owner wants it,” I grinned back.

“Oh, she will,” a bystander said, peeking over my shoulder.

And on those encouraging words, I suddenly pictured  more image ideas of shops I could render  in the same charming area… how one might lead to another…  To how God breathes ideas in and over us, like wind that chases and nudges and leads you places you have only just begun to imagine…

A patch of blue…

A crystal droplet falling from His fingers…

For you… for me…

Watering the prayers upon our lips and in our hands…

And sprouting dreams He’s placed in us… like storybook houses growing up from the ground.

Now…I’m holding it up to Hope… as I head back to the boutique… 🙂

Is there an idea glimmering round your thoughts today?

Listen… He may be whispering it on the wind…  🙂

©  Pam Depoyan

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Artwork: mine, under my copyright  (please do not copy without permission. See my copyright info button on the sidebar.  :)   )

Interested in available prints or an original tailored for you?  Check out my pen & ink HOME PORTRAITS link above.

flower photos: fotosearch.com

The Dedicated House

.

sharing with:

   whimsical-wednesdays_edited-1   Tell Me a Story     vintage inspiration button

…Anything blue Friday…

kim klaxon dot comTeaching What Is Good

.

DISCLAIMER:   If you see an ad appearing at the bottom of my posts, please know that I have no control over these.  They come from the blog host… I do not even see or know what they are, just a recent note explaining that they may be viewed by readers.

About Pam@Writing...Apples of Gold

I love to hear your thoughts, even chat back and forth amongst comments.Won't you join the conversation? :) ..................................................................................................................... May my stories refresh you, like a whisper from our Father's Heart !
This entry was posted in Literary Flights of Fancy. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to A Patch of Blue

  1. Lynn Morrissey says:

    Actually, I LOVE the blue, and I think you are onto something, Pam. Adding a patch of color to a mostly black-and-white pen-and-ink could be your trademark. I think it’s a darling drawing, and as the lady said, the blue pops it. And isn’t it like the Lord to add a patch of blue to a dreary day to bring a little joy when we need it most. I love bluebirds and always feel cheered when I see them out of our cabin–a patch of blue to cheer my spirits.
    Thanks for cheering me too.
    love
    lynn

    • There IS something so vibrant about blue in nature, isn’t there? Like Blue morpho butterflies and bluebells and morninglories! Yes, and bluebirds too! Thank you, Lynn! In person the blue on this is even more vibrant than it looks here. I’m not sure the color would fit everything I do, but in a lot of pieces it might be just the thing to attract the eye… I appreciate prayers that these will click with people and capture interest… I’m so glad this cheered you too! Didn’t want this to just be a piece about me… 🙂 .

  2. joanneviola says:

    Your drawing is BEAUTIFUL! I love the little patch of blue in the awnings. It reminded me this morning our God brings color into our world. So glad to have visited you this morning.
    Blessings,
    Joanne

  3. rkrumpe94 says:

    A little bit if blue to almost anything is my absolute favorite! Very beautiful and charming work! Reminds me so much of my childhood memories in upstate NY. Keep up the splashes of glory in you work! Blessings, Rachael @ Inking the Heart

    • Thank you, Rachel, for those so kind words… 🙂 (I like that, splashes of glory) Blue is one of my favorite colors too… I’m glad to know it brings back some lovely memories for you too… There’s something about my pen and ink that reminds me of old book illustrations too… and that reminds me of my childhood too.

  4. Pam your drawing is so lovely and of course the shop keeper will want it, and probably display some of your other creations. Thank you for sharing here at “Tell Me a Story.”

  5. Both the artwork and the writing are beautiful! 🙂 I love how you brought it back to what God does for us. Very encouraging!

  6. I love your drawing and the pops of color are wonderful. It’s been a long time since I painted or tried to draw anything. Writing has taken over. You may have just inspired me today. Thank you, for posting at Thriving Thursday.

    • That’s so fun, Kim! I know exactly what you mean. Writing and my full time job took over for many years… (and I’m trying to juggle writing and drawing now). I hardly drew a thing during that time and wasn’t even sure I still could. Then a neighbor asked me to draw her home last fall and I’m hooked again. 🙂 I used to do oil painting a long, long time ago… part of me itches to try that again too. I hope you try a piece of your own soon! Thanks for your lovely words!

  7. Tammy says:

    Beautiful drawing-so much detail. I like the touch of blue. It looks like a happy and inviting home to visit or live in!

    • Thank you, Tammy!

      I was just over there… it’s actually a fun, tiny (jam-packed) boutique for children’s clothing – but the personalized shopping of the owner, the way she interacted with all her customers like personal friends, reminded me of the flavor of Meg Ryan’s quaint “shop around the corner” in “You’ve Got Mail.”

  8. laura says:

    Pam! It’s beautiful. I know she will love it. What a lovely talent you have. And courage too. You make such beauty…

  9. giggles says:

    Wow you are such a prolific artist with words and paint!! Wow just love everything about this post!! The spirit, the art, and the story all excellent in every way!!

    Hugs Giggles

  10. Pam, I love your drawing!!! Simply beautiful! Thank you for sharing. You will be one of the features tomorrow at the Anything Blue Friday party at The Dedicated House. Pop on in and grab a feature button for your blog. Hope to see you again at the little blue soiree tomorrow. Toodles, Kathryn @TheDedicatedHouse

    • Thank you, Kathryn! I’ve been praying for more ideas on things to do with my art that brings broader appeal, and this spot of color is one thing He’s been bringing to mind. 🙂 Thank you for asking to feature my post before doing so… I’d be happy for you to do that.

  11. Jann Olson says:

    The touch of blue is gorgeous, as is the entire sketch! What a God given talent you have! thanks for sharing it with SYC.
    hugs,
    Jann

Leave a Reply

